You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Learnwithsteem: language and it's basic concept by @emmanu|100% beneficiary to steemalive

in SteemAlive2 years ago

Mother tongue (MT) is that native dialect that is spoken in our villages that can't be found anyhow in other locality. We are born in Igbo land yes, but we have different dialects and we learn it according to our environment. MT is that language that is easily found in our locality or place of residence. We learn it in order to flow with other people in that same locality. While First language (L¹) is a general language that our people is known with. Igbo language is my L¹ because I amfrom that area. So when I speak my LIFE, my MT maybe interfering. That's why someone from my local village may notice me whenever, wherever.... it's because of that MT interference. Second language (L²) is that language we learn for the purpose of further communication with other people not from our locality or tribe. Example isEnglish. We learn it to be able to communicate outside our environment.

L¹is not learnt but MT and LIKE because there are areas that need a mastery to be called a professional in them.

As an Igbo, I need to teach and make my kids learn and know our MT and LIKE so they won't be lost before L² takes over. Unfortunately, some parents have contributed to what their kids are suffering. Funny enough, some kids don't have MT neither could they speak their L², all they know and speak is L². If our MT and L¹ to be preserved, we must speak and teach them to our kids for sustainability and preservation. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64411.29
ETH 3516.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55