THE DAIRY GAME: HOW I REPRESENTED MY SISTER ON HER TRADITIONAL MARRIAGE ~ by @triciabless ~ 05/11/2021

in SteemAlive3 years ago

B2C155BE-7487-419C-8A1E-7619E01333C1.jpeg

INTRODUCTION

I never imagined a day would come where I would stand to represent anyone in a marriage ceremony. As much as it is a custom practiced in my state, I never pictured myself doing it for anyone talk less of my cousin sister. It was an unexpected and awesome event and I’m glad I could be of help to her. Below is how it all happened.

How I represented my sister in her Traditional marriage.

49BDD43F-77B7-45F1-817E-2D8FB8AD3FC9.jpeg

It all started on Monday morning about 8:00am. When my sister called me and told me that she will be getting married soon and I was happy for her because I thought she will be coming home because she’s has been in the United Kingdom for more than 10 years now not on till she told me she won’t be coming home. I was surprised and I was like how and why.

She said she can’t come down to Nigeria and she wants me to represent her in her marriage at first I was shocked and I declined not on till she promise to pay me so I accepted and started preparing for the day.

She sent me money to get the things I will be needing for the marriage because I will be dressing like the real bride so on that day I was fully prepared and all the things to use for the marriage was all ready in place, I woke up as early as 4:00am and my makeup artist was already waiting for me.

The makeup session lasted for about four hours and during this time I was dressed and made up for the marriage.

FB5917F8-590C-442E-996A-571F496282D1.jpeg

It was like a grand marriage and there was a lot of invitees. The family of the groom came all the way from Edo state and they arrived at about 7:00am. They assisted us with a lot of things and they came with all the requirements for the bride price like:

  • Bag of rice
  • Palm oil
  • Goat
  • Palm wine
  • kola nut
  • Beer
  • Honey
  • A box of Wrapper
  • A cow
  • Yam
  • Soft drinks
  • Kerosene
  • Bag of salt etc

All the families were gathered in my compound and the ceremony began proper. I and the groom were called out and prayed for by the family of the groom and also the family of the bride. There was an exchange of wine from my uncle to the groom and I.

71830942-4159-41D4-B6D2-2CA2A91F3D9D.jpeg

The reception followed shortly and we all danced and was sprayed money as per tradition. It was a fun experience and my sister was really happy I represented her well and it came with a lot of benefit for me.

D771815A-A306-4AB0-92EB-6DB9667CB1DF.jpeg

CONCLUSION

This kind of marriage is a part of our tradition when the bride or groom are not in the country. So it is also approved by God due to our beliefs.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

2.jpg
We have supported this post. Keep on making great content in our community. Always check @steemalive for community updates. Thank you being an active member.

 3 years ago 

What an eventful day. I never believed a culture like this existed. Keep creating wonderful contents on Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60340.89
ETH 2615.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56