Health Benefits of Akamu - Ulcer Healer by ityfrank

in SteemAlive2 years ago (edited)

images (2).jpeg

imagesource

Introduction

Akamu or Ogi is an African delicacy made from maize - It is the starch extracted from maize.
The starch is made by first grinding the maize and then mixing it with water and using a sieve to separate the starch (the filtrate) from the shaft by continuously adding water and stirring it.

The filtrate is allowed to settle, then the top, which is mostly water is decanted and then the starch, which settled at the bottom is set aside. This is your Akamu.
Akamu contains lots of useful vitamins and minerals like, thiamin, folate, vitamins C and E, B, and K, magnesium phosphorus, zinc and coper. It also contains protein, sugar and Fat, and some antioxidants.

Akamu as Food

images (1).jpeg

imagesource

Akamu is usually eaten cooked, by adding boiled water to it and continuously stiring it to get a good poridge. Sugar, milk and other beverages can be added to give it different tastes. It is usually eaten with food like beans, akara, moimoi, bread etc. Some people do take it alone.

Akamu Protects Our Body From Damage

Vitamin C and antioxidants present in it helps in protecting our body cells from damage; and warding off diseases like heart disease and cancer.

Akamu Promotes Healthy Eyes

Akamu made from yellow corn are very good for the eyes as they contain carotenoids which is very good for the health of the eyes by protecting it from diseases like cataracts.

Akamu Abates Runny Stamoch

If you have runny stomach and a pharmacy is not close by, maybe because it's late at night, a very simple solution is to dissolve a little bit of Akamu in water, as if you want to prepare it with hot water, but without adding any hot water to it. Between four to five spoons of that taken raw stops the runny stomach in less than ten minutes.

Akamu as a Treatment for Ulcer

Taking Akamu described above, morning and evening can help reduce the pain of ulcer or even cured it completely if taken consistently for a long time. Since it is food and has no side effects, it can be taken consistently for a long time until the ulcer disappears.
However if you are watching your weight or your blood sugar, you should not take it so much because it contains a lot of carbohydrate (and sugar).

Conclusion

Akamu or Ogi is a very delicious food in Africa and has lost of nutritive value and health benefits and should be a part of our daily diet.

CC:
@focusnow
@steemalive
@ngoenyi
@ijelady
@mesola

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Hi @ityfrank,

Thank you for educating us on the process of preparing pap.More especially its health benefits.I never knew that it can help to ameliorate runny stomach and even ulcer.The pap you prepared in the picture looks very nutritious,I can see milk resting on top of it😊.

Thanks for sharing!

Smiles... Yes! Pap can be very attractive both to the sight and taste when accompanied with the necessary mouth watering ingredients. I'm glad it helps.🙏

Hmm this is an eye opener and I really do love it without knowing how useful it is in that area chai thanks I will increase my level of love for it

I'm glad it helped.🙏

 2 years ago 

It is good to read all publication on steemit, if I didn't read this how will I know that I can use alanis to treat ulcer and stomach problem, @ityfrank thank you for this information,
Please you need to power up 50%of your steem to maintain your club5050 status.

ClubPlagiarized?SteemExclusive?Used Bidbot?
5050NoYesNo

Ok, Ma. I'll do that definitely.

 2 years ago 

Are you serious?? So I have been missing a lot since this year. Honestly I don't know the last time I took akamu even though I know some the health benefits. I will start considering Aku now in my meals. Thanks for sharing dear friend

You are welcome. I'm really glad this helped.

 2 years ago 

Am hiding this post. Because my family just remaindered of making Akamu this morning. I told them that i did not see corn because have been lazy to make it for them. But am going to market now. Thanks for this write up

Smiles...You are welcome.

Congratulations!

This post has been upvoted through steemcurator08.

Curated by : @alee75

Curation Team : I A-Team

Thank you so much🙏. I'm honoured!

Thank you sir.

I've added the health Benefits of akamu to what I've known before. I like the arrangement of your post.
Keep it up

Thank you, so much for the encouragement. I promise I will do my best.

This akamu and akara looks so tempting, I love it with a lot of liquid milk. Thank you for sharing the healthy benefits with us

Really? I didn't know all these are in this food that people look down on. Thank I like it. I can take akamu any time in the day. Sweet always even without any accomplice

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57605.72
ETH 3101.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33