GARRI PROCESSING: SECOND EPISODE.

in SteemAlive2 years ago

IMG_20220317_161902.jpg

Hello lovelies and all the good people of steemalive community both young and old. Hoping that you guys are in good health, am here once again to bring the continuation of my second to the last episode on garri issue.

Remember, on my first episode, I made is clear that its like a taboo in our land, yes, in IBO land for one to stay without garri in his house. Even if you don't like eating it, you need to have a cup or two just for visitor's sake.

There in my first episode, I updated you guys on how I uprooted my cassava tubers, peeled the back, washed and grounded. But I promised that I must also update you guys on all other procedures.

C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iQbDuUDiwJdesqDUT7Tvfgute6JgzPGnBDQA1mjzXiwNfCqpsfcMvr52vUVcDz4bSuqLPeX6zjQ.png

SECOND EPISODE

On this second episode, am going to showcase other processes or methods I used in processing the garri. Here we go.....

So, after grinding, it formed a paste. But I need to dry the paste first before proceeding. Therefore, I put it inside a bag (rice bag is the type I used. But you can also use "feed" bag). To press out the water before it could dry, I used an engine known locally as "engine akpu or injin igboro".

IMG_20220316_091242.jpgwhile pressing out the water

After pressing out the water, the next day, I used a special kind of sieve to separate the chaff from the garri. This process is very much important because, there are rough particles inside it and if you didn't remove them, no one can enjoy the garri.

IMG_20220317_161918_1.jpgthe chaff

IMG_20220317_135759.jpgwhile separating the chaff and the powder

IMG_20220317_135219.jpgthe special sieve

Next which is the last stage is to fry. This is the most powerful stage that many do fear and run away from why because at this stage, you must encounter smoke and the heat from fire makes one uncomfortable. But at the end, you gonna be happy. The happiness can be likened to the pangs of a pregnant woman in labor. Once she gives birth to a baby, she automatically forgets her pains. So it is with garri making. Once the garri is out, you won't even remember all you passed through.

IMG_20220317_161929.jpgmy garri on fire

IMG_20220317_153542.jpghappily doing the work

IMG_20220317_153537.jpgam serious ooo

IMG_20220317_153227.jpgam sweating profusely

IMG_20220318_083612.jpgthe finals

C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iQbDuUDiwJdesqDUT7Tvfgute6JgzPGnBDQA1mjzXiwNfCqpsfcMvr52vUVcDz4bSuqLPeX6zjQ.png

CONCLUSION

Some people claims that they dislikes garri, because of that, they won't bother to keep one at home. My dear reader, even if you don't like it, just keep one or two cups in your house. The condition or the scene of this world is changing or even deteriorating. Even if you don't like it in form of swallow, believe me, one day you can drink it and it gonna quench your hunger. Or, you can even use it to entertain your visitor.

For example, myself, am the type that can stay even for a year without tasting garri, still I must keep it at home. Even as I dislikes it and even see it as a big work stressing my mouth and throat before it could enter my stomach when used in form of swallow, yet, I do make sure its always available either I buy from market or I prepare by myself.

Thanks for your time and patience while reading. Please, come on with your questions, am ready to entertain them all. Bye

Am still your babe, @marajah

Sort:  

Awesome process shared. You're doing so well to put up this. I won't believe you don't really like what you spent time to prepare.

I love the pressing method in your post. I harvest seen this construction before. Thanks for sharing @marajah.

 2 years ago 

My dear, since some days ago that i fried the garri till now, i haven't even cook any soup. Meaning that i haven't even taste the garri. Maybe, tomorrow, i gonna cook soup.

 2 years ago (edited)

My favorite part of garri processing is separating the chaff😄😄
You did a great job doing all by yourself

 2 years ago 

Hahaha, now i know that you dont even know anything about garri processing. Nmeeee

 2 years ago 

It is a work I love doing with joy, you can't compare this with market own, keep sharing with us @marajah, am waiting for episode 3

ClubPlagiarized?SteemExclusive?Used Bidbot?
75NoYesNo
 2 years ago 

Hahaha, episode 3 is warming up. But i want the next episode to pup up with ofe ero. How you take see am?

 2 years ago 

Gary processing is so stressful, many things to do. From the farm till it becomes ready too much work but Gary is important.

 2 years ago 

The work no be small o. But its a must to me now.

 2 years ago 

Weldon and good job you have done

 2 years ago 

Thanks ma

 2 years ago 

Mara mara baby oku 😂, thanks

 2 years ago 

Baby oku na waya no be small

Your post is interesting and has given me the mora to brag I know how to make garri 😁😁😁 @marajah

 2 years ago 

Thank God it gave you mora to brag and not moral. See your mouth

2.jpg
We have supported this post. Keep on making great content in our community. Always check @steemalive for community updates. Thank you being an active member.

 2 years ago 

Ok ma. I will. Thank you mother

It's been long I did this , processing is not always easy. Keep it up

 2 years ago 

Really? Come over lets do it together nau

Garri Processing is not easy though
You would have invited me to come and join you in the frying.
I loved helping my grandparents do it then.
Garri is a very very important commodity in Igbo land. You're right.
Thanks for sharing @marajah

 2 years ago 

@sammylove, relax, next time i will invite you in advance

 2 years ago 

Wow, njin igboro hahahaha, you be Ngwa woman for real. Yes processing gari is not easy, but once you are done doing it, you forget all the stress you pass through

 2 years ago 

Babe quote me wrong naa. Njin igboro no be the koko?

 2 years ago 

Some people claims that they dislikes garri, because of that, they won't bother to keep one at home. My dear reader, even if you don't like it, just keep one or two cups in your house.
Which swallow is cheap, no one ooo, garri is very important in life especially when it comes to nwafor ngwa like me lol, great job my dear one

 2 years ago 

Oh my God. @beautybb, every food no be swallow? Which dey cheap? I like as you take talk am

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68221.63
ETH 3277.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66