The diary game - STEEMALIVE LAGOS CITY MEETUP WAS SPECTACULAR

in SteemAlive3 years ago (edited)
The steemit Lagos meetup was a blast!.

Daily quote - It's not going to be easy but it's going to be worth it - Hannah Bettsch


It was quite a Sunday. For some reason, we haven't had power in about two days now as there seems to be some sort of fault with the estate transformer. Times like this are the worst, we usually have to resort to using the generator to pump the flow of water for a while. It's never sufficient as it's pretty fuel-consuming.

Water was a commodity that one couldn't afford to misuse at that point in time. I finally got to understand how countries facing drought or having no stable source of water supply feel. It's devastating, that I agree.

I had put all my faith the previous day in the aspiration that power would probably be restored the next morning and so I didn't do the laundry or iron my church clothes. OH BOY!, I had to put on the generator and begin doing that task this morning which put me 30 minutes behind schedule. I didn't want to have any excuse to miss church so it was best for me to iron it out.

After church service, I went ahead to perform my duties and join the protocol fellowship before hurrying to the Lagos city steemit meet-up venue. I was glad it was taking place at my college, it made it easier to navigate. However, my college is quite far from my area of residence. Naturally, I was meant to have moved into the hostel as the second semester begins officially tomorrow but I plan to hold on a bit till Wednesday. Church service ended around 12 o clock noon and in order to meet up the 2 0 clock designated time I had to leave immediately as it was roughly a two-hour drive with no congestion. On worse days you could spend as much as 5 hours in traffic.

I got to the venue around 1:56 pm and I felt bad I was the only one there.


InShot_20210509_225019788.jpg
Photo credit :@jeffdbunnyking

However, I met with some of my departmental colleagues at the lagoon view side and we got talking for a while. Soon afterwards, I saw @talktofaith walk by with some other individuals. She missed me at first but I didn't call her back. I saw her struggle with her phone trying to reach my cell but I didn't signal to her I had seen her. I wanted to get back at her by letting her waste some of her call card for making me wait so long. She'll probably get mad at me for saying this haha.

I must say a lot more participants than I anticipated turned up and the meet-up was indeed marvelous.


Screenshot_20210509_221501.png

It commenced with the city coordinator talktofaith(don't wanna spam her notifications) giving a detailed overview about the steemit platform for the sake of the newbies present in our midst.


InShot_20210509_223426699.jpg

Later, I also got to give a speech and some words of advice in maintaining active participation on the steemit platform.


InShot_20210509_222629374.jpg
here's me at it.

It was really fun for me, somehow I felt like we had all known each other personally before the meetup even though I was just seeing these faces for the first time. It was an open discussion where users were given the opportunities to discuss their successes and similarly share their plights encountered on the steemit platform for experienced persons to tackle. I also tried to tackle the reduced level of activity on our part and implore users to complete their achievement posts.

InShot_20210509_222933837.jpg
@ruthjoe sharing her experience on steem

I wouldn't want to explain everything verbatim as that would make this post unusually long and difficult to read but in the end, it was quite splendid. We got to take some photos afterwards.

Ohh! did I mention that there were snacks and light refreshments available courtesy of the city coordinator. I felt awful she had to carry the expenses alone so I decided to leave a little surprise in her steemit wallet later :).

I had to leave before anyone else as I had quite the journey to embark on but i made sure I saw the end of it all. I walked out of the center with smiles on my face but that smile was quickly wiped away when I took one look at my wristwatch. The clock stuck 17:01 and here I was still in school. I wondered if id ever get back home that night as I hurried along to the nearest motor park.

I was fortunate enough to catch the last bus still taking passengers. I felt a bit relieved but only for a short while. Long story short, I spent an additional 2 hours in Lagos traffic congestion.

TRAFFIC ON A SUNDAY????

I'm sorry the caps lock key got stuck for a while there. But how? traffic on a Sunday. Left me wondering how many people went to work today. I took another bus to get to my place of residence. I felt so weak and tired after the days stress (mostly getting stuck in traffic sheesh). I had promised myself I'd make a post covering today's activities without procrastinating. SO here you have it "probably the first 900-word post I wrote without having to take a break".

I feel gross right now so I'd better run along and freshen up.

Sort:  

@doppley, yes the meetup was really worth.
I am so happy seeing you around.
I believe this meetup has done a lot in the minds of all those that attended.
The next meetup is going to be mind-blowing.
Best regards

 3 years ago 

I believe so too, it felt nice being around the Lagos family :) .

Wow! Its was so nice to meet you too. And the meetup was worth it

 3 years ago 

It definitely was @ruthjoe. Well...the pleasure is all mine, I found a new mentor afterall haha. Good job for yesterday👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63211.44
ETH 2631.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71