=7 Days Writing Challenge Day 2/ My job history /@mikemm/ 24/08/2021

in SteemAlive3 years ago (edited)
Once again it's a pleasure to be here to share with you some job i had ever done.

Looking for and finding a job that befits persons leaving with disability is not always easy you know why? Work requires actual manpower, presence and sometimes physicality. This is not to say that these are criteria s for all job. I Am quite aware that some job requires only mental intuition not "raw power". I fall in that category that uses my brain than my physical strength.

Job 1: Managing a sports view center

After graduating from high institution in 2006, in Abuja, i was called by a friend to establish and manage a his viewing center. He charged me the task of managing everything from construction to management of funds. Its was trust in action.
As a football lover and a fan of my favorite club Liverpool FC which slogan is " you never walk alone". I sprang into action by notifying my neighbors of a new sporting viewing Center.

It was a welcomed development because in that community we use to go out of environment to watch football .
I made a feasibility study of the cost of the project and furniture required. Putting all my management skill and social skills, i got the ball rolling.

After a few weeks of construction, it sprang to life. Interestingly, it was open on the day my club was a strong rival.
I went an a publicity campaign hours before starting the opening ceremony. Many people won free tickets .

My job requirements included the following:

• Ensuring that the hall( of a hundred man capacity) was clean, benches wiped .
• Making sure that the standby generator was operational in the case of a power outage.
• Enforcement of payment for viewing matches.
• Making sure the television sets were working and to call the technician if any needs repairs.
• To create and ensure a friendly and relaxed atmosphere .
• To make sure match fixtures were on the board.
I really enjoyed my work it helped me work on my human relationship. I am planning to open one here in Surulere if we go past the COVID-19 era.

My Second Job: Phone operator

In the early days of GSM( Global System for Mobile Communications) in Nigeria, i worked as a mobile phone call operator. You all know what was involved.
Having an umbrella, a table and a few chairs or a bench. People came to make or receive calls, buy credit card vouchers and i get paid. I made a lot money especially if the caller had not made up to minutes call. The cost was 20 naira per minute call.
Nowadays, everyone now have their one mobile phones so that business has faced out.

My 3rd Job: Cobbling

I now drifted into cobbling which is making shoes, sandals and other leader work. It was a good job for me because it brought out the creativity and artistry in me. I couldn't cope because the tools use were so how archaic. I haven't given up on it cos i plan to modern tools for shoe making.

My Present Job Thrift Collector

I am into micro financing and daily contribution popularly know here as "Ajor". It requires that i ride to meet my customers in their shops, restaurants, workshop and market place. It's a type of networking business. The more customers you get the more money you make. I love the job because it give people the opportunity to save and get paid at the end of the month. It make me happy to see people happy and smiling when the save what the would have wasted ordinarily .
We also give loans to our longtime and highly esteemed customers.

Conclusion

We all know the benefits of our job principally for providing for ourselves and our family. It's better to do menial jobs than to steal.
Thanks.

Sort:  

One thing I believe in life is, whatever you do, try to be the best of you in that aspect. Don't do it because you don't have choice.

As a cobbler then, I knew you had to put in your best to make out the best in you. You might not have studied it anywhere but it all depends on the individual.

I also love the fact that you worked so hard to succeed in life.

It's a good you shared with us....

I truly am happy for reading my post. Am grateful.

 3 years ago 

Jehovah will bless all your endeavors to take care of me

@focusnow thank you i appreciate so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58140.63
ETH 3077.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33