7 days writing challenge /Day 7/ A Memorial Day In My Life :My wedding day @mikemm 29/8/21

in SteemAlive3 years ago
Good day to all of us in steemalive. It's a pleasure to be back in this forum.

From the day we were born, we begin building up a reservoir of memories. This memories are stored up in our subconscious minds. Which can be replayed anytime we need to. Good memories when replayed or reflected upon, makes us happy. For me , one of my memorable day was in August 31st , 2019. The day i got married to my wife @beautybb.

Preparations on the D-Day

On the morning of my wedding day, my compound in Mgboko Okpulor village in Obingwa L.G.A was busting with activities. My friends and well-wishers were trooping in and out of the compound. The activities included counting and making ready all the items that was required for the wedding. We had palm-wine in two jars, crates of beers, a live goat, tubers of yams, cola-nuts, garden egg etc.

There was two 14 seater buses ready to convey people to the venue. There was also another car to convey me the bride groom. They women were also preparing too. They were singing in our native dialect a song of how i have grown to a man that is ready to take up the mantle of leadership of my family, the Nwagbara clan.

As the first born of seven, it was very important that i get married. In my tradition, one is not considered responsible or given any reputable position(s) except he is married. To them marriage serves as a deterrent to commiting crime, because a married man will first of all think of his family, before thinking of commiting a crime.

After much preparation it was now time to go to my wife's village Ntigha Umuaro, also in Obingwa L.G.A of Abia state.

On arriving to her place , there was a big preparation going on there too. We were on a convoy of 5 vehicles. Infact, the compound was full to the brim. When we were spotted from a far , the DJ started to play the music.

Their compound was decorated and graced for the occasion with about six sections of canopies. Their was one for the inlaws and a mini one for the to-be married couple.

The wedding Rites Begins

As soon as we arrived and settled down, there came a very heavy downpour. It was surprising to everyone because no one expected a downpour. I prayed to God in my heart to keep the rain in check and at bay. God answer me. And the ceremony began.

Bride Identifying her groom

After the chairmans opening speech and prayer, my wife was asked to identify her husband to be. She was to take fresh palm-wine in a cup to search and identify me. It must be me and it was me.

On finding me, am required to drink up the wine, thereby signaling to the public that i am her husband and heart desire. Everyone applauded and i was official declared her husband.

Its a day i'll never forget. Reflecting on that occasion alone gives me great joy and fulfillment.
IMG_20210829_230155_829.jpg

After the ceremony i took my beautiful wife and went to a hotel we had booked for our honey mooney.
IMG_20210829_230301_632.jpg
My beautiful queen @beautybb

Conclusion

In my life so far, i have had scores of memorable experiences and moments but non is to be compared and imprinted on my mind than my wedding day.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

It is true in far more than one way, getting married has put many men on a leash as if they were gaged.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58140.63
ETH 3077.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33