Contest announcement #1 by @ngoenyi // I want to know your city (100% Powered Up)steemCreated with Sketch.

in SteemAlive3 years ago

I'm very happy to participate in this contest organized by our city coordinator, @ngoenyi, in order for her to get to know our city. I will try to make it short and precise, here is my entry for the contest!

INTRODUCTION TO MY CITY

images (4).jpeg

Soun Palace

The name of my city is Ogbomoso. The king of Ogbomoso is called Soun. The Palace once housed an aged tortoise,its aged was believed to be around 345 years old, it died some years ago, there are many stories to the existence of the tortoise.
download.jpeg
Aged Tortoise

Ogbomoso has a very unique history, they are the only town that escaped the invasion of Fulani. Ogbomoso is a very big town with five (5) local government areas.

HOW I FOUND MYSELF IN OGBOMOSO

Though Ogbomoso is not my city of Birth but that's where I'm working and living currently. I got to Ogbomoso in 2010 to attend pre-degree of Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH), of which I later gained an admission to the University.
images (13).jpeg

LAUTECH

I returned to Ogbomoso last year November 2020, to work with Airtel. The city is really pleasing to me and I already have families I relate well with, the bond I had with people when I was undergraduate is helping me now that I'm a worker.

OPPORTUNITY TO MOVE OUT

Presently, I don't have it in mind to move out of this city. My work is still going very fine and I've adapted so well to the environment. I feel at home in this city because I've spent more than a decade of years in this Ogbomoso.

IF I HAVE AN OPTION

As much as I love this city, I still believe If I get a better job or have a much more better opportunity(ies) outside Ogbomoso, I will surely leave this city. I'm not hooked down by anything, I'm not yet married, I've not built a house, so I have all the freedom to move anytime I wish.

BUSIEST BUS TERMINAL

Ogbomoso is located at the border of two states, namely; Kwara and Osun states and it is an important route to the northern part of the country.
images (19).jpeg

Takie bus Terminal

If any traveler is coming to Ogbomoso, the last bus stop is Takie and it's the busiest bus terminal. Apart from dead night periods, there's always to and fro of vehicles in the bus terminal.

BIGGEST MARKET

There are different markets in Ogbomoso. They are odo-oba market, Akande market, Sabo market, WASO market, agbada market and so on but the biggest market in my city is the WASO market.
images (25).jpeg

Odo-oba Market

download (1).jpeg
WASO market

2018-12-29.jpg
Akande Market

Government built the market to move the Sabo market to the new location but few refused to leave. WASO market accommodate every foodstuffs you may wish to buy.

HOTELS IN MY CITY

Because the city houses schools like LAUTECH, Bowen Teaching hospital, LAUTECH Teaching hospital, and Baptism Theological seminary, there are countless number of hotels and lodge in my city but the ones that are popular are Le harve hotel, Ragaray Executive suite, LSG (Living Soul Garden) hotel, Pectoria guesthouse, De palm, Doyin guesthouse, etc

images (29).jpeg

Le Harve Hotels

images (30).jpeg
LSG Hotels

images (31).jpeg

Pectoria guesthouse

For any tourist or traveler hoping to get a lodge or hotel, most of these hotels are on Google maps for easy access and direction.

I've taken my time to tell you a little about my city, thanks to our coordinator @ngoenyi for creating this contest.

      Written by 
      @holayemine 
All images used are well sourced.
Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Thank you @holiyemine for taking part in this contest that I organized. You have done justice to all the contest tips. Your city has so many attractions. Your entry is approved

Thank you so much 😁😁😁😁😁

Wow. Ogbomoso is a wonderful place to visit. Thanks for sharing

Yes, tis a wonderful place to visit.
Thanks for reading

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98