7 Day Writing Challenge Day 2- My School History by @patience90

in SteemAlive3 years ago (edited)

0001-6454361290_20210823_142622_0000.png
canva app

Introduction

Hello everyone, it's a brand new day with an interesting topic to share once again.
I am your humble blogger @patience90.

A school is an educational institution designed for teaching and learning at various levels from nursery, primary, secondary to tertiary institution.
Education as an art of learning skills, acquiring knowledge and making friends is essential to our journey of life.
School is one of the places where knowledge is acquired.

Therefore, relax as I take you through the journey of my school history.

Nursery School

I started my nursing school at the age of 4.
I used to be an introvert, therefore, I hardly mingle with fellow pupils.
One of the activities I enjoyed was assembly where we sing a lot of rhymes. My favorite teacher was Mr. Achilonu fondly called principal Konde and the name of the school was Bright Nursery and Primary school Gudi, Akwanga LGA.
We never graduated because the school collapsed. Funny right?

Primary School

Well, I was immediately enrolled into primary 2 in another school and the name is Pilot Science Primary School Gudi-Ginda from January 1997 to July 2001.
One of my favorite teacher was Mrs Allu aka mama Joe. She was my favorite because of her level of tolerance and dedication to her job. There was no dull moment in her class as every child was carried along. Both the introverts like me and low average pupils.
Another favorite was late Mr Vincent Ashiki aka temptation ( he died 2 years back).
That man was the reason why I can read and write today because he made sure almost all the pupils could read in primary 3 and I can vividly recall his words and the exact position he stood when he asked me to read a passage written on the black board. He was extremely amazed to see me who was a staunch introvert read fluently. He said:

Patience, so you can read but you never attempt to raise your hand to talk? I am happy that my labour is not in vain.

Hmm may your soul rest in peace Mr. Vincent aka temptation.

My favorite activities was craft activities when every child will be asked to bring up a craft and practice in school. I always make brooms while some knitted, created cars using guinea corn stem etc.

Secondary School

FB_IMG_16297904580982793.jpg

I attended Government College Nasarawa, Nasarawa State from September 2001 to July 2007.
My secondary was a boarding school.
The spirit of extrovert still followed me down to secondary though I had 3 friends but I was the quiet one.
My favorite teachers were my chief disciplinarian principal, Mr Patrick A. Ogah, Mr Ibrahim (Geography master), Mr. Banji (mathematics teacher) and Mr. Abdulkareem (my form master).
I liked my principal popularly known as Papa P because of his administrative qualities.
My school was of high standard then and we had about 76 teaching staff, 5 security men, 11 cooks, 6 non academic staff and numerous youth corpers.
There is hardly a class without a teacher during classes because he goes round the large school to make sure of that with the help of his 2 vice and dean of studies.
He appreciates his teachers with awards such as :

  • Best dressed teacher for both male and female.
  • The neatest teacher
    *Most hard working
  • Most disciplined, etc.
FB_IMG_16297961908794120.jpgFB_IMG_16297962066673263.jpg

Secondary school days

Students are not left behind in his awards.
My secondary was so up to standard that 79% of the students are residence of the FCT Abuja.
One of my friends was a daughter of the then serving senator and another a daughter of an emir from Taraba state.
That's the evidence of good work from my principal.

Apart from the academic activities, one of my favorite activities was students week where students were involved in different extra curricular activities such as sports, traditional dances, social night for debate and quiz, and several others.
There was never a dull moment in my school.
I can never conclude without talking about my school uniforms.
I love the colours because it makes the school compound beautiful and colourful.

University

FB_IMG_16297905185833820.jpg

University of Jos
I attended the prestigious University of Jos in Plateau State and studied Educational Administration and Planning with English language minor.
University journey was not a smooth one because the whole my 200 level department results got missing and I was so depressed and nothing was done about it. I went into depression but I had to resit for all those courses with 4 credit load.
It was devastating and I hated school at that period.
I made quite number of friends though only 2 are still the best and closest.
My favorite lecturer was Dr Mrs Victoria Ahupa. An iron lady with intelligence.
The only activity I enjoyed was season of praise organized by the school chapel.
No other extra curricular activity excite me because I prefer my sleep to staying out late in the name of students week.

FB_IMG_16297963637178921.jpgFB_IMG_16297962303480616.jpg

University days

Conclusion

I truly want to appreciate the leadership of @steemalive for taking me down Memory Lane. I kept smiling while writing though a little drop of tears for some who passed away already.
Thanks for bringing back memories.

Cc: @SteemAlive
@focusnow
@samuel20
@talktofaith
@ngoenyi

Best regards
@patience90

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

My dear, secondary School life is the best,you make me remembered olden days , nice one.

 3 years ago 

Yes oo. Secondary School life is the best.

@patience90, school days are good to remember especially when you have some pictures around.

I was never a boarder, but student's week in school then was so fun. Those memories can never be forgotten. I wish you success in this contest.

Am sure gonna make my entry soon.

 3 years ago 

Thanks dear.
Best of luck to us all.
Can't wait to read yours

 3 years ago 

Exactly this contest brings back,lovely and sad memories, but its a good one.

 3 years ago 

Thanks for reading

Interesting story. We spend at least 16 years of our lives schooling, as a result we are influenced to a great extent by the personality of our teachers. Mr Vincent is one of our senior staff where i work before his demise he is a nice man. God rest his soul. Its sad to hear of your result missing, and you have to suffer again to resit. We all had one problem or the other studying at Unijos, yet we came out good. Great Josite.

 3 years ago 

Thanks for dropping by.
I never knew you worked with Mr Vincent.
He was my only primary school teacher who never forgot my name till his demise.

You are indeed a hidden genius when it comes to writing. No one would have known you if not for steemit. Keep on steeming @patience90, you are good at this. Nice write up you gat here. You indeed passed through schools.

 3 years ago 

Thank you sir and all thanks to @charis20 for introducing me to where I can confidently share my hidden potentials.

 3 years ago 

Thanks to you too for staying committed to the platform.

 3 years ago 

Thanks for the encouragement from you able coordinator

You have really had an interesting educational career. Many of the teachers had exceptional qualities which helped many of us develop as a person.

I am glad you gained from their bowl of knowledge.
All the best my dear.

 3 years ago 

Thanks for reading.
Looking forward to reading yours too.

 3 years ago 

@patience you just rememberd me of my school days it was really fun i guess it was the best so far,nice entry dear.

 3 years ago 

Thanks for reading.
Waiting to read yours

School is one place we have loads of memories from. And pictures tell alot about it . Your school history is good, you had loads of fun.

 3 years ago 

Thanks for reading.
School is where everyone should pass through if possible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58140.63
ETH 3077.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33