MY DIARY GAME FOR 4/12/2021: ATTENDING A TEDx EVENT AND A CAROL SERVICE. 10% SET @steemalive

in SteemAlive3 years ago (edited)

Introduction

Good day awesome steemians! It has been a while since I made a post here. Life in Katsina as a youth corp member is really more hectic than I thought. Not to mention the terrible cold coupled with dry wind and to even imagine that the residents of the area keep telling us that the cold has not started yet. I just know I am going to survive this experience by the grace of God. So in this post, I will be sharing with us how my Saturday went.

Morning

So on this particular day, I got up at 4am for devotion which lasted for 2 hours. Then I laid down again to get some sleep because it was too cold to go outside. Truste when I say that the cold is terrible. So I finally got up at 8am.

IMG_20210917_072107_1.jpg

I had my bath and got set for a TEDx event that I already planned to attend. A TEDx event is a form of conference where speakers who are established in certain fields usually related to the theme of the program are invited to share their stories and encourage people and it also serves as a networking platform where one gets to meet people of like mind and exchange ideas and contacts. The program was tagged ***TEDx Kangiwa: Resilience***. So I left for the program at about 10am together with two of my friends.

Main Event

The event kicked off at 11am. The floor was opened by a dance presentation by the Katsina cultural troupe. It was really a fin filled and educating event. After the dance, Hadiza Yar'adua Tuggar, a philanthropist and founder of Woodertots School set the ball rolling with her presentation. She shared her resilience story of how she started her school despite all odds and how the Covid-19 pandemic struck and left her distraught and how she pulled through it. She offered the following advice on how to cope with challenges: 1. Lower your expectations on people. 2. Take responsibility. 3. Ask for help. 4. Use your values to build your resilience (find your purpose).

The next speaker was Aliyu Badamasi Abdullahi who also took time to share his resilience story. He outlined qualities of people who take initiatives to be;

  1. They are self-starters
  2. They are proactive
  3. They are resilient
  4. They are finishers.

Then there was a beautiful poetry session followed by a music performance, games and then lunch time. We were placed in two categories; regular and Vip based on the tickets each person had. So I and my friends purchased regular tickets. At the lunch venue, we were served cup cakes, doughnuts and chapman.

20211204_142839.jpg

20211204_141144.jpg

20211204_141534.jpg
Pictures of I and my friends at the event

After lunch, we had former presidential aspirant Ahmed Buhari come up to share his story and I must really confess, it was amazing. He was followed by Muhammad Dattijo Sani and others. Then we had a speed painter paint a portrait in less than 10 minutes. It was really fascinating to watch. Then there was another poem session and the event came to a close with a music performance. I must say that I enjoyed every bit of the event. It was really an eye opener as well as challenging so I knew or it reaffirmed what I knew that I did not have any excuse not to succeed.


Evening/Carol Service

Right about this time, I was already exhausted but my day was far from over. My fellowship was having its carol service which was being organised by the choir of which I'm a member. So I rushed home, freshened up and got dressed for the carol event although I was abit late but thankfully, I did not miss much. It was a great event with Christmas lessons being read followed by carol songs. I had the privilege of leading the choir when we sang the 12 days of Christmas. It was really amazing as we did it with a highlife beat. It was quite a long and fun night with drama presentation and special carol presentations as well. The event came to a close with a long praise session by which time I was already too tired to dance. Indeed it was a long and fun day.

2348109573333_status_c93d581de4da4b3d981f30ce719cedc1.jpg

IMG_20211205_194924.jpg

IMG_20211205_195016.jpg

IMG_20211205_195133.jpg
Photos from the carol


Summary

I finally got home at 8pm after a long day. I just had my bath and some hot food and then I went stright to bed happy and exhausted.
Till I write again. Bye for now.

Cc:
@steemalive
@focusnow
@ngoenyi
@prolee
@bright-obias
@beewrites

Sort:  

Wow! Carol service is my favourite part of yuletide. Well presented diary. Kudos @gracieux

Thanks for taking the time to read my post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55425.80
ETH 2363.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34