Ancient & Modern - See some of my old items and the new ones 10% to @steemalive

in SteemAlive3 years ago (edited)

PhotoCollage_1645471885691.png

Introduction

Steemit lines.png

Beautiful greetings everyone,I hope my felicitation meets you well. As usual it's another one of @steemalive contest and this one really excites me because I have a few things old and modern to show you. Here they are.

The first Ancient and modern I'll be showing you is our kerosene lantern$ vs rechargable lamp.
I seriously searched the house for our atukwa(oil lamp) but couldn't find it

I remember my mum always lighting the kerosene lamp as early as 4am in the morning back in the village so she could go to the kitchen at the back of the house to put on fire. Even though the light it cast was just enough to see the foot in front of you,it was a treasure as we never had light by that time of day in the village. Today the rechargable lamp is doing the same work but better as it can light up an entire room without casting shadows,besides it's cost effective as all that's needed to sustain the rechargable lamp is just plug to a power source and it'll charge as opposed to the kerosene lamp that if one has no kerosene,you can't light the lamp

The old kerosene lamp was bought at our village market called 'Orie Obibi' at the price of 250naira which is 1 steem while the new rechargable lamp was bought at an electronics store here in Owerri for 1000 naira( which is 4steem at the time of this post).

I've used the kerosene lamp for years as it has served faithfully while I've just used the rechargable lamp for roughly 2years with careful handling. While the new rechargable lamp is of a greater quality than the kerosene lamp and offers more illumination,if not handled with care it is prone to spoiling faster, besides a change in the electricity voltage can even spoil it,although it's cost effective as all one need do is charge it and there's light,Unlike the kerosene lamp which if one runs out of kerosene and/or doesn't have money to buy no light. Besides if the kerosene bulb gets broken or cracked it can be replaced with another bulb for 0.500 steem. Also if the lamp ropes burn out it can be easily changed as the ropes were readily available.

The Next item on my list is our ancient black and white television and our modern LED TV.

Steemit lines.png

I honestly don't know when black and white television came into existence but I can tell you about my experiences with it.

IMG_20220219_071923.jpg

I remember one day while I was still a kid,my parents had left the house with strict instructions that I and my brother were not to leave the house for any reason. We obeyed at first till we heard the sound of a movie coming from the black and white tv of one of our neighbors. They were seeing a film so we hurriedly took 5 minutes to walk over to their house and peep from the window. Unluckily for us that was the time my parents decided to come home to find the house locked and we in our neighbors house watching TV. I can't ever forget the beatings I received that day when I came home 😂😂😩 but afterwards my dad bought our first black and white tv at an electronics shop in Lagos State.

After we moved to the East and newer and better tv came out,we then bought the LED TV from an LG electronics store.

IMG_20220219_072021.jpg

Both TV's were purchased individually for nothing less than 25,000 naira which equates 100 steem at the time of writing this post

The white and black tv had been in use for over 10years before we bought the LED TV and stopped using it. I believe it's still operational and one day I'll try switching it on😁 just to see it once again and have that childhood feel because though it reminds me of my little days,the LED offers better picture quality to visual display as the black and white tv can only show you images in black and white -

Another durable quality of the black and white tv is that it's outer coting was strong, even stronger than the LED though we never tried to test it's strength borders ,but where strength of the black and white tv beats the LED,the LED has a larger range of offers. It isn't limited to being connected to a DVD player as the LED comes with inbuilt Bluetooth,audio,flashdrive,USB cord connections allowing one play audios or visuals independent of an external dvd.
While I'll forever cherish the black and white tv and even find a way to preserve it to show my kids, the wider range of options provided by the LED can't just go unnoticed.

Moving To the Last ancient and modern item,on my list is my ancient shoe popularly called 'Akpoola' and my modern 'Koikoi shoe'

Steemit lines.png

My Koikoi

One reason I wear shoes now is for comfort and sometimes style,but that wasn't always the case as I remember growing mum had the final say in my wardrobe matters😂. Needless to say she felt the 'Akpoola' was the 'in' thing at that point so that's what I wore. As I advanced in age and started purchaing my own things that's when I bought my Koikoi shoe. Lol 😂

Both my Akpoola and My Koikoi shoe were bought in the local Owerri market called Ekwukwu Owerri from vendors who sell shoes known as 'Ok' shoes.

My Akpoola

These shoes are durable and fit the terrain and roads of my country. My Akpoola was bought for 800naira which is equivalent to 3.1 steem and it lasted for 2 years before it started peeling off and spoiling,while my Koikoi shoe was bought for 2500 naira which is 10steem at the time of this post.

I really hope you enjoyed reading about my ancient and modern items. Bye for now.

Sort:  

2.jpg
We have supported this post. Keep on making great content in our community. Always check @steemalive for community updates. Thank you being an active member.

Ngo bae, I like that your koikoi shoe 👠, in fact no one else can beat me in wearing koikoi shoe 👠 back in the days. Now I can't try am oooooooo.

 3 years ago 

Lol @meymeyshops these days everyone is just calming down 🤣

 3 years ago 

Are you sure that lantern is not mine, because I couldn't find mine to write about it 😭.
Even if you on that small TV, you won't enjoy watching it because your eyes are already used to the bigger one.
Best wishes

 3 years ago 

Thanks for participating @ngozi996

ClubPlagiarized?SteemExclusive?Used Bidbot?
5050NoYesNo

Keep posting quality content, thanks once more ...

 3 years ago 

Wow!! Thank God this contest has made everything open and every body is scratching and bringing out all those analogue ancient items that had been forgotten. 😁😁😁😌, Una well done oooo.

Wow, that's quite a collection you have there of ancient stuff. It's so easy this days to forget the items we use those days because of the fleeting technology. At least it gave you a bit of nostalgia. Well constructed.

So you follow had an akpoola shoe, the she really makes sense then, thank you for sharing with us

That kerosene lantern got me laughing 😄
Thanks for making me happy this evening with your entry.
And as for the new pair of shoes I remember when I had that kind of shoe too!

Goodluck in the contest..

 3 years ago 

@ngozi996 this your Akpoola makes sense die ennhh, but its still fine ooo except that dog can pursue someone if you wear it out. My sister just keep it safe for future reference. Thanks so much.

Wow, that's quite a collection you have there of ancient stuff. It's so easy this days to forget the items we use those days because of the fleeting technology. At least it gave you a bit of nostalgia. Well constructed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62978.31
ETH 2546.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76