Spotlight on Relatives - A personal story of how my (Uncle&Aunt) (helped/or refused to help) me// by @holayemine // (100% Powered Up)steemCreated with Sketch.

in SteemAlive4 years ago

236207-200.png
Relative

Good day my fellow Steemians, it is another opportunity to write about life experiences. Thanks to @steemalive community for creating this topic of discussion and for us to share and learn. I'm sure we will all have similar things to share because our problems too are similar.

God created everyone through family settings, legally or illegally. With some exceptions, children are being borned into a relationship called family. Basic needs are provided for the child until well grown up. Even the only child of a family will still have relatives - cousins, uncles, aunties, nieces,.... The type of relationship we build up with these kinds of people will determine how we will relate with them. When we need money, we know who to call, when we need prayers, we know who to call, when we need clothes, we also know who to call and so on.

My experience with my relatives has been both good and bad. Firstly, when we need something and we spot someone that can help, we might not know if the person is capable at that present moment. Adulthood is not easy.

When I was looking for admission, my brother was not in school then, he was doing industrial training (IT), he asked me to stay with a brother until he returns. It was when I met the person that he happens to be a known person. This brother really tried for me; he put me through everything I need to know and do, he provided for all my basic needs. Even when my brother returns, I still couldn't forget this person, we still talk till today.

Recently, I had a bothering issue that seems to weigh me down. I couldn't cope with it again, I needed to talk with someone to share it with, like they do say: a problem shared is half solved. I talked with my brother on phone, and he said he will call me back when he gets home, that he's in the farm. Towards the evening, he sent a message that he didn't forget but till this moment, he never called - he forgot. Though he called yesterday but not for that reason.

Some months ago, I needed like 50k to accomplish some tasks but the response I got from all my brothers and sisters are the same; school just resume, I'm looking for the school fees of my children.

The one that really shook me happened last year. I was planning to travel to Ondo state, Ilaje area and I need just #10,000. The money was so small in my thinking until it became a big issue for me. Firstly, I wish to collect it without repaying but when I couldn't get, I started all over again to seek for it like a loan. I'm sure of one of my Aunty, I approached her for the money but she said she didn't have such a money with other explanations, saying I should rather work than begging for money. The disappointment and flattering of that day almost made me think less of myself. A friend later gave me the money.

I want to end it here by saying, not all of them are really bad, sometimes, their problems are not visible to us. If any one should call me too now for financial help, I can't be of help because me too needs money.

Be it good or bad, those little experiences have taught me to put all my hope in God, He never fails.

My regards to
Cc : @steemcurator01
Cc : @steemcurator02
Cc : @focusnow

Sort:  

Am happy you later got the money you needed to travel. I understand that we all have one issue or other to settle with money but i feel the manner in which we use in talking to the person asking us for assistance matters alot. We can politely tell the person we dont have without hurting the person's feelings

Hmmm
I quite understand your point
The change may start with us

Thank God you got the money.life is in phases and we must learn it..am glad this is a story now

Thank you
It was really a bad moment then

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64143.39
ETH 2638.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80