CONTEST: LOOKING BACK TWO YEARS AGO| MARCH 2019-APRIL2020| A BRIEF STORY OF MY WORK EXPERIENCE IN A CONSTRUCTION COMPANY| BY @laderi| 1st-12-2021

in SteemAlive3 years ago

IMG_1638356569154.png

INTRODUCTION

Good day steemians, hope u are all doing well. Am so happy to be part of this contest, talking about the past is interesting. Thanks to Facebook for helping me save my pictures, the past pictures I got from Facebook, inspired me in writing this post and to be part of this contest.
Working in a construction company was interesting, although it was just for one year, the company is situated at tombia town Bayelsa State Nigeria. Below is the breakdown of my work experience in a construction company.

SUB HEADINGS:

  • How I entered the company
  • How I started work
  • The company accommodation
  • Chemical warehouse construction
  • Installation of the chemical warehouse

8SzwQc8j2KJZWBXFXnbnQ1FtoZhRqrTWozhqoqWHpGmpmo68j4ebezzgbUeturAsyZv9NaAsALsxpopzepcE9R8vpdzhWeW2PmYDZqD3cSVjh5NnAFY.jpeg

HOW I ENTERED THE COMPANY

After graduation before going for service, I had the mind of working. So I looked forward to working in a company, which made me to contact one of my brothers, telling him how I want to work in a company. Without much talk he agreed in assisting me getting the job, luckily for me he has a friend that owned a construction company (presco limited). After discussing with his friend he asked me to following him to the company to meet with the HEAD OF OPERATIONS (HOP) and that is how I was giving the job, without interview or any stress.

8SzwQc8j2KJZWBXFXnbnQ1FtoZhRqrTWozhqoqWHpGmpmo68j4ebezzgbUeturAsyZv9NaAsALsxpopzepcE9R8vpdzhWeW2PmYDZqD3cSVjh5NnAFY.jpeg

HOW I STARTED WORK

The first one month was not too cool, becuase there was no serious work going on then. So I will just go to work stay in the office, discussing with other workers. After the first month we had alot of work at hand, no time to chat and play again, Sometimes we even have to work at night. I worked in the fabrication unit, since the company is a construction company the fabrication unit had more work than any other department. When I started, I was not too familiar with some of the job activities but as time goes on, everything became easy.

8SzwQc8j2KJZWBXFXnbnQ1FtoZhRqrTWozhqoqWHpGmpmo68j4ebezzgbUeturAsyZv9NaAsALsxpopzepcE9R8vpdzhWeW2PmYDZqD3cSVjh5NnAFY.jpeg

THE COMPANY ACCOMMODATION

The company has a nice accommodation, I had just one room mate becuase most of the workers work from home. Light and water was not a problem, the house was well equipped, And we do have feeding allowances. If there is no NEPA light we had our own generator, and the company do supply us with petrol. The people in the neighborhood were nice, we do and share alot of things together. Been in that kind of environment was nice I never wanted to leave.

8SzwQc8j2KJZWBXFXnbnQ1FtoZhRqrTWozhqoqWHpGmpmo68j4ebezzgbUeturAsyZv9NaAsALsxpopzepcE9R8vpdzhWeW2PmYDZqD3cSVjh5NnAFY.jpeg

CHEMICAL WAREHOUSE CONSTRUCTION

This job was one of the biggest I encountered in that company, it lasted for more than three months. We used angle-irons, H-beams and many other construction materials, the materials are very expensive. I was involved in all aspects of the job, which made me to improve my fabrication skills. The welding, drilling, grinding, painting, installation, all this various procedures of the construction were very interesting. Operating a drilling machine and the grinding machine for the first time was not really easy but as time goes on it became easy.
Moreso it was not really easy working at night, is a very terrible experience. But am happy I worked at night it made me to know that working at night makes u more relax and think better, but not when sleep comes.

8SzwQc8j2KJZWBXFXnbnQ1FtoZhRqrTWozhqoqWHpGmpmo68j4ebezzgbUeturAsyZv9NaAsALsxpopzepcE9R8vpdzhWeW2PmYDZqD3cSVjh5NnAFY.jpeg

INSTALLATION OF THE CHEMICAL WAREHOUSE

The installation of the warehouse was done in one of the AGIP OIL COMPANY TERMINALS, situated in town brass/Bayelsa State/Nigeria. Town brass is situated at the Atlantic Ocean, so we have to cross alot of rivers to get there, it was not that easy because we arrived at night battling with the waves, to God be the glory we arrived safely. From the foundation, installation of the H-beams, rafters, angle-irons and all we did to the end of the job was so interesting because I learnt alot Involving in all sections.

8SzwQc8j2KJZWBXFXnbnQ1FtoZhRqrTWozhqoqWHpGmpmo68j4ebezzgbUeturAsyZv9NaAsALsxpopzepcE9R8vpdzhWeW2PmYDZqD3cSVjh5NnAFY.jpeg

CONCLUSION

I am so happy to participate in this contest, it reminded me of the past. I want to say a big thanks to @focusnow for this contest, also want to thank @kingreecy and @peterabagi for their constant mentorship.thanks to
you all.

8SzwQc8j2KJZWBXFXnbnQ1FtoZhRqrTWozhqoqWHpGmpmo68j4ebezzgbUeturAsyZv9NaAsALsxpopzepcE9R8vpdzhWeW2PmYDZqD3cSVjh5NnAFY.jpeg

MY PHOTOS

IMG_20211201_115424-COLLAGE.jpg

IMG_20211201_115351-COLLAGE.jpg

8SzwQc8j2KJZWBXFXnbnQ1FtoZhRqrTWozhqoqWHpGmpmo68j4ebezzgbUeturAsyZv9NaAsALsxpopzepcE9R8vpdzhWeW2PmYDZqD3cSVjh5NnAFY.jpeg

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Wow! I love your zeal to even get a job before going for service which indicate how responsible you are not waiting for anyone to fend for you.

I was involved in all aspects of the job, which made me to improve my fabrication skills.

If you had not gone there, your skills wouldn't have improved.

I wish you best of luck in the contest.

Thanks for your comments I appreciate

Wooo! Who would have dreamt of working in this kind of company before going for service..
You're very lucky dear and goodluck shall always get to you..

Keep it up!

Thanks I appreciate

Wow....I can see how tedious it is working in a construction company. Crossing many right....I can imagine it. Well done ok

Thanks I appreciate

2.jpg
We have supported this post. Keep on making great content in our community. Always check @steemalive for community updates. Thank you being an active member.

Thanks I appreciate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68362.67
ETH 3798.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49