The DIARY GAME: MY FIRST DAY AT THE BASKETBALL COURTBY @KingKawen || 100% payout to @steemalive (All4one)

in SteemAlive3 years ago (edited)

InShot_20220110_233458771.jpg

INTRODUCTION

Hello great steemians, once again welcome to my blog. I am so pleased to have you visit
, thank you. My name is @kingkawen and I can't wait to share with you my first experience at the basketball court. Without having to rigmarole let's go to the details.

I HATED BASKETBALL

I have never been a fan of basketball owing to some questions I often ask my self like why would you instead of playing ball with your legs you would choose to play with your hands? Isn't that weird? Are they normal people?
But it is most expected right? People criticize what they don't understand and this was my case. I have never truly paid attention to the game or Considered understanding it.

MINDSET SHIFT

One faithful day, my roommate got up very early in the morning and as he was preparing to go for his morning drills. I thought to myself, I have been very busy for months and I have neglected the health aspect of me which was to exercise. In fact since my last injury in football, I had given up on games because it damaged my ankle and I couldn't play any sport but I had earlier resolved to just jugging...A second thought came to me, why not use the power of association to work for your Favour. I had learnt this in one of my personal development books. So, I jumped out of bed and told him to give me few seconds as I intend to join him as well. Patiently, he waited for me till I was done then he asked me that so I have finally resolved to learn basketball? I told him, Nah, no way.
I was only going there to jug round the court while he trains. At exactly 5:45 am, we were already at the second campus of Benue State University, Makurdi basketball court ready to exercise.
I was only going there to jug round the court while he trains. At exactly 5:45 am, we were already at the second campus of Benue State University, Makurdi basketball court ready to exercise.

InShot_20220110_234106350.jpg

AT THE BASKETBALL COURT

I joined him to jug round the court. We did some few stretches and then he left for his thing while I did mine. I continued for some minutes and then I was tired so I sat down just watching. I became bored sitting and doing nothing so I asked if I could join him, to my greatest surprise he said he would be happy to have me.
We started teaching me how to bounce the ball with both hands, then we proceeded to making passes where I learnt the bounce pass, javelin pass, over head pass, straight pass, etc. It all seemed so easy and it started getting interesting to me so I continued.

InShot_20220110_233108289.jpg

We then moved to what he termed "conditioning" which is some form of preparation you make in order to make good shots. The conditioning consisted of shooting from various points in the court close to the basket. Gradually, I started to measure up with what he was doing which I got to knew when he gave me a thumps up and said you are a pretty fast learner don't you think? I said "well, I guess it's because I have the best coach" we all smiled at each other and continued for few minutes and we were done, ready to go home.

InShot_20220110_234720432.jpg

He asked for us to do some few more stretches before leaving the court. We arrived home at exactly 7:40 am and I continued with the rest of my activities for the day.

CONCLUSION

At the end of the day, not just did I learn basketball. I also loved the game, had a mindset shift and also learn a new sport. God surely loves me to expose me to this.
Thank you and God bless.

Cc.
@focusnow
@ngoenyi
@peterabagi
@thebeloved001

Sort:  

Good mindset shift and a wonderful content....I hope you continue train.

Thank you dear! I sure will

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67364.26
ETH 3322.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71