7 Day Writing Challenge Day 1 - My Job History by @stanleynnah

in SteemAlive3 years ago
Good day everyone,

It's a pleasure to take part in this amazing and engaging contest which will be taking place for the next seven (7) days. I will be kicking off with the topic "My Job History".

20210823_201534.jpg
Source: Pixel Lab

Introduction

First and foremost, jobs encompasses a form of employment, business and other forms of activities which individuals engage in, in order to gain revenues or fund to take care of themselves or other. This in other words means that majority of individuals engage in a particular job mostly for the financial gain that they stand to achieve. This also does not in any way negate the fact that most people engage in some jobs just for the fun of it.


My Job History

Majority of individuals will agree with me that post nysc period is one is the most difficult and traumatic period for many youths.

Personally, I actually started off my working career as an accountant in an eatery. This was however before nysc, and my job description basically involved taking down every form of payment, food orders, expenses of the day, and at the end of everyday, I submit a report to the Manager of the eatery. This was approximately for a period of six (6) during the tertiary institutions industrial strike.

However, after nysc, I was able to get an appointment based on contract as a customer care representative for an outsourcing company known as ISON BPO international. It was an outsourcing company for Airtel Nigeria. My job description as a fresh recruit involved taking inbound calls, resolving issues customers might be having with the network, and advising customers appropriately on the products and services of the company. It's important to state that the experience gathered from ISON BPO was massive because on a daily I had the opportunity of speaking to various kind of individuals. You get to speak aggressive, emotional, kind, and loving individuals who must have called in for various issues they must have been experiencing on the network. We also get to work with numerous softwares and applications and the company was thereby a ground for further learning as we were well trained on the use of the applications.

IMG-20191230-WA0044.jpg
Me and my colleagues inside ISON's staff bus


Furthermore, as individuals, it's always our desires to keep improving in life, so, we keep on looking and looking out for more advanced and better jobs. And as such, after working with ISON BPO for three (3) years and six (6) months, I got a job as class teacher. It has been a dream for me to lecture or pass across knowledge and information to others officially, so I saw the new job as stepping stone towards advancing in that area of life. As a teacher, my job description is well structured. I majorly engage my students in subject matters of Government and Civic Education. However, the job of a teacher does not stop in the classroom. I also engage in a form of counseling sessions with my students in order to make sure they are in the right frame of mind to grab and understand whatever is being taught in the classroom.

IMG-20210703-WA0005.jpg
Me and my colleagues during teachers induction


Conclusion

Just as the last contest on "Our Local Professional", every job we as individuals undertake in order to survive in the society is valid as long as it is within the legal system of the society we find ourselves. And as such, it is always important to appreciate others who are working legally to provide for their daily needs, and the best thing we can do for them, is to always help in advertising whatever they are into, patronise their services, and encourage them in the advancement of their careers.

Thank you for reading through.

Special acknowledgement to;
@focusnow
@charis20
@patience and the general @steemalive community for this fabulous contest.

Regards
@stanleynnah

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

I always know that we are not lazy at all, we look for the opportunity. Thanks for sharing your life story with us. Post NYSC experience.

Thank you ☺️

Hardwork is what makes us strive. You've got experience to share. Your job history is a nice one. Kudoz

Thank you for the kind words ☺️

 3 years ago (edited)

This is awesome, I like this post. It is educating actually. Keep it up bro. This is why I am happy to be here myself, when you read people's post like this you gain more knowledge and it's educating as well. It is a welcome development, more strength to do more please.

Thank you very much, I appreciate

 3 years ago 

Nice work , keep it up

Thank you

 3 years ago 

Interesting. You had a quiet number of jobs and all were important to man.
Teaching is one of the most prestigious jobs where you impart knowledge down to others.
Thanks for sharing

Thank you for reading through

What a great start after your NYSC. You have to go through all those professions as a way of preparing you emotionally to take the Job of a teacher. What other place can you learn about patience and attention to details than Accounting work and customer service.

Thank you very much. All glory to God for everything.

You said it all, Anything we do that gives us joy and put food on our table, is job.

Anyone that cannot or does not give us food, is no job. One cannot be working like an elephant and then eating like an ant.

I wish you success in this contest.

Exactly,

Thank you very much.

 3 years ago 

I love teaching, though it was not my first choice. But now, it's my real choice now. Switching from ISON BPO to teaching will look odd to some, but if you love it and enjoy the job: 'That is job satisfaction.' not everyone knows that.

Thank you very much.
God bless you.

Teaching is a profession that should be cherished in this country, but teachers are not well paid. Well-done bro I love your post.

Thank you 🤗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60813.09
ETH 3389.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52