Sucker Punch - 3 times life has given me a really hard knock By @uzoma24

in SteemAlive3 years ago (edited)

20210815-220052.png

source

cyxkEVqiiLy2ofdgrJNxeZC3WCHPBwR7MjUDzY4kBNr81LetETmuDWKvqCPmaSADqzr7cvw5uMJgEuBeuvuxazYG8zoQXWgA6qkN5Yo32DcRzka1VLsrb2BJSkBrF9yjpHU.png

Introduction

Hello friends on steemit. My name is Nwokonkwo Uzoma with steemit username; @uzoma24. Am glad to make my entry into this steemalive contest captioned Sucker Punch. In this post, I will share with you three different stories of my life to demonstrate how hard life have pushed me. I will share these stories in the order listed below;

S/NSucker Punch (Title)
1Helth - Vitiligo
2Victim of Scam (MMM)
3Twist of Faith - How I became a Tailor

1. Health - Vitiligo

What is vitiligo?

Vitiligo is a skin condition that causes loss of skin color in patches. It’s not dangerous or contagious, but it can be psychologically devastating. There is no cure yet, but there are ways to treat it. Unfortunately, treatments for vitiligo don’t always work, and even when they do, vitiligo can come back. Some body areas are very difficult to treat. The good news is there are now promising therapies on the horizon.source

- How It began?

In 2004 I was in SS2. After my third term exams in July, I traveled to Lagos to spend the long vacation with my uncle. While in Lagos, I noticed the change of skin color on my lower lip, which I ignored. After the holiday, I returned to my parents at Okigwe and they demanded to know why the coloration of my down lip changed, for this I had no answer.

In 2004, while I wrote my WAEC, I discovered a sharp line on my left feet foot, I ignored it till all of a sudden it started to spread. I brought the attention of my parents to it, and they took me to meet our family doctor. He examined me and said it wasn't anything serious. By 2006 it started appearing on my hands, face it also affected the other leg.

20210815-224237.png

cyxkEVqiiLy2ofdgrJNxeZC3WCHPBwR7MjUDzY4kBNr81LetETmuDWKvqCPmaSADqzr7cvw5uMJgEuBeuvuxazYG8zoQXWgA6qkN5Yo32DcRzka1VLsrb2BJSkBrF9yjpHU.png

- How it was solved. (Treatment)

At this point I became a very sad person and was withdrawn to myself. My parents on their part became very worried. People suggested we go to to Federal medical center, Umuahia. (FMC). We went, They examined me and didn't see anything, they administered some treatments and told us to go home, that it was not anything serious, and that I would be fine. Friends and relations became concerned and we had lots of suggestions. We went from church to native and back to the hospital.

We also visited Ozuakoli leprosy colony. They also examined me and confirmed it was not leprosy.

In 2006, One of the churches we went to for solution said it was an attack. We continued to attend their weekly night vigil till they scheduled a family libration for us. We paid #30,000 cash (that's about 120 steem If 1 steem is #250) We also cooked food for their prayer warriors and chattered a 504 wagon that conveyed them from Okigwe to my village.) After which, no improvements, instead it continued to spread.

At this time, all my clothes were long sleeves

As at the time I gained admission in 2007, i was using a herbal medicine we got from mbaise, I would boil the leaves and roots in a big pot my parents got for me then. I will sieve it and use the water to bath. I also had a chalk-like substance I rubbed all over my body before I slept every night. The herbalist said it's a poison called agbaocha. I used this medicine for about 6 months and was tired of it. I called my parents from school and told them that I no longer want to use the medication.

IMG_20210815_224134.jpg

Fortunately, I had a maternal uncle who studied in the states and served with United Nations, (Dr. Anya of blessed memory). At this time, he was the medical director of Okigwe General hospital. Mum took me to meet him, immediately he saw me, he smiled and said"this is vitiligo" while we continued to talk, he said there is a black type, that one is called Tatu. He said the treatment for this is meladinin injection and tables. He said Nigerian doctors will not know it because their syllabus does not cover this area. He wrote a letter referring me to UNTH Enugu.

The next Monday, very early, in the morning I left for Enugu with my father, we were the first to arrive the hospital that day. After the doctor read the note I came with, he referred me to the skin clinic of the hospital. The Cheif medical director confirmed it to be vitiligo but still subjected me to some tests, then told me to come back in a week's time. When I returned, they administered treatment of that meladinin tablets and capsules with few other routine drugs. They advised me to protect my eyes from direct contact with sunshine while I use the medication, that I should use umbrella or shun-shed if I must go out when the sun is up.
This is because the medication is made to trap the sun and help the affected areas synthesize melanin and restore the skin color. She said that if I don't protect my eyes, my eyes may be affected.

IMG-20210816-WA0005.jpg

My legs in December 2007

IMG-20210816-WA0013.jpg

My legs today

I was using this till late 2008. It was September 2008 when Mr. John (a family friend) came to our house from umuahia to tell my parents to take me to Wimpole clinic. Wimpole is located at no 37 St Michaels road, Aba. He said he knows someone that have gone through same but was treated at the hospital. As a result, Dad sent for me from school, I came home for weekend, he briefed me and on Monday, we left to Aba from Okigwe. By 8am, we were already at the clinic. We told them we wanted to see the cheif medical director. He examined me and gave me treatment which included injections tables and capsules. I was to come back for check-up every two weeks. This meant I was shuffling between Ebonyi State and Aba every two weeks.

So far, this treatment was the most effective. When i started taking the treatment, re-pigmentation started in the affected areas and I was very happy. But after sometime, it will relapse and the patches will start showing again. This treatment was what cleared all the patches on my face because before now, I looked horrible as I have shown.

Moreso, In 2010, Mum complained to one of my maternal uncle's based in the states, he demanded for the results of that test ran on me at UNTH. I went to UNTH with my medical card, they traced my file and I made a photocopy of the result of the test. All affected areas of my body was snapped and mailed to him with the result of the test. He consulted a doctor with those and a herbal treatment from Pakistan (GoVitiligo) was prescribed. Below is the picture of it.

IMG-20210816-WA0004.jpg

I was to rub this solution on the affected areas of my body and expose these areas to the morning sun daily. I received delivery of this solution five times, each shipment contained four bottles. When I got a job with a commercial bank in March 2012, this forced me to stop using this solution. This was because I can't apply the solution every morning because it can stain my clothes neither do I have time to expose these affected areas to the sun.

Fortunately, my face and hands have recovered to a very reasonable extent and the spread have also stopped. I have also suspended every form of treatment since 2013. At the moment, there is no proven cure for this health condition. You can only manage it's spread. Regardless, when I attain some level of success in life, I will travel abroad and try other treatment options like; light therapy.

IMG_20210811_131406.jpg

My Current Look

- What difficulties have this particular problem caused you/ your family

This my health condition had a heavy adverse effect on me and my family.
On my side, when it stated initially, I became very sad and started staying indoors. It affect my self esteem and confidence. At a certain point I considered suicide. But then when I saw how sad my condition left my mother, I decided to fight, and lo! today, am doing better.

On my parents, it got them very worried and took away all their life savings it forced Dad to suspending his building project. It made me know how much they loved me, and am ever grateful to God for the parents I have.

cyxkEVqiiLy2ofdgrJNxeZC3WCHPBwR7MjUDzY4kBNr81LetETmuDWKvqCPmaSADqzr7cvw5uMJgEuBeuvuxazYG8zoQXWgA6qkN5Yo32DcRzka1VLsrb2BJSkBrF9yjpHU.png

2. A Victim of Scam (MMM)

How it started

When I lost my job in November 2015, the little savings i had was not enough to service the B.Sc program I was running at Enugu state University. I solicited for help from family members. One of my uncles gave me a huge sum of money that helped me clear my debts at school and conclude the programs. By the time i concluded this program i was practically spent.

At this time, people were calling me to introduce me to a Ponzi scheme called MMM. I doubted the sustainability of such outrageous Returns on investment (ROI) because I wasn't convinced, I turned down their offers. One faithful weekend, I visited my uncle Chukwudi in Aba from Akwa-ibom, He lived with his wife. He started explaining everything about the scheme again to me and showed me material things he had acquired from money's he made from referring people to MMM, which included a new phone and a laptop. (At this time, I didn't have a job nor money) I told him to register me and fix #200,000 for me. When I returned to base, I had to liquidate an investment I had somewhere, the money I recovered was still not up to #200,000 I then had to borrow #50,000 from one of my friends. Soon, I was matched with people to pay, I paid them but before it was my turn to be paid, I got news that the scheme have closed. This news came down very hard on me because the money I committed to this scheme was everything I had and even more.

- What difficulties have this particular problem caused you/ your family

The shock I got from this investment that went bad lefte in a devastated state of mind. It made me perceive everything that has to do with online business as scam. (This includes; forest, and Cryptocurrencies) and as a result, I did not accept Cryptocurrency on time.
cyxkEVqiiLy2ofdgrJNxeZC3WCHPBwR7MjUDzY4kBNr81LetETmuDWKvqCPmaSADqzr7cvw5uMJgEuBeuvuxazYG8zoQXWgA6qkN5Yo32DcRzka1VLsrb2BJSkBrF9yjpHU.png

3. Twist Of Faith - How I Became A Tailor

Growing up, my dream was to be a Banker. In 2017, I gained admission to study accountancy. I was so happy because it is a step closer to making my dreams come true. After school, I got a job with a commercial bank where i worked for about 4 years.

IMG-20210816-WA0011.jpg

As a Banker

- How It Began

In year 2015, an election was held in Nigeria, which removed an incumbent president and a new president emerged in the person of President Muhammadu Buhari. After he resumed office on 29th may 2015, his administration made lots of financial and monetary policies that were very uncomfortable for banks, financial institutions and to local and foreign investors.

FB_IMG_16256106755519756.jpg

With Colleagues

As a result, companies left to other neighboring countries, some companies sacked some of their staffs, my then employer (keystone bank) closed down a total of 23 branches across the federation. My branch was one of the branches affected and unfortunately for me, I Was not one of the few staffs re-absorbed.

- How It Was Solved

As a result of the job loss, I relocated to Eket where I stayed with Tony my friend. My search for a new job was to no avail. I stayed for about a year and six months without a job. That was a material time in the country, there were no much job opportunities, and as a result, I had to do something to survive. I called my friend and tailor and explained my situation to him, telling him I would like to come and understudy him so as to become a tailor and be able to fend for myself. He commended me for the bold step I wanted to take, but warned me that he doesn't have accommodation for me, I told him not to worry, that I will stay with my uncle. I organized myself and moved to Aba in April 2017. After two years I established mine and today, I am a tailor.

FB_IMG_16256109964376563.jpg

As a Tailor

- What difficulties have this particular problem caused you/ your family

Loosing my job was one of the worst punches life have thrown at me. This caused me about four years of setback. Coming to Aba to learn how to sew clothes with two colledge degrees was a desperate step I took in response to the desperate situation at hand. Today, i thank God i did take that step when i could.

On my family, within this four years, I was unable to provide the usual help I did provide for the smooth running of the family.
cyxkEVqiiLy2ofdgrJNxeZC3WCHPBwR7MjUDzY4kBNr81LetETmuDWKvqCPmaSADqzr7cvw5uMJgEuBeuvuxazYG8zoQXWgA6qkN5Yo32DcRzka1VLsrb2BJSkBrF9yjpHU.png

- The Help I Need

Amongst the three challenges I have shared with you, the first two have been over taken by events. This is because I have learnt to live with the vitiligo. It have not hindered me from anything I set my mind on. Then, I am gradually overcoming the effects of the MMM scam.

The third is where I need help. I have been able to acquire two straight industrial sewing machines, one industrial weaving machines and a set of generator. The help I need is to enable me relocate my shop to a more suitable site for my business. To rent the shop and furnish it the way I want will cost me about 8000 Steem, that is if 1 steem is equal to #250. I will appreciate any form of help offered me in form of votes as it will help me consolidate as a self employed person.

- Conclusion

I have shared these personal stories undiluted to encourage someone out there who may be going through a rough path, please don't give up, Fight out of it. Once there is life, there is hope and time will override all these obstacles you see now ans you will see again.

Finally I will like to thank @steemalive and @focusnow for this well thought out contest that have made us share with each other how badly life have tested us and how we solved these situations. I hope we derive inspection from Each other and forge ahead.

FB_IMG_16256248228994109.jpg

Sort:  

This post has been rewarded by @focusnow from @steemcurator04 Account with support from the Steem Community Curation Project."

Keep posting good content and follow @steemitblog for more updates. Keep on steeming as well as improving your content to get more attention. Thank you, Steemit Team!

Thank you @focusnow.
Am grateful for this upvote I will continue to do my best

Such a powerful entry. Thank you so much for living above these huge challenges and becoming the person you are today. More wins ahead. @uzoma24

I hope these stories of mine encourage someone who is almost loosing hope.
Thank you @steemalive.

 3 years ago 

Your story is quite touching.

Glad your stronger. God will make ways for you. Congratulations on winning the contest.

Thank You Dear @alexanderpeace

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60506.66
ETH 2400.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58