CONTEST ANNOUNCEMENT #1 BY @NGOENYI ||TOPIC: I WANT TO KNOW YOUR CITY

in SteemAlive3 years ago

Before I start ,I want to thank our coordinator @ngoenyi for this wonderful contest.You are doing great work as our coordinator and I say kudos.

In this post,I'm going to be writing about my city, Ilorin,Kwara State.I hope my post will make you want to visit someday.

MY CITY:- ILORIN

The name of my city is Ilorin. It is the capital Kwara State in the north central geopolitical zone of Nigeria.Kwara was created on 27th of May 1967 and the city of Ilorin is it's capital.

The city is mostly dominated by the Yorubas, with alight minorities of the Fulanis and Nupes .Ilorin is a peaceful place as crime rate is at a low and conflicts hardly ever happen.It is no wonder Kwara State is known as the state of harmony.

HOW I GOT TO BE HERE

I got to be here primarily because of education.Im currently studying civil engineering at the University of ilorin, Kwara State.I used to live in Lagos state where I completed my primary and secondary education.When it was time to pick a tetiary institution,I had initially picked university of Benin, Edo state but I changed my mind at the last minute and went for the University of Ilorin instead.I applied to study civil engineering and luckily I got admitted.

images (2).jpeg
Source

I first got to this city when I came to write my post utme.I didn't really stay long as I only spent a night in the city.I left the same day I wrote my exams.About a month or two months later I saw my admission letter and then around early October 2019,I moved here and I have loved my stay here ever since.

DO I INTEND ON LEAVING ILORIN SOON

I think I'll be spending a couple more years in this city as I am still in my first year of study (no thanks to coronavirus and ASUU strikes).Like I said before I'm studying civil engineering at the moment which is a 5 year course so I still have at least 4 more years to spend in this city before I would have to move to another city for my youth service.

IF I WAS GIVEN THE OPPORTUNITY,WOULD I LEAVE THE CITY?

I honestly won't.Here is very peaceful and the people here are nice.Its a great place to stay and even start up a family.So I wouldn't leave.

BUSIEST BUS TERMINAL

images (3).jpeg
Source

In my personal experience,the busiest terminal has to be the bus park in unilorin.It is often filled with "KOROPE" mini buses and students clamoring to get a ride out of the University.

The rush is often worse in the evening where the students available will be way more than the buses can carry and then there'll be an unending line.

It is a stressful but fun experience and it is something you'll love to watch but honestly not partake in.

THE BIGGEST MARKET IN ILORIN

The biggest market in Ilorin has to be OJA OBA market , meaning Kings market.It is arguably the busiest market in Ilorin and it's often buzzing with activities every day.It is located at omu-aran oja-oba.

In this market,there are 2 smaller markets ;

1. AGO MARKET (For clothes ,fishes and other food stuffs)
2. GEGELE MARKET (For children and baby wears and traditional herbs)

images (4).jpeg
Source

A GREAT HOTEL A TOURIST CAN STAY

If I was to recommend an hotel for a tourist to stay it would be the Princess luxury hotel.This hotel has a gym ,a swimming pool for relaxation,a restuarant,a bar and a host of other facilities.A room per night can be booked for as low as #8300 naira and if you'll like more luxurious packages you can make enquires at the counter.

images (5).jpeg
Source

CONCLUSION

If you ever plan on leaving where you reside ,maybe to your other states and cities,Ilorin is a great place to be.They have great food,great people with top notch hospitality and the peace here is unrivaled so it would be a great experience for you and your loved ones.

Thank you @ngoenyi for this great contest.I hope you enjoy my write up.

#ngoenyi-uyocitynothers #steemalive #contest #steemexclusive

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

@elosksjoseph, you have made a wonderful entry in this contest that I organized. Your entry is approved.
You have given a detailed explanation of how your city is. I will like to visit some day

This post has been rewarded by @bright-obias from @steemcurator04 Account with support from the Steem Community Curation Project."

Keep posting good content and follow @steemitblog for more updates. Thank you, Steemit Team!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46