My Diary Game. How I Spent My Day Preparing Melon soup on 18/03/22 by ityfrank

in SteemAlive2 years ago (edited)

20220323_230853.jpg

Introduction

Hello, fellow steemians, it's my pleasure to share with you how I spent my day and Friday preparing melon soup. I will be sharing with you the basic steps I used in making my melon soup.

My morning

I woke up Friday morning, the 18th of March, 2022, read my morning devotional then said my prayers. I went and checked on my snail farm: removed the leftover food and replaced them with new ones. When I was done, I wrote down the few things I neede to buy to prepare the melon soup and then I left for the market.

When I got back, I had a little breakfast before going straight to preparing the condiments for the soup.
The basic condiments I used are salt, Maggie, crayfish, stock fish, meat/ and or fish, waterleaf ( you can use bitter leaf instead or both), palm oil, onions, pepper and of course, melon.

How I prepared the Ingredients:

20220323_231634.jpg

First, I washed the perewinkles by putting them in a small pot, added a little water and shook it thoroughly. This way all the sand on the shell and inside the shelves checked out. I repeated that till the water was clean. I added a little salt and boiled it, washed it again and set it aside. Then I mixed the melon with a little water in a bowl, stirred it till it turned into a paste as shown in the bottom centre picture. I did that so that the melon will not form clumps in the soup. I washed the water leaves repeatedly till the water was clean and cut them. Then I washed my stock fish too.

20220322_211114.jpg

The Cooking

First, I boiled the stock and added a little salt. I made sure I boiled it for a long time so that the bones will get soft and can be eaten too...I love stock fish because of the nice aroma is brings to the soup and because no part of it is lost, not even the bones!
When they were soft, and the aroma was everywhere, I added meats and kpomo (some call it kanda), perewinkle, salt, Maggie, onions and pepper. I make sure the salt and Maggie are a little above what is needed for meat; but lower than what is needed for entire soup. (I do this to make sure that the meat remains tasty after the soup is ready).
Next, I added the water leaves with the onions and covered the pot. When it's cooked for about three minutes, I added the melon paste, stirred it well, then allowed it to simmer for about five minutes. I added a little water to give me the right thickness, I tested it to make sure salt and other spices were in the right proportion. Then lastly, I added my crayfish to the top and cover it without stirring. This way, the aroma of the crayshish comes out real good. Then I stir it, and allow it to simmer for a while and my melon soup was ready!
I packed them in small plates and allow them to cool so I can put them in my fridge. With this now, I'll be free from cooking soup for a long time.
Do come and join me...smiles.

20220323_235411.jpg

You can eat it with any swallow at all, garri, fufu, Semovita or pounded yam.
I sat down and enjoyed my meal as I was quite hungry. After that I observed. Long siesta.
When I woke up, I did some writings till it till is was around 3:30pm, and I left for my class.

My Evening

20220324_000058.jpg

There, while teaching my boys, Etieno, their neighbour I had prepared for WAEC and JAMB came visiting. She had had admission to study Medicine in the University of Nsukka, and she is waiting for the next school session to begine. As you can see, She was shy and wouldn't poss well for the picture.
The lesson lasted for two hours and I left for my snooker spot. I was lucky today or should I say,I tey as improving at my shots as I won three very strong players back to back!
The fourth person was equally strong, but I nearly won if not for a fatal mistake I made and he capitalizer on it and won me. Well, it was already past 10 pm so I called it a day and went home.
I got home around to 11pm.

Conclusion

I made a light dinner of indomie and ate. I lay down on my bed and reminesse of my day. I was grateful to God for a fulfilled day.
Thank you for reading through.

@focusnow
@steemalive
@ngoenyi
@ijelady
@mesola

Sort:  

" Then I mixed the melon with a little water in a bowl, stirred it till it turned into a paste as shown in the bottom centre picture

I don't mix my egusi, I boil red oil them put it in like that , no time to waste 😅.

Nice post here from you

2.jpg
We have supported this post. Keep on making great content in our community. Always check @steemalive for community updates. Thank you being an active member.

 2 years ago 

I never knew you can cook very well like this. Honestly I will use this procedure to cook my next melon soup. Haha, we keep learning every day. Thank you @ityfrank.

Your soup is entering my eye, making me salivate. Looks like you are a good cook. Thanks for sharing.

Smiles ...thanks. I started cooking for the house at an early age when my elder siblings all left for school.

You really had a busy day, going to the market to buy food stuff coming back again and start cooking the soup is enough stress but upon that you still went ahead to your students.

We are still in Nigeria, dear. Anything short of this, OYO is your name. Lols

That soup must be sweet...with enough stockfish and periwinkle...I love! But looking at it. . it's sweet too

Smiles... I tell you, the truth, I lie not. It was out of this world! (Winks)

Men in the kitchen. Men's soup are always very delicious. I love the step to step analysis of how you cooked the meal. Thanks for sharing with us @ityfrank.

You are welcome I'm glad you like it. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60744.52
ETH 3381.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57