7days writing challenge//My School History/@mikemm/25/08/2021/

in SteemAlive3 years ago
Hello everyone am fascinated about this topic and i am ready to give you an in-depth report about school history.

Primary School

I started my primary school in 1983 at Army Children School 32 Airborne Bridge North Bank, Makurdi, Benue State.

My school was in an Army Barrack. I remember vividly coming to school seeing the soldiers doing their early morning parade. I was in primary 1A.

The name of my teacher was mr. Kenneth but we call him mr. "Kenge kenge" because he usually flogs late comers to his class.

Every morning we attended the morning devotion and sang the hymns and other songs we were taught by our headmaster. Our headmaster was a very tall man.He comes to school with his Vespa. He was always punctual and had a good command of the English language. I can still remember one of the song we taught.

Heres the wordings:
Mother: "where have you been Lord Randol my son."
"Where have you been my handsome, young man". Randol then replied:" i have been in the well wood mother make my bed soon cos i am weary with ransom and i want to lie down" end of song.

Some few meters around my school is another school called Rosemary Primary School. They were our rivals. We always clashed everytime we meet. It could be when coming to school or the closing period. Their uniform was strip check top and blue short or skirt for the girls while ours was green upon green.

There was so much fun in school that i found it hard to miss a day even if i was sick. We had pupils from different backgrounds and personalities. Rich, clean, dirty and intelligent. I was very intelligent that i used one year for three classes. I was promoted to primary two and three the same year.

My best times in school were when we had our parades in preparation for independence day parade or for childrens day parade.

There was also fun when our teachers had meeting with the headmaster. Or during break periods. Once the bell rang, there was rushing noisy atmosphere like when the bees are attacking.

We had a mini market known as "mami market" there we spent our little coins. There was 5 kobo, 10 kobo, 25 kobo, 50 kobo and 1 naira note. Also when it rains, there were no lessons and the class will be ungovernable.

I had a favorite teacher whose name was mr. Mensah, he was a Ghanaian. He taught us arithmetic . And was always wearing big "bongo trousers" which made us laugh. He has a Ghanaian accent. He was very good in teaching.
I graduated in the year 1988 with my First Leaving School Certificate.

I had many friends both boys and girls. My best friend was Joseph Francis. We lived in the same street and played together in the evenings.

Secondary School

In 1992 i started my secondary at Ngwa High School Abayi, Aba, Abia State.what3word

The name of my principal was Mr.Enyemanna. He was a short man and very tough. I was in the dormitory. Boarding school life was tough. The senior students were always flogging the junior students.
Our dormitory was designed as rooms. We where four in a room with two single bunks. We were constantly alert. You had to. If not, your belongings will be stolen from you. To safeguard our properties we had to put markings or paintings. That included spoons, fork, buckets, foams and pillows .

Daily, we woke up by 5am(it was compulsory) and gather for morning and prayers. The senior prefect will address and give the rules governing the hostel.

me and my fellow students

My funniest memory was when all secondary schools in Aba converged to protest against the increased price of transportation which rose from 50 kobo to one naira. Then Abia state was governed by one military administrator known as Colonel Ike Nwaosu.
Somehow i didn't finish at Ngwa High School I left for Lagos. In Lagos, i attended
Mobolaji Bank Anthony Secondary School
Sabo, Yaba. I had two interesting friends Aminu and Ade. Together they use to call us Nigeria because i was Igbo, Aminu was Hausa and Ade was Yoruba. Even though was happy in my new school, i still preferred my alma mater.

Higher Institution History

In 1998, i got an admission into Economic Institute (A Resource Center for Economic & Business Studies ) Garki II, Abuja FCT, to study Business Administration and Management. It was a two years program.

I lived off campus in a village called Kpeyegwi. We had wonderful experience. I finally graduated with ND OND Diploma in Business Administration and Management.

Conclusion

I have discovered that most of our personalities are formed during our school years, the experiences acquired in the schooling environment,the friendships, the competition in all facets of education builds a large bulk of sweet memories that will be treasured for life.
Thanks.

Sort:  

This post has been rewarded by @focusnow from @steemcurator04 Account with support from the Steem Community Curation Project."

Keep posting good content and follow @steemitblog for more updates. Thank you.

@focusnow thank you for reading reading and voting my post. I will try to be making quality posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58140.63
ETH 3077.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33