LOOKING BACK ||( 2015-2016) MY DREAM COME TRUE AS A TEACHER || BY @mazikenechukwu || 4TH DECEMBER 2021

in SteemAlive2 years ago

IMG_20210713_151729_539.jpg

INTRODUCTION


I had always anticipated and waited for an opportunity to share one of my best memories between 2015-2016. Being a lover of children, I had always desired to be a children's instructor directly or indirectly until September 2015 when it became a reality.

JvFFVmatwWHRfvmtd53nmEJ94xpKydwmbSC5H5svBACH7xrFmH9XZyDU2BfNUYXMz6Z7gYibcPUKYsNQVhBdZC9a6RMJDXwberkCiTB9jEfw72kA4xzkfkAfLm54hs2DEeMPeeUqiv.jpeg

HOW I GOT MY JOB AS A BASIC SCHOOL TEACHER


In the later days of August, 2015, I met my ex-boss in church (we worship in the same church) after hearing the vacancy in her Primary school for teachers. After exchanging pleasantries, I communicated my interest to her which she was pleased with although I only have my O'level certificate as at that time. She fixed an interview appointment with me which I honoured and performed excellently beyond her expectations. Hence, I was assigned the nursery three (3) children to instruct.

JvFFVmatwWHRfvmtd53nmEJ94xpKydwmbSC5H5svBACH7xrFmH9XZyDU2BfNUYXMz6Z7gYibcPUKYsNQVhBdZC9a6RMJDXwberkCiTB9jEfw72kA4xzkfkAfLm54hs2DEeMPeeUqiv.jpeg

MY FIRST DAY AS A TEACHER


I felt very elated the morning I functioned as a teacher officially. I got to the school premises at about 7:30 am and the morning assembly was ongoing. After the assembly, I was taken to my classroom and was also introduced to the wonderfully looking princes and princesses. After all the formalities, I started off my teaching with English studies followed by Mathematics, Basic Science and Computer Studies. We did simple greetings and commands in English studies, whole numbers 1-200 in mathematics, the environment in Basic Science and description of computer in computer studies that.

JvFFVmatwWHRfvmtd53nmEJ94xpKydwmbSC5H5svBACH7xrFmH9XZyDU2BfNUYXMz6Z7gYibcPUKYsNQVhBdZC9a6RMJDXwberkCiTB9jEfw72kA4xzkfkAfLm54hs2DEeMPeeUqiv.jpeg

THE UNEXPECTED MIRACLE


My best moment as a teacher was the event that led to my promotion within 4 months of my teaching experience.

Proverbs 4:18 says 'But the path of the just is as the shining light, that shineth more and more unto the perfect day'.

I never imagined that I would be promoted to Basic 6 class in a flash of light not until a favourable incident occured towards the end of the first term of 2015/2016 academic session. The Basics 6 teacher had an emergency to travel out of the town for a very long time which led to the need for her replacement. The school management, having gone through my performance in executing my duties enjoined me to participate in the replacement interview for the new basic 6 teacher. I accepted the offer and participated in the interview processes which took place during the holiday. I emerged the best in both oral and written interview. The written interview was on three subjects:

  • English studies.
  • Mathematics.
  • Asụsụ Igbo.
    My scores are thus:
SubjectGrade in %
English studies90
Mathematics95
Asụsụ Igbo85

After a prolonged deliberation by the school management, I was promoted to teaching Basic 6 pupils. It was a joyful experience because my qualifications cannot get me such a position but grace did. My salary also increased.

JvFFVmatwWHRfvmtd53nmEJ94xpKydwmbSC5H5svBACH7xrFmH9XZyDU2BfNUYXMz6Z7gYibcPUKYsNQVhBdZC9a6RMJDXwberkCiTB9jEfw72kA4xzkfkAfLm54hs2DEeMPeeUqiv.jpeg

MY EXPERIENCE WITH BASIC 6 PUPILS


It wasn't funny for me at the beginning of second term with the pupils because I was like a stranger to them yet, I refused to give up.

The beginning is perhaps more difficult than anything else, but keep heart, it will turn out all right. _Vincent van Gogh

I devised a solution to the toughness of the student which is making them my friends and it worked perfectly. As days go by, I became the basic 6 pupils favourite that some of them confide in me with their moral and social challenges. The second term was indeed an awesome term because of the love and cooperation I received from my pupils. My stay in the school as a teacher continued being awesome until I left the school to further my tertiary education in late 2016.

JvFFVmatwWHRfvmtd53nmEJ94xpKydwmbSC5H5svBACH7xrFmH9XZyDU2BfNUYXMz6Z7gYibcPUKYsNQVhBdZC9a6RMJDXwberkCiTB9jEfw72kA4xzkfkAfLm54hs2DEeMPeeUqiv.jpeg

CONCLUSION


My transition to a basic 6 teacher taught me a lesson - to always be diligent and honest in all I do because you never can tell who's observing. I'm also excited that this experience is no longer known to me alone. My heartfelt gratitude to @steemalive for this opportunity to share such a beautiful experience of mine. Thank you, the one reading this article. I'm grateful you did.

JvFFVmatwWHRfvmtd53nmEJ94xpKydwmbSC5H5svBACH7xrFmH9XZyDU2BfNUYXMz6Z7gYibcPUKYsNQVhBdZC9a6RMJDXwberkCiTB9jEfw72kA4xzkfkAfLm54hs2DEeMPeeUqiv.jpeg

MY PHOTO GALLERY


IMG_20210713_151843_664.jpg

IMG_20210713_150305_218.jpg

IMG_20210713_100712_381.jpg

IMG_20210713_150809_492.jpg

CC:
@steemalive
@ngeonyi
@focusnow
@samuel20

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Wow! From your writing, I can understand how much you love both your job and the learners which is the fundamental in any work.
You will put all your best if you love your learners because you would love to see them great.
Congratulations to your elevation to basic 6.
I guess your previous pupils must have missed you.
Best of luck.

Thank you ma. Yes, they really did.

Teacher build the nation, you have impacted life by giving them knowledge. Kudos to you brother.

Thank you sir.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68362.67
ETH 3798.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49