Right2write contest : My Town in 10 pictures- Banks, Schools and Hospital by @pearlofwisdom

in SteemAlive2 years ago (edited)

Good day all, I greet you my fellow steemains. In this right2wrote contest I will be telling you all about my city "Calabar".

Calabar is the capital of Cross River State, Nigeria. It is a port city in Southern Nigeria, near the Cameroon border. It was formally named Akwa Akpa in Efik language.

Calabar is often described as tourism city of Nigeria due to several initiatives implemented by Donald Duke (1999-2007). This city is divided into two(2), Calabar Municipal and Calabar South Local Government Areas. It has an area of 406 square kilometers, (157 sq ml) and population of 371,022 as at 2006 census.

Calabar was the headquarters of the European administrations in the Niger Delta until 1906, when government seat was moved to Lagos. Today, Calabar is a large metropolis with several towns, like Ikot Ishie, Cobham town, Obutong, Akim, Duke Town Kasuk, Ikot Omin, Ikot Ansa, Henshaw town.

Calabar has served as an international seaport, shipping out of goods such as palm oil , since the 16th century. It was a major part in transporting African slaves and was named Calabar by Spanish.

The city hosted the first social club in Nigeria, Cricket, Field hockey and Football. The oldest secondary school in Calabar is Hope Weddell Training Institution founded in 1895.

The city has several museums, a botanical garden, port, sports stadium, cultural centre, slave history park, resorts, e.t.c.
The city's annual events includes, Calabar Carnival, Christmas Festival.

In this post I will center on few institutions, to further enlighten us about Calabar city.


Financial Institutions


Access Bank

IMG_20220513_150603_852.jpg
What3word

This is located at Calabar road. This is a multinational commercial bank that is owned by Access Bank Group licenced by Central Bank of Nigeria. It was founded in 1989. They offer products such as, Credit cards, Investments, Loans, Mortgages.

They make use of the slogan" More than Banking".

Guaranty Trust Bank (GTB)

IMG_20220513_150703_361.jpgWhat3word

This is also located at Calabar road.
GTBank was founded by Mr Tajudeen Afolabi Adella, a Nigerian business man. Gtbank was founded on 17th Jan 1990 but commenced operation in February 1991.
Gtbank changed the logo on their status to GTCO so as to reflect their new status as part of a financial services company, since the future of financial services goes beyond banking.

They make use of the slogan, "Wouldn't you rather Bank with us".

Union Bank of Nigeria (UBN)

IMG_20220513_150534_882.jpgWhat3word

Also located at Calabar road.
This is a commercial bank, and it has been operating since 1917. Mr Emeka Okonkwo is the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Union Bank from 2021 till date. Union Bank goes by the slogan "Enterprise, Excellence, Execution".

United Bank of Africa (UBA)

IMG_20220513_151150_451.jpgWhat3word

Still located at Calabar road. This is the area where most banks are, though there are others in Ettagbor and Marian road.
UBA is a Pan-African bank founded in 1949.

They make use of the slogan, "Big, strong and reliable".


Academic Institutions


RAO International School

IMG_20220513_150639_470.jpgWhat3word

This is RAO international school located at White House, calabar.

Emerald Citadel School

IMG_20220513_151212_074.jpgWhat3word

This is Emerald Citadel School. It is also located at White House. Started operating last year.

Ja'el Christian School

IMG_20220513_151055_851.jpgWhat3word

This is Ja'el Christian School. Located at Number 73 White House road, Calabar. Has been in operation since 2018. Their standard is very good.


Health Institutions


Government Dental Center

IMG_20220513_150949_196.jpgWhat3word

This is a Government Dental center. Located at Moore Road, Calabar. They specialize in Teeth Matters.

Family Health Clinic

IMG_20220513_150621_119.jpgWhat3word

This is a Family Health Clinic. They specialize in different things, midwifery, children's health, e.t.c.

Ministry of Health

IMG_20220513_151415_423.jpgWhat3word

This is the Ministry of Health located at Moore road. They also have Epidemiology Unit.

This is my City Calabar with Banks, Schools, and Healthcare Centers to explain them.

Sort:  

Wonderful pictures I see here. I have always respected Calabar for it's beauty. One day I will get to visit Calabar.

Thank you @davidalfred

You are always welcome to Calabar any time. Indeed there are beauties here to see.

 2 years ago 

Calabar is a beautiful place to be. I've been there once, though years back. Thank you for showing us your town

Thanks you too for loving the pictures 😊

 2 years ago 

Wow 😲, calabar your city is beautiful.

For the past one year, I spend most of my days in Calabar. I know a few of those places in your article. Calabar is one of the most beautiful places in Nigeria, coupled with its peaceful communities.

Yes you are right. Calabar is indeed beautiful and peaceful

 2 years ago 

I have never been to Calabar, but these pictures confirm what I have already heard that Calabar is a really beautiful place. That Access and GTB bank branches are really large. I love the nice landscape too. GTB is my bank. Maybe I would see this branch anytime I visit Calabar @pearlofwisdom

Wow, thank you sir.

Calabar is indeed beautiful I must say.
Yes their landscapes are really large.
Please come and visit us oo😊

 2 years ago 

Excellent performance, I can't wait to be in Calabar to see all this beautiful places. I love GT bank because of the way they arrange there bank. Please you need to get us the location using what3words. Do you know how to do that?

Club#5050
SteemexclusiveYes
PlagiarismNo
BotsNo
BeneficiariesNo

Good day @chichieze

Thank you for commending my work.
I have added the What3word to my pictures for location clarity.

Using atleast what3word.com or google map to indicate the locations of each of your pictures would have added more more impact to your post.

Good day @ubongudofot

Please check my work again, I have used What3word.com to indicate the locations of each picture.
Thanks for the observation.

You travel to to do your contest, it shows that you really love the platform, the ministry of health

Good day @christybless

I didn't travel to anywhere MA. I stay in Calabar. Just went out to take pictures.
Thank you for stopping by.

Welcome my dear

From your pictures and write up I can tell that calabar is a wonderful place, I enjoyed going around your town with you.

Thanks @estyroberts for going round Calabar with me via my post😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65697.93
ETH 3342.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63