HOW I TURNED MY LIFE AROUND

in SteemAlive3 years ago (edited)

INTRODUCTION

I'll be writing about myself in this blog, how I turned my life from bad to good.
This is in story form and I hope someone out there can take something out of it.

Over the years I have been living my life like a ship without a rudder, an aeroplane without a tower, a car without a steering.

As if living my life back then without any sort of direction wasn't enough, my attitude towards life was nothing to write home about. I complained about almost anything there is to complain about.

Even when someone is looking out for my best interest in the past I push them off due to the negative, pessimistic programming and conditioning of the mind I had back then.
I was an epitome of the ultimate negative life.

2021-11-22-17-40-28-191.jpg

My self-esteem was so low like gold in the ground waiting to be mined. I couldn't stand who was staring back at me when I look in the mirror.

You know the feeling in life when you've hit rock bottom and there is no more room down to go, the only direction is going up, just as if your back is against the wall, that was sort of where I was at the time.

Sometimes in life you get sick and tired of being sick and tired, then I said to myself with thousands of emotions gushing through me, with disgust I asked,
"Is that all there is to my life? Am I here by accident? Is there any good out there in this life for me?"

I realised not quite long that when you ask yourself the hard questions you've been shying away from, the answers lies within you, you'll be amazed by the answers you come up with, no matter how negative your life has been. All you need do is ask the right questions.

We get motivated one of two ways; Inspiration or Desperation.
Mine was certainly not inspiration, it was more of desperation.
I wasn't inspired at all by anything, I wasn't moved, stone hearted if I should say.

What motivated me in the past was more of desperation.
I was desperate to live a better life, I felt like the Burj Khalifa building was falling down on me. I was in a very tight corner with my back against the ropes like I was in a boxing match.

My world was so small like that of the participants in Squid Game. In fact I was playing playing Squid Game of my own knowing any wrong move I make will likely be the end for me.

What really changed it all for me was when I almost died drowning. An experience I wouldn't wish on my enemy.
My whole life flashed before my eyes. I watched ten years of my life in ten seconds while drowning.
The margin between this world and the underworld was like that of a brick held by cobwebs begging to be tossed by the wind.

When I was about to let go, miraculously I held on to the very end of the barricade of the jetty.
Coming out the water, I literally couldn't breathe for a minute plus, I was gasping for air before taking one very big breath.

That experience changed everything for me, my thinking, the people around me, my negative relatives, I mean everything.
I felt like under the water I left my old self, I can say it drowned, I came out a completely new man.

FB_IMG_16293894388956473.jpg

That was when it dawned on me that there is more for me in this life. God saved me.
I completely turned my life around from then on.

Like Jim Rohn once said "Success leaves clues"
I went out searching for clues from those who have already been to where I want to go.

I found out one stunning thing all successful people have in common, and that's "ROUTINE"
Their day is filled with agendas before they even start attacking the day.

Successful people don't start their day until they've had it finished, likewise for their weeks, months, and years.
They wake up a certain time every day without needing an alarm clock to do that because they've been waking up at that time over and over again that the body remembers it.

More than 90 percent of the most successful people in the world wake up no later than 5am.
They realise that it's their first victory of the day.
Getting to know this, I decided to act as though I was one of them.

I started preparing my tomorrow starting today. It was very hard for me at first because I really didn't know what to fill the 16 waking hours I have with, but as time goes on with so many repetitions I became better at it.

The first place I started from was my library. I decided I have to know a lot in this fast growing information age we're in. I started reading the books.

It wasn't easy sitting myself down to read for an hour everyday. Every nerves in my body was contradicting my newly formed habit, but with great persistence and discipline, it becomes easier over time.

The more books I read, the more my philosophies about life changed, I became better.
I started seeing things differently, I started acting differently to circumstances be it positive or negative.

+234 813 407 9740 20211108_122151.jpg

Now I have become the master of my fate, the captain of my ship, the driver behind the wheel.
I now have direction in life, I know where I want to go.
I have become intentional in all my doings.

I never knew I could write a piece such as this even if I know I still have a long way to go in my writing skills.
Five years ago, if you had told me I'd be where I am today, I'd have looked at you like one who is drunk or something.
But I did it, here I am today, living the best version of myself.

Sort:  

2.jpg
We have supported this post. Keep on making great content in our community. Always check @steemalive for community updates. Thank you being an active member.

Thanks
I'm grateful

 3 years ago 

Wow! This life no balance at all.
When you think you are going through stuff, and when you hear other's story, yours is just moimoi.
Thank God you didn't give up on life and got drowned. Indeed God has a purpose for your life.
Nice write up

Thanks very much @patience90
I'm truly grateful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39