THE DIARY GAME: MY FIRST SATURDAY IN NYSC CAMP | BY @MAZIKENECHUKWU | 29/11/2021

in SteemAlive3 years ago

IMG_20210731_094142_856.jpg

Greetings Steemians, I believe you are doing well and most importantly, your fingers are being exercised with your astonishing knowledge signals from your mind as you share them here. I'm glad to have a scholar like you drop by to glance through my post. I will be sharing my first Saturday experience in NYSC camp, Kusallah Dam Karaye, Kano State, Nigeria.

8SzwQc8j2KJZWBXFXnbnQ1FtoZhRqrTWozhqoqWHpGmpmoBsdBtkV8wv62o1VqmSKYBkES6mnZ4KnZFJohv9N1LAN9Ghm4475PShL7otwA8kMxB2eVt.jpeg

THE JOURNEY

Leaving home to a far distant city where everyone is a stranger was a very discomforting event but I pulled through because my home went with me.

Home is a blueprint of memory...Finding home is crucial to the act of writing. Begin here. With what you know. With the tales you've told dozens of times...with the map you've already made in your heart. That's where the real home is: inside. If we carry that home with us all the time, we'll be able to take more risks. We can leave on wild excursions, knowing we'll return home. _Georgia Heard

My arrival at the camp was on Friday night. I was checked into a hostel where I passed the night and stayed throughout my camping.

8SzwQc8j2KJZWBXFXnbnQ1FtoZhRqrTWozhqoqWHpGmpmoBsdBtkV8wv62o1VqmSKYBkES6mnZ4KnZFJohv9N1LAN9Ghm4475PShL7otwA8kMxB2eVt.jpeg

REGISTRATION AND DOCUMENTATION

In the morning of the next day, Saturday, I did my registration and documentation which is the next thing to do after arrival. The whole process was smooth and fast.

After the registration, I was referred to my platoon stand where I completed the remaining part of the documentation such as NYSC kits collection, bank account opening, etc. I couldn't wait till evening to look like a bonafide corp member in the camp. The white NYSC kits were looking good on me. It reminded my high school days as a boarder.

PSX_20211127_212550.jpg

8SzwQc8j2KJZWBXFXnbnQ1FtoZhRqrTWozhqoqWHpGmpmoBsdBtkV8wv62o1VqmSKYBkES6mnZ4KnZFJohv9N1LAN9Ghm4475PShL7otwA8kMxB2eVt.jpeg

SPORTS TIME

As a gregarious person I am, it took me nothing to identify with my fellow platoon 10 members, males particularly. The next thing was sports.

I love football, football is my life. _Wayne Rooney
I can't imagine myself saying no to a football invitation. Honestly, it was a wonderful experience.

IMG_20210803_082941_294.jpg

8SzwQc8j2KJZWBXFXnbnQ1FtoZhRqrTWozhqoqWHpGmpmoBsdBtkV8wv62o1VqmSKYBkES6mnZ4KnZFJohv9N1LAN9Ghm4475PShL7otwA8kMxB2eVt.jpeg

CONCLUSION

PSX_20211127_211935.jpg

My Saturday activities were rounded off at the field for a parade drill. All corp members were called out to the parade ground for swearing rehearsal and few parade drills. I felt like a military recruit in training. Nevertheless, I enjoyed the moment. What I anticipated was the reverse of what I experienced in my first day in NYSC camp.

Thank you for reading.

Cc:
@steemalive
@ngoenyi
@focusnow
@samuel20

Sort:  

2.jpg
We have supported this post. Keep on making great content in our community. Always check @steemalive for community updates. Thank you being an active member.

Greetings ma...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61952.36
ETH 2417.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64