SteemAlive Presents: ProWritersHub (W2) - What is in a name - local names, popular names and the act of naming

in SteemAlive2 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_20220717-171438.pngsource

Introduction

Virtually everything on earth has a "name" and name implies to both living and nonliving things. Name could be said to be a unique identifier that distinguishes a particular person or thing from the other. Even the Bible tells us that when God made the first man Adam, he gave him the task of naming all the animals he created, therefore "naming" is a very strenous process of according names to someone/something. Of course, they are many events, occurrences or happenings surrounding a given name, let's get to know some;

My three names as custom demands

I am legally known in formal places as
PRECIOUS IME SYLVANUS, my parents (dad to be precise) gave me the above name during my naming ceremony some days after I came into the world. What does the above three names mean??

PRECIOUS; as we all know, Precious is an English name which means valuable, cherished, important, treasure, pearl, Incomparable etc, omor me na hot cake ooo😂.

IME; This is my middle name and it's my dad's name as well, it means endurance, patience, ability to withstand problems and trials.

SYLVANUS; This is my surname which belongs to my awesome paternal grandfather, it is a biblical name of a man who was Paul's co-worker in dispensing God's word.

As I said earlier, my parents gave me the name I bear till now, since it was an English name, both decided to call me in our native language so my grandparents could call me without much difficulty,
Mom called me nsongurua
Dad called me mkpouto
Both names mean "Precious"

Name ethics in my locality

Where I come from, you are given a name due the circumstances surrounding your birth, the time, market days, season, position in the family etc. It is our custom that a child is named exactly seven days after birth where a naming is held before the the name is given, they are many Akwa Ibom names that may intrigue you;

Male namesmeanings
OkonBorn at night
Ekongwarrior
Offiongborn at moonlight
Enangcow which signifies agility
Ekpoghost
Female namesmeanings
Etidogoodness
Akonborn at night
Affiongborn at moonlight
Ukemeability
Eno obongGod's gift

I actually love the name Eno-obong pretty much because it acknowledges God as the creator and giver of all children.

I detest the name Ekpo, this name which signifies ghost could have a bad impact on its bearer, it spells doom and promotes ill fate.

Note that female names that take A sound mean the same thing as the male names in my culture eg Okon (male)/Akon(female) both mean born at night.

Got a name for herself

While growing up, I decided to take a name for myself, I settled for Pearl as it is an alternative for my birth name as it means costly, rare, Precious. On all social media handles, I am known as Pearl and even close friends call me that.

My steemit username

I actually wanted to use my nickname Pearl on steemit platform but since it is a very unique platform, I decided to use my name Precious and added some figures to it (@precious123) to differentiate me from the many Precious' on the platform.

Summary

Names are very outstanding attributes that specify all things on earth, our names speak a whole lot about us. Therefore when given an opportunity to make use of names, we should make the right choices.
Special mention:
@ijelady
@samuel20
@ijebest
@preye2

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been supported by @steem4nigeria. This is the official community account of Nigerians on Steemit. You can reach us here on our community account.

Manual Curator : @Reminiscence01

Subscribe and Join Steem4Nigeria Telegram
Discord Facebook Twitter

 2 years ago 

Wow,thank you dear for this nice post as I have got to know about the meaning of names in your language.

@precious123.

 2 years ago 

You are most welcome

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator08

Curated by @juzkid

SteemCor07 - Lifestyle Curation Team

 2 years ago (edited)

Quite an impressive article. I actually learnt a lot from what you just wrote particularly the different names of Male/Female gender which still means the same thing. In Igbo culture, there are gender specific names and there are unisex names too. The names your parent gave you are very meaningful too. Thank you for showing me the meaning of some names from your area.

Wow I have been trying to know the meaning of that name etido thank you for letting me know the meaning.

 2 years ago 

You are very much welcome
If you will like to know more, you can pay a token, I won't charge much
Smiles, thanks for visiting my post😁

 2 years ago 

Wow my friend @precious123, you have done very well analysing names and their meanings in your local language, this has enlightened me on the meaning of most names, thank you much for inviting me.

 2 years ago 

Yes oooooo
Waiting for your entry soonest, wanna learn from you as well

Wow my dear precious123 you really made
an awesome post. Thanks to you I now know the meaning of "okon" 😁😁

Wow @precious123 you really wrote well I have learnt something from your language at least some names that I have been seeing people answering in your language I have known the meaning today

 2 years ago 

Wow you have helped me to know some Ibibio names and their meanings like Okon for male and Akon for female which means born at moonlight.

You have a unique name @precious122.

Checking the rules

CriteriaRating
Club75
Plagiarism-free✔️
SteemExclusive✔️
Bot-free✔️

Checking Post Quality

CriteriaRating
Compliance with Topic2/2.5
Use of Markdown2/2.5
Spelling and Grammar2/2.5
Content Depth1.8/2.5
Total7.8/10
 2 years ago 

Awwwwnnn, I'm flattered
Thanks ma

 2 years ago 

So Ekpo means ghost hmmmm. Thank God you told me now. But if someone looks for my trouble i will call the person ekpo. And pretend as if I dont know the meaning hahahaha. Thanks @precious123.

 2 years ago 

Smiles, you na trouble maker oooo
Thank God is just that one you know

Wow what a nice names your parents have given to you and I like the fact that they give names to person depending on the day he or she is born and thanks for sharing.

 2 years ago 

Ohhhh
Thanks, I'm flattered

Wow your name is beautiful and it meaningful too, but what's the meaning of Aniekpemk, Nsegbom, and itoro. I often hear those names

 2 years ago 

Smiles
Aniekeme means who is able than God??
Nsegbom means grand lineage
While itoro means praises

Oya pay me, won't charge much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46