5 Basic formatting features of the new Compose post page - for newbies

in SteemAlive3 years ago (edited)

to do.jpg

Source

How can i insert a picture?

I want to do a table, show me how.

How can I make the text bold?


A lot of questions are still being asked by newbies. As a community that is fully into recruitment and mentoring, we have to explain any changes to the platform to our newbies. Many of them are already getting discouraged becaused they cannot figure out how everything changed suddenly. but we have assured them that the change is for good.

So in this tutorial, I will explain how to use 5 of the formatting features we have in the new compose post page.

How to Insert a link

  • Put the cursor exactly where you want the link to appear.
  • Click the icon labelled 1 in the picture below:

tut.jpg

  • In the new window that opens, enter the Address of the site you want to link in the first box, and the text that will be clicked in the second box. Then click "Enter" to finish up.

Untitled-8.jpg

The Click Here then becomes a link pointing to the web address in the first box.

How to Insert Pictures

  • Place your cursor exactly where you want the image to appear.
  • Click the icon labelled 2 in the image below:

tut.jpg

  • Select the image from gallery and hit Ok. Image would be inserted in the position of the cursor.

How to Insert tables

  • Place your cursor exactly where you want the table to appear.
  • Click the icon labelled 3 in the image below:

tut.jpg

  • In the new window that opens, enter the number of rows and columns for the new table. Also choose the alightment style - Justified, left, center, or right. check image below.

tut3.jpg

  • Hit Enter to create the table.

How to make a text Bold

  • Select the text you want to make bold.
  • Click the icon labelled 4 in the image below:

tut.jpg

The selected text will become bold.

How to Insert the Headings

The headings make your text bold and bigger than the defualt size. There are 6 headings - H1, H2, H3, H4, H5, H6. Each heading size from H1 is bigger than the next.

h1.jpg

To make a line of text heading,

  • Put the cursor in front of the text and click any of H1 to H6 to make the text a heading text. H1 is the biggest in size and H6 is the smallest.

Conclusion

I hope the tutorial will help newbies use the new features of our compose post window. Like I said earlier, they are easier than using codes if we master them.

I will complete the next features in my later post.

Sort:  

This is well explained and easy to use. But what about how to justify the page?

Very detailed.
Thank you sir for this easy explanation about the new format of composing a content.
A lot of persons has found it diffult but I'm sure this would help out 100%

 3 years ago 

Sure. The new changes are cool. Steemitboard are trying to implement a GUI here instead of using commands to format posts. @kadosh2340

Thank you for this tutorial, I have been having some challenges with this new compose page, but after reading this your write-up, everything is now clear to me.
Thanks @focusnow

 3 years ago 

Happy it has been of great help to you. More coming your way @ochang

Yes. I believe it's going to help. Well work for your selfless service

 3 years ago 

Wow... This is really good and it very easy prefer to the formal page!
At first I was so frustrated, but now I have fallen inlove.
Now I see why people always say" that what you don't know is bigger than you"

@focusnow welldone good work! 🤗

The update has caused me so much headache. But your post makes everything look so easy.

Thanks a lot for taking your time to explain it.

Thank you so much sir
This is helpful

Thank you very much sir, for the educative post that you just shared.

 3 years ago 

The new changes are cool.. but this link uncle is it when you want to source image.. pls educate me on that.. @focusnow

Thanks for the tutorial post. I resteemed it, because I was writing on markdown but I was not allowed.
But I still don't know how to change to desktop mode. How will I do that?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57810.45
ETH 3116.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43