SteemAlive Presents: ProWritersHub - Five fruits available in my City this rainy or Dry Season by @ebuahsang1

in SteemAlive2 years ago


1c39302095cc9ea4b6bbb5871c470387.jpg

Pinterest"

100% BENEFICIARY SET TO @steemalive

Today I have decided to be doing my allforone post and for this purpose I will be talking about the fruits available in my city during the rainy season.

Affiliate Banner 1 - Steem Markdown Banner.jpg

1- What season is it in your city (rainy/dry)

Rainy season

I live in Cameroon, located in central Africa. In my country Cameroon we have two major seasons, the Rainy season and the Dry season. The Rainy season usually spans from April to October while dry season spans from November to March. However, this is not very accurate because take for example this year and the last, the rainy season ended in November and started in March of this year.

However, we are in the month of July and my explanation above, we are deep into the Rainy season. I usually love the Rainy season because it is constituted by a lot of food. Though the rains are a problem sometimes for business persons.

2- Write about 5 fruits you see now in your city.

As I earlier mentioned, there are a mosaic of foods and fruits in my country during the Rainy season. I will be limited to just 5 fruits as required by the contest.

AVOCADO (PEAR)

One of the fruit that you can see in my city Bamenda during this season is pear. It is a very common fruit and requires no special care. The pear tree can be seen in almost every compound in the Northwest region. This is one of my favorite fruits as I can eat it with rice, soak Garri, bread etc

What are the nutritional benefits

As I said, this fruit is very nutritive and has the following nutritive value;

  • Pear contains soluble and insoluble fiber that help in digestion.
  • Anti Cancer properties. Also, pear has properties like anthocyanin and cinnamic acid that are known to fight cancer.
  • Lower risk of Diabetes. It has been discovered that the same component that helps to fight cancer in pear can help to lower the risk of Diabetes. Research shows that consuming 5 pears weekly with contents anthocyanin is a great way of lowering the risk of Diabetes.

What is the cost in Steem?

The price/cost of pear in my area us relatively very low mainly because of the fact that it is a very common fruit. A pear true can be seen in almost every compound in my area and during the rainy season it is much. One pear can cost approximately
1 pear = 100FCFA
1 pear = 0.5 Steem

Where do you get fresh fruits?

As I have through out the post, it's very common in my area and so you can get fresh ones from trees. Also, it can be bought in Market and stores around the quarter.

MANGOES

Another fruits that is very common in my city during this time is the Mango fruits. I am personally not a big fan of mango but just as the pear fruit, it can be seen in almost every compound in my city Bamenda. It is very easy to grow and requires no extra efforts to take care of it. You can eat it after or before meals and also as a standalone fruit.

What are the nutritional benefits

Even though I do not like the mango fruit that much, it is very nutritive. Some of the nutritional values are;

  • Mangoes content a great amount of Potassium and Magnesium which are help to reduce the risk of high blood pressure by lowering the blood pressure
  • Mangoes also help in digestion. They are very good for digestion.
  • Mangoes also contain antioxidants lutein and zeaxanthin that are good for eye health.
  • Also, mangoes have natural sugar that lowers the risk of Diabetes.

What is the cost in Steem?

Mango like is very common in my city Bamenda as it is grown almost everywhere. This makes the supply high and we know when supply is high price decreases.
They hardly sell one mango, you can buy 4 atleast for the price of 1 Steem, So
1 mango = 0.2 Steem

Where do you get fresh fruits?

It is a very common fruit in my city and can be in every local stores on markets in my city.

BANANA

The third fruit I will love to talk about that is in my city during this time around is Bananas. This fruit is available in my city all year round as the fruit doesn't require a specific time to grow. Like the two fruits above, it is found in every compound in my city and doesn't require special care to grow.

What are the nutritional benefits

Banana has Numerous nutritional value, I will talk on just a few.

  • Rich in nutrients. Banana have a good amount of fiber. Just eating 1 banana provides about 112 calories and water.
  • Increase digestion. Also, bananas help in the digestion process.
  • Aid in weight loss. Furthermore, consuming ripe bananas also help in weigh loss. Since it contains fibers and have low calories. There is no direct studies that prove this but it is strongly believe as most people consuming it have realised loss of weight.
  • Banana also contains potassium that is good for heart. It regulates and reduces blood pressure.

What is the cost in Steem?

Due to it's high availability through out the years, it is relatively cheap and it is sold in bunch.
1 bunch of banana is approximately 10 Steem that's is
1 bunch = 10steem

Where do you get fresh fruits?

The banana fruit like the two fruits above us very common and can be gotten from local stores or markets in my city.

PLUM

The fourth fruit on my radar is the plum. This is a very interesting fruits and is very Common in my city during the rainy season. It doesn't require much care but unlike the above fruits, it is not found in every compound in my city. It is more in the bushes.

What are the nutritional benefits

The following are the nutritional benefits

  • Rich in Antioxidants. Plum contains a good amount of antioxidant which help in reducing inflammation and protect sells from damage.
  • Also, plum contains nutrients that help to reduce blood sugar level in humans.
  • Reduce bone lost. Research also shows that plums help in reducing bone lost in humans.

What is the cost in Steem?

Plums are relatively cheap in my City too. It is mostly sold in smal bowls.
1 bowl of plums = 4 Steem

**Where do you get fresh fruits? **

You can get plums from local shops and from the market, even on road sides.

WATERMELON

One of my favorites fruits very next to the pear is water melon. I especially fancy water melon because it is available all through out the year. Unlike most of the fruits I have written about, the water melon is quite different as it requires more care. It is mostly cultivated in my city as a cash crop meant for the Market, unlike the others above.

What are the nutritional benefits

Water melons are very nutritive. I will talk about a few here

  • Regulate blood sugar level. Watermelon contains amino acid that helps to regulate the blood sugar level in humans.
  • Anti Cancer components. Watermelon also contains lycopene and cucurbitacin E, that are possible anticancer.
  • Good for heart heart. Watermelon also contains potassium, magnesium and other amino acids components that are good for the heart. They help to reduce blood pressure.

What is the cost in Steem?

As I earlier mentioned, watermelon is mostly cultivated as cash crop and so this makes it relatively expensive.
1 watermelon= 10 Steem

Where do you get fresh fruits?

You can get watermelon in any local store or market in my city.

Affiliate Banner 1 - Steem Markdown Banner.jpg

CONCLUSION

As can be seen from my post, my country and city is very blessed with food and fruits. Most of the fruits I named above are hardly cultivated. Sometimes people just eat and throw the seeds.

This was a beautiful Contest and I enjoyed reviewing the fruits in my city. I hope you had a good time reading this post.

Sort:  

It was exciting going through your article. The fruits listed are ones that I like and have tasted except for Plum.

Perhaps someday I will take plum.

 2 years ago 

Hello dear friend,you have really made a nice post on the five fruits available in your city at this time,I really love that plum because it really tastes good.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator08

Curated by @marlyncabrera

SteemCor07 - Lifestyle Curation Team

 2 years ago 

Interesting topic.
Adocado is a bit cheaper there in Cameroon than here in my state in Nigeria. The least price should be about ₦100 which is about 0.85 steems.
It's nice to learn about the fruits in your country.

 2 years ago 

Is raining season here in Nigeria too.
Plum is not really popular in my area. I have tasted it just once.

This is now really the season for mango in my area, but you can still see it in the market but it will be quite expensive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57610.17
ETH 3118.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39