Sucker Punch - 3 times life has given me a really hard knock"

in SteemAlive3 years ago

20210811_101028_0000.png

Introduction

Greeting steemian, how is the week going and hope you've been able to achieved some of your plans for the week? The week is running so fast, visit your plans and ensure to achieve at least 50% of it, it brings fulfilment and sense of purpose, that been said today on my blog I will be talking part in the sucker punch contest. I was a bit emotional reading about the contest because we all go through a lot and try to put a smile on our faces and keep moving.
In my post, I will be talking about the the top three challenges I have been dealing with which includes self esteem, not expressing my feelings, procrastination.

Grab some popcorn and coke and follow me with a open mind.

My top three challenges

  1. Self esteem
  2. Not expressing my feelings
  3. Procrastination

l89Hujga1ej2cXNOee.gif

Self esteem

Self esteem have been a challenge I have battle with for a long time, it started when I was still in my primary school, I'm left handed and I have issues with pronouncing some words. In Nigeria using left to write or eat is like a taboo so while growing up I was beaten a lot to change my left hand to right. I got abuses from teachers and students. it makes me feel like I did not belong because I'm left handed. I would always write my letters and numbers upside down and had issue pronouncing some words. it made me very quiet in class and relating to people was difficult. I tried my best to always be the top in my class but it wasn't enough to make people like me or be my friend. I was always the left handed girl that couldn't speak well. This affected me a lot and my self esteem. it feels like no matter what I do I will never be good enough or be good at anything. I'm 28 years old and most of the time I feel like a failure even with my achievements, nothing is ever good enough . self esteem is a battle I have been dealing with for a long time and even with the fact that I know the root, it has stayed with me for a long time and it's consuming, over the years I have tried numerous things to overcome it. My husband also has been a great help. I'm a Christian, which means I believe that Jesus is a son of God and I believe in God's words,lately that have been my go to for help, the word of God word says I am wonderfully and fearfully made and I believe it. So whenever I feel I am not good enough, I remind myself of God's word about me and it makes it better. I know with time I will get better.

Not expressing my feelings.

Growing up I got into a lot of trouble with my sharp mouth, especially from my brothers because I was always so vocal about things and I got a lot of spanking which made me to keep quiet a lot to avoid beating. This became a lifestyle. The truth is we don't know the damage our upbringing have done in our lives until we still down and reflect on somethings. I will habor my feelings a lot of time just to not have issue with anyone because I was made to believe while growing up that talking about the way you feel gets you into trouble, which makes me bottle up a lot of my feelings and sometimes leads to great outburst that makes people around me wonder where it's coming from. I have deal with emotional break down a lot of time due to this but I have been praying about it and the Holy Spirit is helping me. I also take some practical guides about it, like talking about the way I feel to people who hurt me. I'm still a work in progress but it's getting better day by day.

20210811_101646_0000.png

Procrastination

procrastination have really rob me a lot of things, this is one thing I don't know how to go about. it's a bad habit I will like to overcome.
Procrastination became a threat when I became a mother, because I am tired almost all the time,taking care of a baby is not a joke but that does not mean I should put my life on a hold. A lot of things that I could have easily done in a day but I will procrastination till they become too much for me to handle or meet deadlines. For example this morning I had enough time to do the dishes before going out but I rather procrastinate it to evening that I perfectly know I will be going to church and by the time I come back I will be too tired to do the dishes and that's how the dishes will pill up. Please if you have overcome procrastination, please I need help on how to go about it.

Conclusion

Life is a journey, we meet the good and the bad but if you are still alive there is hope for you. I know I will get better with time and so will you. No matter the challenges you are facing now be rest assured it will get better soon. There is always a way out.


Thank you for reading my post this far and finding it worthy of your time. I hope you didn't finished your coke and popcorn. lol
Special thanks to @steemalive team and @focusnow for the great contest. I sincerely appreciate it.


All image was made from canva app



Best Regards
@peachyladiva

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Wow! Interesting write up.
I admire left handers from way back and always praying to marry one. I have a friend who is also a lefter but her case was different because her father stood by her from day. They even have an association for lefters in Jos. I can connect you.
Also my niece, we allow her do everything she feels like using the left including eating.
Procrastination is a killer disease indeed.
May God help us all.
Well-done ma'am

 3 years ago 

Wow!
That's great, I will think about it... Hahaha
Thank you for your comment.

 3 years ago 

I love to see the lefters write because they take their time to do so, also there is this believe that they are very intelligent, when they stone, they dont miss target...on a funny note, anyone loving from the left ventricle has the true love, you see, no disadvantage at all.

Expressing oneself is good but needs to be done with wisdom and the leading of the spirit, you express yourself to avoid future damage.

Procrastination is a struggle to all but to overcome it, we just need to be intensional about it....if you practice the act of doing things at the set time for about a month it will become part of you

Your writeups are great and so practical.........we move

Steem On

 3 years ago 

Thank you so much for your comment, I really appreciate.

This post has been rewarded by @focusnow from @steemcurator04 Account with support from the Steem Community Curation Project."

Keep posting good content and follow @steemitblog for more updates. Keep on steeming as well as improving your content to get more attention. Thank you, Steemit Team!

 3 years ago 

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60608.55
ETH 2411.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59