Prowrittershub-w2:When I grow up - What happened to that childhood career dream?

in SteemAlive2 years ago

pexels-photo-3768129.jpegimage source

Introduction

Each time I come across a question about Childhood dream. I always feel bad because I am not working or practicing my childhood dream. A dream is something that visualize and see yourself achieving it. But you are unable to do so, you feel so bad. Millions of people today are very far from their dream and their is no hope to achieve them.

How can someone who dream to be a lawyer later became a taxi driver and someone who dream to be a doctor later became cleaner what a world. For those who are still on the right track of their dreams, i cut cap for all of you. As far as i know is just few that have achieve their Childhood dream.

When you were a child, which career did you dream to become?

To be a doctor or a teacher was my childhood dream. I tried my best to do well in school but my parents fall my hands as they could not sponsor my career. I love teaching so much. When i was small i use to gather other children and teach them ABCD, my book of Bible stories. All my siblings, i am the who thought them how to read and write. I had special board and chalk that i use to teach that is why i did not engage more in some of childhood pranks.

Are you in that career now or did you change it?

Today i am not a class teacher or a doctor. But i am surviving with other things that i am doing today. That is when is, is not working, was will take over. I did tailoring and hair dressing for 16 good years. I have trained so many people on that same career and since i have passion for teaching, all my apprentice then enjoyed learning work from me.

What happened to that career?

What happened to my career was a long story. After my school, my parents said that they don't have money to train me again. I cried and stayed in the house for one year thinking that things will change but it did not. I have no choice than to go for the one they can afford then which was tailoring work known as fashion and designing now.

Why do people change their childhood career dreams?

A lot of things can contribute to that, death if parents can lead to that or friends as the person grow up and share his dream with friends. Another thing is when the first one is not working, the person can switch to another one, that is what we call planB. Lack of money can also lead to changing of career.

If you had an opportunity to pursue a different career, what will it be and why?

pexels-photo-3938023.jpegimage source

If I have the opportunity to choose a career now, I will choose to be a Doctor. I have seen so many reasons to be a doctor. People have sufferd so much because of one sickness or the other. I love to solve problem of the sick one, it will offer me more opportunities to help the sick.

What role should parents play in helping their kids choose a career?

As they are growing up, look out while they are playing and find out what they love doing. You can easily know your child career when he is young. From that, you will start at that early age to direct him towards his dream. Another way to do it is by putting before them different careers and ask for their opinio. Allow them to choose then reason it with them. Suggest another one for them and explain your reason of telling them to go into it and allow them to make the final decision. Remember their decision matters alot because tomorrow if what you ask them to do fail, they will never stop blaming you through out their life.

If your child wants to pursue a different career from what you want, what will you do?

As a parent, I have things in mind for my children to do. But as they grow up I see them going for another career. I have discovered that, if you support a child in his or her career, he will do very well on it. So if the career they choose is a good one, i will give them my support. As i said earlier, I love teaching or caring for sick people as a Doctor.

Even though my parents trained me as a tailor, I still see myself practicing the original dream which is teaching and caring for the sick. I have passion for those 2 things and it is still standing till today so it will be wise on the part of parents to support their children good career than to kill it because is what they want. That child is not you, he has his own God's gift or greatness.He has a life to live.

Conclusion

In life as you are growing, keep dreaming and keep the dream a live. If your first dream fail, move on with the second one. No matter your background, don't let it keep your back on the ground. The truth is wether good or bad, Man must wak.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

You are a teacher already. It must not be in the classroom. You are doing well traning people eveyday is even more than classroom teacher work. Ma. I am in the same boot with you. If am given an opportunity now I will also like to become a medical doctor. I love that profession. But I am always sacred of blood .

 2 years ago 

Life saving Job is one of the best job one can do. Doctors and nurses do not look for work, work look for them because the world need them.

 2 years ago 

Yes ooo.

 2 years ago 

You are resilient and willing to make it no matter the challenges you encounter. Keep believing. Keep striving. Keep working towards achieving your dreams. You can always do this.

 2 years ago 

Life is all about working hard and believing in God. I know with God all things are possible

Wow becoming a doctor that would have been a nice career to you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60065.47
ETH 2420.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46