How well do you understand steemit contest| entry by @phenomenal1052|

in SteemAlive3 years ago (edited)

I will like to start by appreciating @ngoenyi for creating this good and educative contest. I must say she has been an angel to lots of steemians, and she has made a positive impact in new member and surpporting existing members by showing them the way and making them feel at home, me especially.

2FFvzA2zeqoVJ2SVhDmmumdPfnVEcahMce9nMwwksSDdRvQfKFE6mCyu27xuM7DqNqCBgK1brksm3jsfCub73Q2JQVA8nfrsKmse1tWFsWe281syoqrRPH2wGotcn.jpeg
Source>screenshot from @ngoenyi contest post.

I got to know about steemit around November last year (2020), I just finished my high school, so I was home alone and bored, I was just searching randomly when I came across steemit, I read reviews about steemit, and I was impressed, I decided to join. Back then when I joined I only viewed this as a platform, but now I know it's more than just a platform but a worldwide family.
When I joined I found it difficult to understand a lot of things, I can remember I posted like 2 or 3 introduction post, and none was verified because I was doing it wrong, I kept posting a lot of non- quality post in different community, it was like I was a stray dog in a wild forest, finally I got hooked up with @Focusnow who showed me the way.
That's when I realized it's not about just making post but it's about making quality post and staying active, relating with other people and learning everyday. Plus do not focus on the money, but focus on enjoy writing quality post, because that's all that matters and that's what this great community is all about.

Talking about money, I will like to talk about how to earn on steemit.
There are two ways to earn on steemit, which is being a "Author or Curator". Let me explain there two ways.

  1. Author ÷ The first way I will like to talk about is earning by being an Author, so we all know what Author means. One can earn on steemit by making quality post, like I said earlier one can only earn by making quality post. Before a big account like steem curator 1, 2, or 4 vote on one post, the post must be a quality one and very important, It must not be plagiarized because plagiarism is highly prohibited on steemit and there are punishment for plagiarizing someone else post. So if you want to earn being a Author you must make sure you follow all the rules, quality post, and it must not be plagiarized. The reward on post is set into a 50:50 percentage, where the author get 50% of the post reward, and you as a author can decide whether you want to power up your reward or receive 50% as SBD and the remaining 50% as steemit power.

  2. Curator ÷ The second way to earn on steemit is by being a curator.
    The simple meaning of curating in steemit is just read a post, if you like it and the content click the like button(which is the green arrow facing up) and the post will be curated in other words you have voted the post.
    Just like every other platform where you like a post, you click the like button but in steemit unlike other platform when you click the like button, you have voted the post.
    Curating is like we rise by lifting others, because when you vote on the post, you also get a share in the post earning. At the end of 7 days a post will pay out, the payout ratio in steemit is 50:50 the author gets 50% of the post reward and the curators also share the remaining 50%.

The thing about curating is that before you can make money and earn big by curating you will need to have like 500 steem power and above. The logic is "the higher the steem power the bigger the curating reward.

So if you are planning on making money by curating you will have to invest more in getting lots of steem power. You can get steem power by powering up your post reward, and buying steem and powering it up to be able to get more steem power.
So that's how to earn on steemit. Also if you want to check the record of how much you made, just go to your wallet and press the reward icon there, then you will see the author and curator options there.

Screenshot_20210512-152940~2.png
Source~ screenshot from @phenomenal1052 steemit wallet page

Moving on, I will like to make this clear getting a upvote is not a guaranteed something, because steemit is not a giveaway platform. You get upvote when you make a quality post and sometimes your post might not get upvote because there are lots of post too, but that shouldn't discourage you because the more you post the more you get in getting recognize and getting upvote. For me when my post doesn't get upvote I take it as like a setback to motivate myself just like the Ram that moves back to make a big run forward, so upvote is not guaranteed and you shouldn't feel discouraged, keep writing and enjoy writing.

Like they always say, never be a one trick wonder magician, steemit is a big platform with different interesting communities, make sure to explore many communities because there is no restrictions, the only restriction will only be oneself, so explore different communities.

Being active in steemit isn't enough, try and share the good news and invite your friends and even strangers to join steemit, and make sure to help them in getting to know the platform. Another interesting thing about steemit is that signing up is easy and the registration fee has been covered by steemit team.
All you have to do is click the sign up button, fill in your username, email, phone number, do the verification process and the captcha process and you are on steemit.

Screenshot_20210512-153414~2.png
Source> screenshot from steemit

Screenshot_20210512-153507~2.png
Source> screenshot from steemit

One problem of many steemians is that they tend to envy other steemians making more money and getting big votes than them. When you have this kind of attitude you will surely get discouraged and before you know you will loose interest and become inactive, so we shouldn't give room for envy in our mind, lime I said before, just keep writing quality post and following every other rules and stay active and relate with people, the votes will come along.

Like I said before the main aim of steemit is quality post and good content, so if you know you are not really good in writing, you can follow these simple steps of mine in improving your writing skills.

  • Learning diction ÷ If you want to improve your writing skills, you should work on your diction, learn how to spell words correctly, and also learn sentence formation, because if you can spell words correctly you can't make a good sentence and if you can't make a good sentence you won't be able to make a good post. So it's a simple logic.
  • Doing what you know ÷ Instead of stressing oneself on what one don't know or lying just to make a post, you will probably end up with a bad post, so just write what you know about, make good research to back up and get more points to write about.
  • Study your markdowns ÷ one important thing is to do the achievement post very importantly the achievement 4 to get good knowledge on making use of markdowns in steemit to be able to make quality post and improve one writing skills.

  • Be consistent ÷ They say practice makes perfection, and that's true the more you practice the more perfect you get, so keep making post, keep learning and you will surely improve.

    Myself I have made sacrifice in putting more effort in making quality post, and I know am improving day by day and I haven't reached my peak in fact there is no limit for me, because there is no limit in cloud 9. I will keep making sacrifices and I will invest on my steemit power starting from this week onward, I will start working on growing my steemit power, starting from this post the reward I get I will definitely power it up.
    Another sacrifice I will be making is bringing in more people to steemit, this week I signed up my friend and I will try and sign up more people to steemit.

    Like I already stated earlier, I will be buying steem and powering them up and I will definitely be powering up my rewards from most of my post from today onwards, because steem power is very important if one wants to make it in steemit.

   # Conclusion

My advice to new steemians and old steemians is that they should keep making quality post and good content, stay active, invest in your steem power, relate with other steemians, explore different communities and stay far away from plagiarism.

Thank you for reading my entry and special thanks to
Cc. @Ngoenyi for creating this amazing contest, and I will be reading other people's entry to try and learn from them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59400.36
ETH 2498.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47