CONTEST // ADULTHOOD, WORK-LIFE BALANCE// by @kingreechy // 03:09:2021.

in SteemAlive3 years ago (edited)

B19AD0DB-4FFA-48CD-97A0-BF4C838C68BF.jpeg

Introduction

Hello there steamians, I’m glad to be here today to share my first contest post in steemalive community and I will be making emphasis on my childhood, adulthood and how I try to attain a work-life balance.

131547F1-6D5F-47B7-A0E6-B2F6CCFE3DD1.png

MY CHILDHOOD

Coming from a “below average family” the struggle of making money has always been there. From selling okrika wears on the road side to selling them in a shop and many other business afterwards. The struggle started at the age of 15, still being childish at such age I always had time to play around, especially after school hour when I would go out on the field with my friends to do acrobatics and stunts or play football or even do races of different soughts. Being a child I had very little or nothing to worry about as I would spend most of my free time playing or learning new things and one can say that sometimes we tend to miss those days as kids.

MY ADULTHOOD

Being an adult for me started the moment I finished my secondary school (high school). I went from learning desktop publishing and data processing to working in a wine company and afterwards I got a job in a computer business center where I learnt a lot on corel draw application and bits of photoshop. Ever since then it has been from one hustle to another, doing different things and learning new things as well. I currently have a computer business center and a pos shop but currently I’m working on starting a Laundry business even as I am still on my Youth service. Responsibilities are not asked for as an adult it’s a stage of life that we all have to go through and continue going through as grown ups.

9C93C66A-258F-46C0-980B-1FCD5FD29196.png

TWO WAYS I MAINTAIN A HEALTHY WORK-LIFE BALANCE

1: EXERCISING
2: PLAYING

Exercising has a lot of benefits to our body, though, even with such knowledge most of us still do not exercise for any reason at all.
Exercise strengthens your heart and improves your blood circulation. Regular exercise can also lower your blood pressure, cholesterol and triglyceride levels.
Growing up I had a role model (my God father) whom I looked up to, he was very huge and muscular so all I wanted was to be as huge and successful as he was, I would watch him as he exercises at 6:00am every morning. (I use “was” because he is late).
So I will say that finding the right time to exercise never seemed to be a battle unlike for most people because when I look in the mirror now, I see myself all built and muscular but it’s nothing compared to how my role model was.

956AEC5A-D951-4E42-9BBC-C9F874F66D9A.png

PLAYING (AS A FORM OF RELAXATION)

Playing on the other hand is an essential part of living as it relaxes your stress level and puts a smile on your face, hence making you feel a lot better. I believe playing should be an involuntary act if we really want to be happy at most situations in life.
I would say playing is a part of me that I can never seem to give up even as an adult. Not because it’s essential but because I must find myself playing when I’m around friends or my fellow colleagues especially in my residential area. My friends and I will often run around and chase each other over a joke, my friends often join me in exercising and we play around even while working out, we would play PES football games together and we also would play actual football in the lodge together and many more fun games and activities.
Being an adult especially an independent one comes with a lot of responsibilities which requires that we be hardworking but like the saying goes, “all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy” even as a man or woman. Playing and exercising are both an essential part of living a happy and a healthy life and should never be under rated.
Special thanks to @uzoma24 for this wonderful contest. I believe it will enable many see the importance of exercising and playing/relaxing.

Stay healthy.
&
Stay happy guys.

Sort:  

@kingreechy, selling okrika at the age of 15th, i think it was a kind of building you up for the task ahead.

 3 years ago 

Yeah that’s right. It made me realize and gained some valuable experience in life. Thanks for your time @justiceanietie

I so much enjoy your writeup. your chest for me, am jealous

Playing and exercising are both an essential part of living a happy and a healthy life and should never be under rated.

So true. Sadly, the pursuit of riches has made many forgets the importance of exercise and recreation in our lives. They forget the fact that health is wealth.

 3 years ago 

Yeah that’s true.
Thanks for your compliment though, I try to live a healthy life every day

@kingreechy kindly chat me up on 08069410214

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60973.26
ETH 2366.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58