The Diary Game: Day 9: 😔steemCreated with Sketch.

in SteemAlive4 years ago (edited)

image.png

Dear diary,

Today seemed okay from the beginning, I woke up to that sonorous bird chirping, the sound of the morning light showers tapping on the roof. If I had a choice I would have preferred sleeping the whole day. It rained all through the night. Hence, making the sleep sweeter than ever. It was a cloudy morning, and the weather seemed perfect for a Sunday. I woke up earlier than usual so as to perform my chores in time, I am a worker in the Church so it won’t speak well of me arriving late to Church.

By the time I was through with the indoor chores, the drizzling outside had stopped. So I decided to wash the car. As usual my dad brought it in last night all muddy and dirty. He came in extremely late last night, hence making him tired. It was obvious he won’t be able to go to church so I was responsible for driving the family today and I don’t think it would be nice taking a dirty car to Church.

As my dad always says " The dumbest technology on earth is a car. All you need to do is direct it. Anywhere you steer it goes"

I actually became a driving expert at the age 17. I consider that as one of my many achievements.

In no time the car was sparking clean. I rushed inside to take my bath and get ready.

Next thing I saw was my dad hurriedly putting on his shirt. He got an emergency call that morning from a site. His help was needed urgently.

Just as he drove out the compound, he told me to come meet him at the site and take the car when we were ready.. Oh no! The site, if there was one thing I dread about going to the site it’s the Road. Potholes everywhere and this rainy season, it sure would be muddy.......the time I spent carefully washing the car was all for nothing .

The development drained out all form of excitement. I was destabilized for a while it took everyone time to get ready.
I don’t know why but everyone was exceptionally slow.

I looked at the clock and realized we had only few minutes left before service started. I immediately took public transport to the site to go get the car. I got to the site was delayed for some minutes, my dad needed to run some errands with it. Finally he handed the keys to me.

In no time, I was back home to pick the family. But as usual my mum delayed, She always spends a lot of time applying her cosmetics. I don’t understand why ladies spend a lot of time applying cosmetics on their faces. A lady can spend up to two hours applying make up for an occasion that only takes an hour.

I kept honking and honking till she finally came out, along with my siblings. It was a fast drive, everyone seemed a bit tense because we were already running late. but I was more concerned about my situation as a worker. It wouldn’t speak well of me if I came late. Just halfway something unfortunate happened.

We got to a checkpoint and were stopped by policemen. They demanded for our papers and particulars which I hurriedly handed over to them. Just when I was starting to think I was out of the woods he dropped the dreaded question "Where is your License ?"

I was dumbfounded, for a moment I couldn’t speak. My mum was already panic stricken. The officer noticed this and began to capitalize on it. He even threatened to arrest me. He ordered me to get down from the vehicle for questioning. They spent close to 45 minutes asking me questions, all pleas seemed to fall on deaf ears. A drive to church on a normal day takes 30 minutes at most but today we spent over two hours. After a lot of arguments and threats I decided to speak to his superior. To cut the long story short we were released with a parting fine of Five thousand Naira that’s approximately 71 steem dollars.

That was five thousand naira that wasn’t budgeted for. I had to pay the fine from the money I was saving for resumption.
By the time we got to church We were 45 minutes late. I was devastated.

Service was good. We finished pretty early due to the instructions given by the government.i took some pictures too.

2FFB9D9A-370E-4D0A-9B52-4F6281926B94.jpeg

We returned home feeling all down because of the incident that happened earlier.

The Nigerian police do know how to ruin your day.
We had some lunch. A luscious meal of Pounded yam and Vegetable soup. I drove back to the site to meet my dad. I spent a couple of hours there with him before finally returning home.

image.jpeg

I turned on my ps4 to play some FIFA but it kept displaying an error message. It must have developed some fault I guess. Today is not just my day.

2D23F981-4A3D-4914-A460-5D20B13BDF4A.jpeg

I drove a dirty car to church, was harassed by the police and arrived late to church, Now my ps4 stopped working : (

I can see crackles of lighting already. It’s definitely going to rain tonight. That’s good news for me : ) I guess.
This is me saying goodnight steemians .

I have never written this long before, this is the first time. The diary games is gradually coming to an end and a lot of talents have already been discovered. I appreciate the platform and the curators Special thanks to @steemcurator01 @steemcurator02 @steemcurator03 @steemcurator04 and @steemcurator05

I’m a member of Steemalive2
This is me

image.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67578.10
ETH 3250.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64