"7 Days Writing Challenge" Day 1 - Topic: My Job History // @essygold /23/08/21

in SteemAlive3 years ago (edited)

Write in detail some of the jobs you have done in Life.

Hello fellow Steemins its my pleasure to present my Job History to yo all. When I saw this topic it amazed me so much and on the other hand it sounds funny. Why funny? You may ask. This is because its taking me down memory line.

But where do I start? Well, let me start from AOUNI DAYEK COMPANY. After my Secondary School education. My journey started back in 1986. That time my father's capability financially was not good, so I started learning how to type using the Typewriter he bought for my Senior sister who was going to Commercial School. I will hide and use these machine, my mother will be shouting and scolding me lest I spoil the Typewriter, since to them it was not my line. But I persevered.

Then it was said that Jobs were very easy to find in the Northern Nigeria, so I was aiming at that and hastened to learn how to type.
.
I have a Cousin that lives over there in Kano State of Nigeria so I arranged to travel down there to meet her so I can secure a job as a Typist because their services were highly needed.

On arrival after about 3 days I got a job in a Tailoring company called AOUNI DAYEK. It was a private company owned by a Lebanese. I worked there for 3 months and got paid fully for only 1 month. Working with that company was not conducive at all for me. The Manager and his family were chain smokers. Each day I come back from work my clothes will be smelling as if I smoke cigarettes. That was a major reason for me to tender my resignation letter.

Shortly after a few days of leaving that job, I got a new appointment in a Printing Press - OLUSOLA PRINTING PRESS. I received an upgraded training on Compugraphic machine and my salary was like 3 times better than the former place. I enjoyed that job so much because I achieved many things there. The training I received prepared me for many future jobs I later got. I rented a house, sent money to my parents to solve some financial problems and to pay for my younger ones school fees then. After about 3 years working there I got a new appointment in Lagos through our Engineer.

My second journey began to Lagos back in 1988. My appointment was already planned and the job was waiting for me. I was well received at EMMACON PRINTING PRESS. Here I work as a Compugrapher. I had an in house training more. Before long the Company bought a Computer and trained me. I also went to R. T. Brisco for a refresher course on how to use the computer. I was a very dedicated and hard working staff. This so much impressed the Company Director that he ordered the Accountant to give me a loan to rent an accommodation behind the office and I so much cherished that kind gesture. I worked with Emmacon Press for 5 years and I resigned there in 1993 when I had my first child. I could not cope with the stress of commuting to and fro every week to work because of the distance to my new home.

Here is the third aspect of these story. I got another job closer to the area where I live. Within 2 years I worked in 2 different organizations. The last one was in an Advertising Agency called SO&U. Here I learned a lot in the graphics world and publishing in Newspapers. I could not work long here because after my second child I was sacked. In fact it was during my Maternity Leave that I was served the letter. I took my fate to my God and Jehovah answered me.

From all the experiences gathered working in a printing firm, my fourth journey a new phase began.

I started my personal business. I got involved with NNPC and registered as a Contractor with NNPC. I won a contract to supply 12 cartons of original Peak milk. It took several months before I got paid of N200,000. It was a very big money during the nineties. From there I established a Computer training center. I started training students on Desktop Publishing and it flourished. I run that Business Center for 10 years.

As time goes on I embraced the Multilevel Marketing in 2005. With all the promises of financial freedom and Extraordinary lifestyle changes. These is what I have continued to do till date. I love and cherished the profession. It gives me time to work at my pace.

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-18 at 12.27.01 PM.jpeg

Writing this article is another great opportunity I have. When this opportunity came to join Steemit Blockchain Social network, I jumped at it and am learning it.

Let me stop here because of time. Thank you for reading my Job story.

cc:
@focusnow
@bright-obias
@ngoenyi
@meymeyshops

Sort:  

Wow that's nice a post you really try in this post and beside that 200k you talking about by that time is big oooo to comply now.

 3 years ago 

Thanks so much @val123, I thank Almighty Jehovah for his goodness

It's a long record of working experience and it paid off by you establishing yours. Keep it up madam.

 3 years ago 

Thanks @mikemm i appreciate the Almighty God for his care.

This is my lovely big sister, my mentor, my friend, my family. I've never seen a hard-working, diligent, generous and spiritually minded sister like her.

 3 years ago 

Hahahahahaha, you are a Poet or is it an idiomatic expression?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 59288.97
ETH 3114.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39