SteemAlive present ReadNWrite. Improve your health by reducing or Eliminating stress.

in SteemAlive2 years ago

IMG_20220708_182147.jpg
stressful face

INTRODUCTION

How is everyone doing today, i hope you doing so well. Lets discuss about stress, from this our discussion you will find out my stress story.

What is stress

Stress can be seen as any type of change that causes physical, emotional, or psychological pressure.Stress occurs when there is a change in one's body which leads to strain and affects one's emotionally,physically or psychologically. It is a state of not been ok in one's body which may lead to breakdown in one's activities everyday.

The cause of stress

Stress can be caused by so many different things in life. Some of the main causes of stress include work, finances, relationships, parenting, and day-to-day inconveniences.

  • Work: When one overworks more than his or her capacity; there is a high tendency that the person must have strained his or her body which is not used to such and this can make the person to become weak and restless.
  • Finances: When one is financially challenged and faced with some financial constraints, he/she may over worry or think to the extent that he may sum up courage to what he may not have really wanted to do. Thus, he becomes frustrated and angry and most times worried about his condition.
  • Relationships: Most relationships are burdens and stress on its own. When a relationship is not fulfilling the reason for which it was meant for there might be changes in one's body either physically. mentally and emotionally because of anger, depression and weight loss and most times such persons develop high blood pressure due to over thinking.
  • Parenting: this is also one of the causes of stress. For most parents who are new in the system they may find it difficult to adapt to all the challenges accompanied with parenting especially when such is a single parent. The inconveniences encountered during parenting especially for the women are immeasurable and most times they loose their life in the process due to depression and anxiety. Also, most times pregnant women become moody and irritated at most things and some mothers may not even have time to take adequate care of themselves.
  • Inconveniences: there are so many day to day activities that causes stress to the body. And ths may deny one the time to rest and have fun as usual. People who are with these day to day inconveniences may rely on drugs and alcohol to cope, some may have poor memory in remembering, while others may end up developing poor libido and ill health at the end of the day.

The dangers of stress

Stress can trigger the body’s response to a perceived threat or danger, known as the fight-or-flight response. During this reaction, certain hormones like adrenaline and cortisol are released. This speeds the heart rate, slows digestion, shunts blood flow to major muscle groups, and changes various other autonomic nervous functions, giving the body a burst of energy and strength. When the perceived threat is gone, systems are designed to return to normal function via the relaxation response. But in cases of chronic stress, the relaxation response doesn't occur often enough, and being in a near-constant state of fight-or-flight can cause damage to the body.Stress can also lead to some unhealthy habits that have a negative impact on your health. For example, many people cope with stress by eating too much or by smoking. These unhealthy habits damage the body and create bigger problems in the long-term.

The symptoms of stress

The physical symptoms one may experience when stressed up include:

  • Aches and pains in chest, shoulders and back.
  • Exhaustion and sleeplessness
  • Headaches, dizziness or shaking.
  • High blood pressure.
  • Muscle tension or jaw clenching.
  • Stomach or digestive problems.
  • Trouble having sex.
  • Weak immune system.
    Stress can also lead to emotional and mental symptoms like:
    Anxiety or irritability.
    Depression.
    Panic attacks.
    Sadness.

The ways to manage stress

Exercise when you feel symptoms of stress coming on. A short walk or jogging can go a long way to help.
At the end of each day, take a moment to think about what you’ve accomplished — not what you didn’t get done because tomorrow is another day, always be positive and appreciate yourself for what you've achieved each day.
Set goals for your day, week and month. Narrowing your view will help you feel more in control of the moment and long-term tasks.
Consider talking to a therapist or your healthcare provider about your worries and challenges.
Take good care of yourself by eating balanced diet and having good rest and sleep each day.
Stay connected with people who keep you calm, make you happy, provide emotional support and help you with practical things. A friend, family member or neighbor can become a good listener or share responsibilities so that stress doesn’t become overwhelming.

The most stressful period of my life and how I overcame

Most times we face and encounter challenges and in such times we think that it is the end of the world. One must pass through hard times in life and this help to build one up for a better future and testimonies to encourage others who are currently passing through similar hard times.
Moreover, I passed through some period of stress which has helped to build me up today. It all started when I was still in the university in my second year that my father lost his Business and things became so hard for me. Paying my first semester's fees, house rent and other dues became a very big challenge. There was no one to call for help, no relative or friend was ready to help. I became so confused, frustrated and lost in thoughts and I prayed that this world should come to an end. I decided to go and suspend my studies for that year but a friend of mine opposed and encouraged me to have hope that all will be well. I had to go to my student fellowship ( Adventist Student Fellowship) where I worshipped, I explained everything to them and they had pity on me and raised some money which I used to pay my fees.
I started applying for jobs everywhere that I saw job vacancy and even told my friends too to help me find one as well. I was informed from one of the places where I had applied to come for interview and luckily for me I got the job. Despite the pay wasn't okay for me but I had to manage it for my upkeep.
As hectic as it was for me, attending classes and work at the same time, it wasn't a good one. After the long day's work, I'll have to get note from my friends to copy and also read as well. My friends complained so much that I've demaciated so much due to stress. I couldn't help the situation but kept crying to God everyday for help. Most times I missed classes and I almost missed test one day and it aIl got to a stage where one of my lecturers called me to her office and asked what the challenge was because she noticed I've not been performing well that it's unike me and that she rarely sees me in school. After I told her everything I've been passing through, I noticed sadness boldly written on her face, she felt sorry for me and asked me to apply for one scholarship which was ongoing. I applied and went for the exams and God helped me I passed and I was selected. I started getting relieved of some of my responsibilities like paying of school fees. My sleepless nights minimised as I paid more attention to my studies. Despite my cumulative grade point average was affected during the hard times and the frustration I was battling with then. I decided and determined that I will surely make it up in my year three.
Now my father has gotten a new business which is doing well now, I was so happy and excited that God had answered my prayers, I was so relieved and I quitted the job I was doing and now concentrated on my studies.

Conclusion:

Good health is the key in everything one does. We shouldn't over stress ourselves more than our capacity because of riches or whatever the case maybe. Let's try to have enough rest each day and eat a good food to keep healthy. Let's keep fit and worry less.

Specoal mention
@steemalive
@sammylove
@chichieze
@null

Sort:  

@okere-blessing,thank you for this nice post as we have all learnt about stress and also the ways we can use to eliminate them.

 2 years ago 

Relationships: Most relationships are burdens and stress on its own. When a relationship is not fulfilling the reason for which it was meant for there might be changes in one's body either physically. mentally and emotionally because of anger, depression and weight loss and most times such persons develop high blood pressure due to over thinking.

This is the most painful thing that could happen to someone and the stress is great. I wish that those passing through such stress can go through this post.

  • @okere-blessing, do you know that if you can power up only but 12 steem, you will be in club75? I wish you can do so.

Checking the rules

CriteriaRating
Club5050
Plagiarism-free✔️
SteemExclusive✔️
Bot-free✔️

Checking Post Quality

CriteriaRating
Compliance with Topic2/2.5
Use of Markdown1.5/2.5
Spelling and Grammar2/2.5
Content Depth1.5/2.5
Total7/10
 2 years ago 

Do you know that if you can power up only but 12 steem, you will be in club75? I wish you can do so.

Seriously ok thanks

 2 years ago 

2.jpg
We have supported this post. Keep on making great content in our community. Always check @steemalive for community updates. Thank you being an active member.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64118.76
ETH 3519.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55