SteemAlive Presents: ReadNwrite - A 7 day writing Challenge. Improve your health by reducing or eliminating stress!

in SteemAlive2 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_20220707-114326.png
Source

Introduction

Thousands all over the world go through stress due to different circumstances they face on a daily basis. Stress is very dangerous and hazardous to the health hence, let's dig deeper on this invisible enemy "stress" and suggest possible ways to end it.

Stress

Stress could be said to be a state or condition of emotional and psychological strain, turmoil or tension arising from circumstances beyond our control. But why stress? and what could possibly cause it? Let's find out:

Causes of stress

There are so many factors that could cause stress, below are just few of such factors;

  • Over anxiety/ worries

  • Too many workloads and responsibilities

  • Financial problems and instability

  • Being victim of abuse, hate or
    discrimination

  • Undue pressure and coercion from external forces

  • Ill health

  • Inability to control the outcome of a situation

  • Unamendable life changes

Symptoms of stress

One could discern a stressed individual through the following signs;

1. Intermittent fatigue or tiredness
2. Difficulty in sleeping
3. Chest pains
4. High blood pressure
5. Blurry eyesight/screen problems
6. Headaches/dizziness
7. Muscle pulls or cramps

Ways to reduce stress

When stress has a hold on an individual, he suffers negatively as seen above, but we can combat it how? Let's see;

  • Make sure to have a balance work ratio

  • Regular exercise can go a long way

  • Endeavour to eat healthy foods on a daily basis

  • Make time for recreation, entertainment and fun

  • Have enough rest and sleep

  • Maintain a good social status with others

  • Ask for medical help when necessary by attending therapy sessions

Once a victim of stress

Although I have been stressed on different occasions, one particularly got me. My aunt was suffering from a terrible ailment and was hospitalized at St Luke's general hospital, I was assigned to stay with her in the hospital during this period for close observation despite the fact that I had my senior secondary examinations to write(WAEC/NECO). I readily accepted as life is very important.

As a good multitasker, I thought I will be able to cope but later on, I got scared that I will break down terribly, I could not leave her all alone as all other members of the family were rallying round to pay her bills hence, could not come and stay. I found it very difficult to read for the examinations as the environment was not conducive and I got easily distracted. I remember when I slept off in the exams hall while the exams was ongoing and was punished. So bad!

I overcame it

When I noticed that things were not normal anymore as I turned pale overnight, I decided to do something swiftly by adhering to some of suggestions mentioned earlier;

  • I made sure I went to bed very early

  • I avoided loneliness by mingling with others and of course shared my problems with them

  • I did some simple exercises every morning before leaving for school

  • Family members brought lots of foods and fruits but since aunt could not consume them, I decided to help her out with all my might

  • I listened to music at my leisure and they sure calmed my nerves

  • I controlled my anxiety about her ill health

After taking the necessary steps, I observed that I had peace of mind and everything retuned back to normalcy. Although we had lost her despite the odds we went through, I am happy that the situation (stress) which would have gotten out of control was well taken care of .

Conclusion

Stress should be feared because it is dreadful, it has led to suicides by helpless individual. Therefore we should fight this disastrous enemy together, we can always be sure to win.

Cc;
@ijelady
@chichieze
@focusnow
@okere-blessing

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Thank God we are getting to know the truth unlike before that people tag someone who is enjoying and relaxing a lazy person. Now after strees we enjoy ourselves to continue.

 2 years ago 

That's the truth
All work and no play makes jack a dull boy

Thank you my friend @precious123,stress is not really good and kills man slowly.

Thank you for joung in this contest and I wish you success.

 2 years ago 

That was terrible but thank God you retrieved from that deviation fast else it would have caused you sickness and many more you may not have known.

 2 years ago 

The most important thing about overcoming stress is to accept first that you are undergoing through stress and being able to find ways to manage it effectively.

 2 years ago 

I love the part you took by helping your sister by eating the food since she as not eating well.

Thank you for helping her in that difficult time

Checking the rules

CriteriaRating
Club75
Plagiarism-free✔️
SteemExclusive✔️
Bot-free✔️

Checking Post Quality

CriteriaRating
Compliance with Topic2/2.5
Use of Markdown1/2.5
Spelling and Grammar2/2.5
Content Depth2.5/2.5
Total7.5/10

4a.jpg

Congratulations! This article has been manually curated using our community account. Always publish great content, free of plagiarism and make sure you are participating in club5050, club75 or club100. Congratulations once again, hoping to see your next publication soonest!

 2 years ago 

Thanks for the support

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56269.96
ETH 2364.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26