Why I would make a good Steem Country Representative for Nigeria

in SteemAlive3 years ago (edited)

IN JESUS NAME IT'LL WORK OUT.png

image.png

I hereby tender my application post for country representative of Nigeria. Having been on the platform for over a year. I've accumulated basic understanding of the philosophy of the project through which this blockchain is built upon and I understand the respective roles expected from existing representatives. I am confident I have the necessary skills to take up the role adeptly and perform above expectations.

I first stumbled upon the platform in February 2020, over a year now. I used that word as I had no prior knowledge about the platform. I believe I got to steemit via interaction with a post on Reddit. I found it quite difficult to navigate through at first until I got in contact with @focusnow (founder of steemalive community). Back then, the community was still under the planning phase and to express my gratitude, I've always supported the community(steemalive) to the best of my capabilities.

I'm a quality-oriented college student (BS in Accounting) currently attending the University of Lagos, Nigeria. While working on academic and extracurricular projects, I have developed proven critical thinking, interpersonal and writing skills which I hope to leverage into the country representative role.
I've developed expertise in client relationship management, customer satisfaction and retention including a bit of people knowledge. I possess astute business knowledge and experience contributing to strategic planning whilst delivering improvement in the process. I've had to work as a sales representative over time hence I've managed to develop my interpersonal skills.

There's only so much one could say about oneself, but in reality actions prove to be more convincing.


I had second thoughts about making a submission initially. Certainly, there are a lot of credible individuals across the steemit Nigerian communities. But I asked myself, "what value could I possibly offer?"

With respect to the tasks of country representatives highlighted in @steemitblog post

They should particularly seek out and greet new Steemians, and guide them to the Newcomers Community and their Country Community if they have one.

As stated earlier, I currently attend the University of Lagos, which is one of the most renowned and populous universities being located in the heart of the country, Lagos, which accounts for over 14 million individuals making it the largest city in the whole sub-Saharan Africa.

Being a member of the steemalive Lagos group, we have no more than 52 participants.
I could narrow it down and say, well about 90% of students here are oblivious to this platform.


image.png
source
University of lagos(UNILAG) home to over 50000 students and yet less than 1% are aware of steemit.

Considering the numbers the city holds, it's a bit odd, what do you think?.

I intend to take advantage of this and further increase awareness for this platform, capitalizing on the numbers the institution offers alongside the high social network hence I believe the authority which accompanies the attainment of country representative would advance and make this project easier and successful.

I'm aware there are currently three other representatives of the country and the state in which they are centered has produced a lot of active steemians (Nigerian), which explains the mass number of participants from that state.
I strongly believe an additional representative chosen from the heart of the country would augment the works of the existing reps, aid the effective spread of authority over a wide area and facilitate the promotion of steemit via a grassroot approach.

Steemit is a whole new world and I got the keys freely, it's up to me to create a haven and hand those keys to others also.

image.png

special mention:
@focusnow
@whitestallion
@bright-obias
@njiatanga
@kouba01

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

@doppley you have made a great application and I believe you can handle this position given the set of skills you possess. I wish you the best in your application.

 3 years ago 

Much thanks @whitestallion, glad to have you here :)

 3 years ago 

You have my full support. I know you will be a good representative for the community and a good representative for your country.

 3 years ago 

Thanks a lot @aaron1990. I appreciate the thoughtful comment

I can recommend you anytime any day. you've been doing well and I know you'll do even better if you are given the opportunity to serve

 3 years ago 

Thanks for your support @cross75, it's highly appreciated

100% support sir, nice write up

 3 years ago 

Thanks for the compliment @sammyevans, glad to have you here :)

You will make a good representative I support you

 3 years ago 

Thanks a lot @blessingamey, I'd give it my best

 3 years ago 

@doppley, I wish you all the best in your quest to become country representative. We hope you scale through and always count on me for support.

 3 years ago 

Thanks a lot sir @focusnow, I appreciate your support

Wish you the best friend and I hope you make the best in this.

 3 years ago 

I'd definitely give it my best @evegrace, nice of you to come by

 3 years ago 

@doppley (64),nice application, i support you, you are good to go.chosen one.

 3 years ago 

I appreciate your support @jacci

This post has been rewarded by @bright-obias from @steemcurator04 Account with support from the Steem Community Curation Project."

Keep posting good content and follow @steemitblog for more updates. Thank you, Steemit Team!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55