SteemAlive Presents: ProWritersHub (W3) -introduce your home town-culture, language food any other thing by @ innocent10

in SteemAlive2 years ago (edited)

Introduction

Hello!, good afternoon my fellow steemians in steemalive it has been a while I have not been active in this community because of one problem that my phone is having but I thank God that I have repaired the issue . so my friends how are you guys doing in your business and family?, I hope all is going well?.
Am happy to be here this time around to continue with this contest that will run for one month .and I will like to tell you people about my hometown,I know you people will be happy to hear from me.

SnapMarkup_20221727_041703.png

Write about your hometown

Wow am happy to tell you people about my hometown
The name of my hometown is Abala ibeme it is located at Obingwa L.G.A in abia State nigeria.
My hometown is very big it is about (5kilomitters) in land mass. In my hometown we have different kinds of jobs we like to do, some of those jobs are farming, fishing, hunting native doctor and so on these are some jobs we like to do to earn a living.
In my hometown we produce large quantity of red oil and we also produce large quantity of garri we even export our products to another villages or hometowns.
We do not change a king until that person dies and we choose a king base from the parts we have in my community it runs turn by turn

my hometown language

In terms of our language we speak a language that is likely to be a general Igbo example are (bia, gawa, kwusi and so on) bia means come, gawa means go, kwusi means stop 😂😂

Parts in my hometown

In my hometown we have different parts, in this different parts they have different names the names represent different gods that my four fathers worship during the olden days but before I continue i will like to tell you people the names of those gods and what they represent in that four parts in my hometown the four parts are

  • Umuulelu(the god of thunder)
  • Umuoria (the god of wind)
  • Uhukwu (The god of rain)
  • Obiihom (the good of fire )

Our local foods

Wow am happy to tell you people some of our local food we like to eat in my hometown
In my hometown we like to eat a soup that is called egusi soup. This soup is been prepared with ugazi leave and moulded melon and the pounded one too.this soup that am talking about is a well known soup that we cooked we in my hometown when ever we are selebreting in my hometown or whenever we have visitors and this soup is one of my best soup i ever like because is very yummy 😋 yummy soup. And we normally eat this food with fufu/Lolo😂😂
Another food we like to eat in my hometown is roasted yam with red oil.
this food is very yummy 😋 yummy food we eat during new yam festival . If you want to make this food to be more sweet add onion to that red oil and fry it a little you will notice more sweet of the food 😁
This two food that I mentioned is our culture food we eat in my hometown.

Culture/Festival

Wow i will like to you some cultures we normally do and the season we do them.we have two cultures we do in our hometown the two cultures are (Abala day) and (New yam festival) but before I continue i will like to tell you people the meaning of these cultures.

  • Abala day: this culture is a program we normally do every year and we do this program every first day of January.we do this culture to selebrete our village for being in a existence after the end of the year that is why we called it Abala day.
    In this program every body is entitled to come both the small and the great,the different parts of our village will come and present something the women will match and salute the King.
    This shows that they appreciate the king for his good rules over the community at Large

  • New yam festival: This is a festival we do when ever we havest our yams and this program normally commence on every September of every year because is when the yam is normally harvested.
    In this program the villagers will gather and every family will bring their own yam after the seremoney the Chief native doctor that See's everything concerning yam will come and blessed the yam after that the villagers will go with their yam.every body will now go to their farms to harvest thier yarms.

My community likes and dislikes

Wow I will like to tell you people some of things that my community likes and what they did not like
In my community we don't like rearing of female dog and also we don't like eating three leave yam popular known as (ona) in my community if we find any person rearing a female dog or eating a three leave yam the person will pay a fine to the villagers if you refused to do so you will be banished from the village.
Some of the things our community hate is some one that is not hard working because if you are not hard working it will make you to steal from someone's property.another one is some that engage in stealing, laying, prostitution, murdering and so on my community hate such things because if any of community members engage in such things it will bring bad image to that community as a whole.

Conclusion

My friends am happy to discuss with you people some things concerning our home town is good to know each other because through this way you can know some cultures we have in this our country.
I know you people have learnt something from my hometown lifestyl. I will like to invite my wonderful friends to participate in this contest @richy20, @deben, @graceani and @chukwu10.
Also thanks to

Cc
@steemalive
@ijelady
@focusnow
@samuel20

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Wow dear,I have really learnt a lot about you hometown food,festivals and others.

That new yam festival is really a festival that is done all around Igbo land and I hope it is interesting in you hometown.

 2 years ago 

That's true even here in my hometown we also celebrate new yam festival and it is done in August period every year

 2 years ago 

Your hometown is really amazing and nice to be in and I will like to come and see it for my self because seeing is believing

Love to read about the culture of your hometown specially forces and in foods specially roasted yam with red oil. a good luck stay blessed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97