Steemalive Present Prowriters Hub Contest W2: What Is A Name And The Act Of Naming.

in SteemAlive2 years ago (edited)

Introduction

"What is that which you are being identified as".
Hello friends, welcome to another edition, I will be talking about name and the act of naming.

pexels-alina-kurson-9839682_2.jpg
Source:
https://www.pexels.com

What is a Name?

A name is an identity for a person, place or thing. It is that which people know you for, calls you whenever your attention is needed and address you for. Meeting of people, the first introduction made is being asked for your name.

The Act Of Naming

The act of naming is a ceremony performed by families whenever a new born is welcomed into the family. The birth of a new born is filled with so much happiness by both the parents of a child and the circumstances surrounding the birth of a child, makes the parents to give a significant name to that child. Naming ceremony is done eight days after the birth of the child.

The Meaning Of My Names

My names were given to me eight days after my birth while my English name was given to me the day I was baptized into the catholic church. My names are Ugochukwu Ubanna Jeclyn.
Ugochukwu:. Which means "Eagle of God" or "Glory of God". Which is my surname or first name It's my great grandfather's name, if you are a man in my family and you get married, your surname will change to "Opara" meaning "First born son" which is my grandfather's name and also my family name.
Ubanna: Which is my middle name and my native name means "Father's wealth".
Jeclyn: Which is my last name means "Supplanter" or " May God protect".

How Names Are Formed In My Hometown

In my hometown, names are given due to the circumstances surrounding the birth of the child, such as if the mother have being looking for a male child over the years but have being giving birth to only females, if the family have being looking for the fruit of the womb for so many years and eventually gets one, etc. Market days, season, gender and position in the family. It is also our custom that a child is named eight days after birth.

Popular Male Igbo Names In My Community

Onyekachukwu meaning "Who is greater than God
Akonuche meaning "wisdom".
Chibuzo meaning "God is the way".
Chibuike meaning "God is strength
Uchenna meaning "God's thought".
Chibueze meaning "where God is the king".

Popular Female Igbo Names In My Community

Chidinma meaning "Goodness of God".
Kamsiyochukwu meaning "As I ask God so he answered.
Oluomachi meaning "God's good work".
Adannaya meaning "Her father's daughter".
Adaolisa meaning "God's daughter".
Adaeze meaning "daughter of the king".

Names I admire and ones I avoid

I admire names with unique and significant meaning such as Ubanna and Adaeze meaning "father's wealth" and "daughter of the king" most people that answer such names carry themselves with so much dignity.

I like male names like Akonuche and Okechukwu which means "wisdom and "God's heritage respectively.

I dislike names such as Onwumeyi, Onwukwe.

How I Formed My Steemit Name

My English name which is unique and not popular was what I used as my Steemit user name "jeclyn" though not most people know me with that name, I prefer identifying myself with my native name.

Conclusion

Names is what we use to identify ourselves and our culture and heritage. Parents should endeavor to give and call their kids their native names in any part of the country you are. It promotes culture and tells people where you come from.
Thank you for reading.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

I have just got to know the meaning of act of naming as a ceremony been done by the family members and most times well.wishers so as to help give the child a very good and reasonable name.

 2 years ago 

Names is what we use to identify ourselves and our culture and heritage. Parents should endeavor to give and call their kids their native names in any part of the country you are.

I literally fell in love with your post, very apt. I agree with you on this 💯, that's why I stick with my native name wherever I go.

Igbo names are so beautiful especially Kamsiyochukwu. I love that name so much.
Your steemit name is also beautiful. Thanks for sharing these names with us. I’ve already selected the names of my unborn kids from this post.

 2 years ago 

I love as you used your English name as your Steemit username, that show it is very unique. You have also helped me to learn some of the names you love so much, which included Adaeze and others. Nice choice and great article.

Checking the rules

CriteriaRating
Club5050
Plagiarism-free✔️
SteemExclusive✔️
Bot-free✔️

Checking Post Quality

CriteriaRating
Compliance with Topic2/2.5
Use of Markdown2/2.5
Spelling and Grammar2/2.5
Content Depth1.7/2.5
Total7.7/10
 2 years ago 

Thank you, hope to be verified soon

 2 years ago 

Done

 2 years ago 

It is that which people know you for, calls you whenever your attention is needed and address you for

That's true and also the reason why we should be careful be naming a child oo

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator08.


Curated By - @samuel20
Curation Team - Lifestyle Curation Team

 2 years ago (edited)

You made me to fall in love with this name Adaeze. I feel like answering it now. I love all your names.

 2 years ago 

Thank you, you can choose a name for your unborn kids too

 2 years ago 

Tradition differs, your 2 names was not given to you in a day. 1 on the 8 day and the other on your baptism day.
You names are unique and i have seen names you love too.

I don't have much to say but all I know is that names has a great importance in this life. Nice post dear, keep it up

 2 years ago (edited)

Hi there , you have outlines my favorites Igbo names like Chibuike , Adaeze , Chidinma , Chibuzo and Chibueze . Another fond ones are; Ike and Chioma . Thank you for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66930.79
ETH 3268.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64