5 Health benefits of cucumber you probably did not know.

in SteemAlive2 years ago (edited)

image.png

Introduction

Cucumber is a creeping vine plant widely cultivated and belongs to the Cucurbitaceae family that bears cylindrical fruits, used as vegetables. It is an annual plant, and there are three main varieties of cucumber — slicing, pickling, and burpless/seedless .

It has a soft refreshing taste and a high water content. They can help in conditions of
dehydration and are good to eat in hot weather. Many eat cucumber as a savory food, but it is simply a fruit.

Cucumbers contain plant-based nutrients that are capable of preventing a host of sickness. A cucumber contains antioxidant like flavonoids, triterpenes, and lignans with anti-inflammatory characteristics and the capacity to fight cancer to a standstill.

They keep the brain very healthy

This is because Fisetin, an anti-inflammatory flavonol present in cucumber, is known to be vital for brain health. Eating cucumber will protect nerve cells from age related decline due to aging and improves the memory.

They can enhance digestion process

Research reveals that all the calories in cucumbers come from fiber which help to improve gut health and the regularity of bowel movement and is beneficial in managing certain health challenges like diabetes and high cholesterol.

It regulates blood pressure

Study shows that cucumbers are rich in opotassium, magnesium, and dietary fiber which are known to lower blood pressure, thus reducing the risk of heart diseases.
Study also proved that regular consumption of cucumber juice helped reduce blood pressure, in elderly persons suffering from hypertension.

promotes hydration

Water is important to the body’s function as it plays numerous important roles. We get meet majority of our fluid needs by drinking water or various liquids, while some people may get as much as 40% of their total water consumption from food.

Because cucumbers contain about 96% water, they are especially good at promoting hydration and can help you meet your regular fluid needs.

enhances weight loss

Cucumbers are known to be low in calories and rich in fiber, helping you feel full for a long time. High-calorie foods and snacks when substituted with cucumbers can help you limit your intake of calories to achieve healthy weight reduction

conclusion

Fellow steemians the importance of cucumber to our health can never be overemphasised and should be taken more seriously to enable us exploit the aforestated health benefits of it.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

I remembered when I was 90kg, I was very fat and that made me more short and I was sad about it, I started taking cucumber every night because I knew it consist lasix so I was certain that it will reduced me, within a month of consistent taking of cucumber I loss 25k and I was happy once again.

All you wrote about cucumber are very true cucumber is a medicine that cures a lot.

 2 years ago 

I know that cucumber is very good. It burns fat. Thats why i like it. Thanks for letting us know more about cucumber.

 2 years ago 

@gozienwa,
So this is true of cucumber?

This is because Fisetin, an anti-inflammatory flavonol present in cucumber, is known to be vital for brain health. Eating cucumber will protect nerve cells from age related decline due to aging and improves the memory.

I never know that cucumber can improve memory and that its anti-aging too. Thanks for educating me.

But i have a question, is there any fruit that can lower high cholesterol? Please help out.

CriteriaRating
Club5050
Plagiarism-free✔️
SteemExclusive✔️
Bot-free✔️

Keep posting quality articles

Uwc @marajah I, I will later give you reply on friut that can lower cholesterol.

 2 years ago 

Thanks, am waiting

Hmm I never knew that cocumber have three verities. Also good for the brain. This is amazing now I will make sure I take it atlist 4 or 6 time Ina week.

 2 years ago 

Hi @gozienwa

I love reading your post because you always take your time to explain things in detail, Cucumber has always be my favorite Fruits, the part you mentioned now which is the benefit of cucumber to the brain is another boost to my love of cucumber
Thank you for sharing this educative information

Thanks a lot my dear.

 2 years ago 

Hello my dear friend

Study shows that cucumbers are rich in opotassium, magnesium, and dietary fiber which are known to lower blood pressure,

I did not know about this before ooh, That it help to lower the blood pressure. But till on the matters, I really want to appriciate you for bringing this to our notice.

It a real education on Cucumber 🥒🥒..

You are welcome.

 2 years ago 

Wow 😲😲, this is an eye opener, I never knew there are a type of cucumber that is seedless, how can it be planted since it has no seed for a replant, may I know please @gozienwa. Thanks for the enlightenment.

Here it seem am reading an article from fruits related expert . Important thing mostly about cucumber is high hydrative content . And our human body system needs it . Thank for sharing .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68636.49
ETH 3719.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75