SPOTLIGHT ON RELATIVES//A PERSONAL STORY OF HOW MY UNCLE REFUSED TO HELP ME

in SteemAlive4 years ago (edited)

INTRODUCTION

Screenshot_20210303-124759~2.png
Source
Help is something we all need, whether we accept it or not. The journey of life is not an individual thing, you'll be faced with circumstances along the way and you'll be in need of extra pair of hands to pull you out of those circumstances.

I've come to understand that in life,no one is an island. Directly or indirectly, someone has contributed to your life in various ways,and vise versa. If you ever find yourself in a position to be of help to someone,it's always best to go ahead and do it, because you don't know what the future holds for that person,you might find yourself in need sometime in the future and that person might be the one to render it.

Another word for help is "assistance". When your're at the mountain side of life(with the ability and resources to provide assistance) go ahead and do it,but if you're at the valley side of life(in need of assistance) go ahead and ask for it,those that will assist you are still around,the challenge is to locate them.

HOW MY UNCLE FAILED IN HIS PROMISES TO HELP ME

He's my uncle from my mother's part of the family,her younger brother. I could remember when I was still in primary school,how he would come to the house then and my mum would give him food stuffs to take to school, because as at then,he was a student of Rivers State University (formerly: University of science and technology). I could remember how he would make promises to I and my sisters: promises to see us through to our University level,to pay our school fees and accommodation fees when the time comes.

Years past,he was now a graduate and working as a computer engineer in a renown company in Rivers State, Nigeria. He was even sent out of the country by the company to further his studies in California. His life became quite comfortable,then the chaos started.

After paying the first year school fees of my eldest sister,he got tired of us. When it was time for me to gain admission into the higher institution,the family was already divided,I reached out to him even during my WAEC days,but he would always remind me of how foolish I was,and that he was not my father,so we left him alone.

With the help of my sisters and some Pastors in the church I worshipped in Portharcourt city,Rivers State,I was able to secure an accommodation in school and pay my school fees for three years now. It was last year,2020, he remembered us after several years had passed, trying to initiate reconciliation with us,but we had already moved on and thriving. After so many explanations and apologies, reconciliation took place,he became our uncle again.

He sent some money to me last year for my school fees and asked me to let him know if there's anything else he could do for me. Till date ,he has stopped replying my chats and stopped picking my calls. But this time around it isn't surprising anymore, because we now know who he is,and we're already doing fine before he came back for reconciliation.

CONCLUSION

My advice to everyone out there is simple. Don't depend on any human being for help, because humans will fail you. Talk to God always concerning you needs,be sensitive to those He has sent your way to be of assistance to you,and allow them fulfill their duties to you,but never forget that it's still God that is helping through them.

Try your best to be able to provide the basic necessities of life for yourself,and still allow loved ones to contribute if they so desire.
Be the better man,the help you never received,make sure you give it to those under you.

FB_IMG_16087076590789732.jpg
Allow family and friends to help you,and also reciprocate.

Thanks for viewing my post
This is my entry to the contest, written by @giftye.

cc:@steemcurator01
cc: @steemcurator02
cc:@steemcurator03
@focusnow , @talktofaith , @bright_obias , @ceendy20 , @ngeoenyi

Sort:  

Even if our relative failed us, we should know that God will never fail

That's right,thank you

Nice post ,one day that your uncle shall celebrate you .but never relent to strentching out your hands in helping others because some day we shall be rewarded

Thanks ma, I'll never relent

Good for you sir

Nice write-up.

Thanks alot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63162.99
ETH 2567.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82