Steemalive presents: prowritersHub (w2)-what is in a name- local names, popular names and the act of naming| by @morgan76 10% to steemalivesteemCreated with Sketch.

in SteemAlive2 years ago (edited)
greetings everyone how are you guys doing hope you all are doing fine and streaming on. I welcome you all to the prowritershub w2 contest organized by @steemalive so today am to look for into the topic what is your name- local name, popular name and the act of naming in this article am going to tell all about my name and how we name people in our place but let me start with my name.

images (4).jpeg
Source

introduction

yes as we all know everything in this world have a name w wether good, bad or living and nonliving the must be name attached to it.
let look into the meaning of name first
"
NAME": name is a word giving to a person or things to be well address or referred to,it can be anything you can go Imagine.
naming so important to people that is why a lot of family don't joke with name, even when we all have the same surname we still have our original names.

my three names as costom demands

I'm know in formal place as prince morgan Christian I don't really have an native name bass on my grandfather was not answering an English name even my father.
so the following are the meaning of my name!
Prince : prince which is my first name is not really a name for everyone , prince is supposed to be given to a male royatty family members.
my name was given to by a chief, who is a friend to my father and he was so happy that my father have a son, so he decided to give me a name.

morgan: the name morgan is not really a popular name, it mean "sea born" "sea born" or "sea circle" according to Google it a traditionally a boy's name of welsh origin.
I also find out that this name morgan giving to male child is now giving to a female child this recent years

christian : this name come from a latin word which means "followers of Christ" just the way the word Christian does in English origin.

I also have name my grandmother gave is called "uyo-obong" which means the voice of God that is the name she call me anytime I travel to the village.

my ethics in my locality

in my side there is this pattern of giving a child name we used in naming it is a tradition, the name people according to when and how the gave birth to you maybe at, night, daytime,in the hospital,in the church, good way, bad boys,in the market etc. in our side a child is named after seven of birth.
in akaw ibom we have a lot of names, this names may sound stupid but the have wonderful meaning, the following are the names in akaw ibom.

male namesmeaning
apanfirst son
Ndiana abassycloser to God
Akanwinner
okonat night
ubouk obonghand of God
uyo-obongvoice of God
Ukemeability
the following are names for females
female namesmeaning
Udauk abassythe will of God
ima-obongloveth
Enogift
Emediogyou are blessed
Eti-imagood love
Eti-enogood gift

you can see we have a lot of names with awesome meanings, I so much love the name " uyo-obong" voice of God like I said it the name my grandmother gave to me.

got a name for myself

when I grow up and understand that prince is not a name prince is just like a title I decided to change to my middle which is"morgan" and that is the I have used to open all my social media accounts, a lot of people also called me morgan

my steemit username

like I said earlier I use morgan in my social media is either I add prince to it or number so when I wanted to open my steemit account, morgan didn't work because it have been used by another users so I have to add figure to it that is how get the name @morgan76 as my steemit name.

Conclusion

name is very important a lot of know people by their names especially when it comes to twins you can identify by their names.
I also believe everything around us also have a name.
I appreciate everyone that go through my post thanks
Special mention :
@ijelady
@ijebest
@focusnow
@steemalive

Sort:  
 2 years ago (edited)

Thank you for participating in the contest.Name mean many things to many people and so they are careful with the kind of names they give to their children.Although personally,I don't believe that names affect humans.

I know someone that bears ukeme and I am happy to learn the meaning of that particular name from this post.

Checking the rules

CriteriaRating
Club75
Plagiarism-free✔️
SteemExclusive✔️
Bot-free✔️

Checking Post Quality

CriteriaRating
Compliance with Topic2/2.5
Use of Markdown1.8/2.5
Spelling and Grammar2/2.5
Content Depth2/2.5
Total7.8/10
 2 years ago 

Thanks for going through my post, but sir my grandmother always tell me that names affects people.

 2 years ago 

When giving children name we should be very careful before doing that because there name speaks for them, through there names they can be favoured and also names brings bad luck

 2 years ago 

@emmanu do you believe that names affects a lot of people, it even bring back luck.
but is not everyone that believe in that bro because there is this thing the normally said that what you believe is what works for you.

Nice 😂😂 am very happy that I have been learning some names in your language before if I hear this names i will be laughing at that person that answers the because the way it sounds in my ear, and the reason why I laughed at the is because I don't know the meaning but now I have learnt at least I have know the meaning of ukeme, apan, okon, akan and so on.thanks @morgan for participating in this naming contest

 2 years ago 

you God you have understand the meaning of our names so stopped laughing our names 🤣😅
I just followed you make sure you back.

 2 years ago 

Learning from you the names of answered by people in your hometown is really good as we can now find it easy to cop with people when we go there.

The name I love so much is Eti-ama, because the meaning just made me run mad,I think I will.call my child with that name in the future.

 2 years ago 

I love this name morgan. My course mate then was answering this name. And the guy was very handsome. I noticed that some other people with that name are handsome too. That makes me to love the name.

 2 years ago 

Hmmm, thanks.
is not a regular name Sha.

2.jpg
We have supported this post. Keep on making great content in our community. Always check @steemalive for community updates. Thank you being an active member.

 2 years ago 

Thanks for supporting my post.

4a.jpg

Congratulations! This article has been manually curated using our community account. Always publish great content, free of plagiarism and make sure you are participating in club5050, club75 or club100. Congratulations once again, hoping to see your next publication soonest!

Curation by: @focusnow20
For: Steemalive

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67112.11
ETH 2610.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67