7 Day Writing Challenge Day 1 - My Job History By @uzoma24

in SteemAlive3 years ago (edited)

20210823-223041.png

background source

HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9USqxhHarLXxDWpvgEdzi37hu7HdAmv9Rz13gt8Mknav76HuK9u2MmmodmJAYmdRnHyem1Ak1Mt3c5L.jpeg

Greetings/Introduction

Hello Friends on Steemit, how are you, I hope you all are doing well? My name is Uzoma, am a Nigerian. I am glad to participate in this breathtaking contest to share with you different stories about myself. In this post, I will concentrate on all the jobs I have done since I left school, please stay with me in 2011.
HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9USqxhHarLXxDWpvgEdzi37hu7HdAmv9Rz13gt8Mknav76HuK9u2MmmodmJAYmdRnHyem1Ak1Mt3c5L.jpeg

As a Banker

After I graduated in 2011 and served subsequently in 2012, successively in 2013, I was invited for an interview in Lagos for a job with a commercial Bank. When the appointment letter was handed to me, lo! I was posted to Ikot Ekpene. Imworking with the bank in various capacities (tellering, customer service personnel beand fund transfer office) was a lifetime experience, I was with this bank for about three year.

FB_IMG_16263369482901093.jpg

At work on a weekend

My job stopped on November 2015 after an incumbent president (President Goodluck Jonathan) was removed through an election and President Muhammadu Buhari was elected and installed in office. After this new administration took over, the decisions they made (moneytory and fiscal policies) came down very hard on investors and companies. Some companies closed down, while others downsized on their staff strength.

My own Bank; Keystone Bank closed a total of 23 branches nationwide and unfortunately, my branch (Ikot Ekpene Branch) was one of those branches affected. They re-absorbed a few staffs while the rest of us were dropped.

FB_IMG_16253513511298755.jpg

With Colleagues

HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9USqxhHarLXxDWpvgEdzi37hu7HdAmv9Rz13gt8Mknav76HuK9u2MmmodmJAYmdRnHyem1Ak1Mt3c5L.jpeg

As Human Resource Officer

When my Job stopped I felt very uncomfortable in the town, I relocated from Ikot Ekpene to Eket, to stay with Tony my friend. Tony was also a staff of Keystone Bank, while I stayed with him. I Secured a job as a human resource person for a company. This company was an outsourcing company, they recruited domestic staffs for individuals and companies (janitors, drivers, cooks, cleansers etc). I worked for this company for about six months and resigned because the stipend I due to me was not regular.

FB_IMG_16278184570270291.jpg

with a another staff

HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9USqxhHarLXxDWpvgEdzi37hu7HdAmv9Rz13gt8Mknav76HuK9u2MmmodmJAYmdRnHyem1Ak1Mt3c5L.jpeg

As a Tailor

After I resigned as the human resource personnel, I could not secure another job for about a year, I decided to take a bold step so as to fend for myself because i felt I was becoming a burden to my friend. As a result, In February 2017, I called Gabriel my friend who was my tailor and friend. I explained every of my ordeals to him, and begged him to teach me how to sew. He accepted but was not sure if I could humble myself to learning sewing.
In his doubt, he said;

he wouldn't believe me until when I arrive his shop.

FB_IMG_16297761383155453.jpg

As an apprentice

Two weeks later, I organized myself and set out to Aba, Gabriel was surprised when I called to tell him that I was in town, he sent me direction to his shop at ulasi. The next day, my uncle drove me there and I fulfilled all the requirements and I started learning same day.

Consequent upon the facts that I was determined and that I had a well developed brain at this time I went to learn this craft, I understood things quickly and soon, my learning process came to an end and in 2019, I started off my own shop. Today, am doing very well as a tailor.

FB_IMG_16256109964376563.jpg

HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9USqxhHarLXxDWpvgEdzi37hu7HdAmv9Rz13gt8Mknav76HuK9u2MmmodmJAYmdRnHyem1Ak1Mt3c5L.jpeg

As a Steemit Blogger

Because I read on Forbes, that Cryptocurrency is the future, I capitalized on the offer by @ceendy20 and joined steemit in May 2021 and ever since, it have been an amazing experience with I lots of benefits. These benefits are in forms of money, knowledge and friends.

Steemit blockchain have created for me, an alternative means of livelihood and I intend to exploit as many opportunities as I can from the blockchain to enable me save up a good amount of steem power and earn there-of.

IMG-20210811-WA0042.jpg

After a Steemit meetup

HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9USqxhHarLXxDWpvgEdzi37hu7HdAmv9Rz13gt8Mknav76HuK9u2MmmodmJAYmdRnHyem1Ak1Mt3c5L.jpeg

Conclusion

To you, my story may have sounded like a situation of grace to grass, but that's my my story and this is so because of the country we live in, where the government are not responsive to situations nor the plights of the masses.

FB_IMG_16253515378910841.jpg

Regardless, I achieved more as tailor than as a banker. I have tested the two sided of the coin, and I can tell you that considering the facts that;

  • There is no retirement benefit for most banks.
  • Peace of mind that i enjoy now which is rare while with the bank.
  • That I have more time for myself and for my family.
  • That there are lots of uncertainties with a bank job, but as a self employed person, no one will sack me at will even without doing anything wrong.
  • I have time to do other businesses like steemit.

It is on these basies that turned down an offer that I received shortly after I started learning to sew. I can tell you that I prefer to be self employed than working so hard for a company that will not think twice to drop me.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

We started from the bottom and now are here. Life is stage by stage and one thing we must do is to be humble and you what the bible says about humility or do you need reminder?

Life is all about stages and humility is key.
Thank for stopping by @benson6

 3 years ago 

No problem and that is the little I can do for now, just to drop by and comment on people post and keep the community @steemalive.

Yes,self employment is the goal,you achieve more and have more time for yourself and earn more than monthly salary 🤗,you made right decision .

You are correct. Even when you work, you should be saving to establish a business.

Thank You for stopping by my blog. Good morning

Good afternoon,it is true of what you said, business nanthe main Koko now ,and Aba hustling spirit is a different ball game all together ,abeg its jah is your strength.🙃🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 59288.97
ETH 3114.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39