You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemAlive Presents: Inside Life! An engaging contest story tracing career paths from childhood. (60 Steem Prize + upvotes)

in SteemAlive4 years ago (edited)

Growing up as a child I always had the apt desire to be associated with the career path accounting. I would usually call myself a banker, an accountant and anything of such within the financial field. I held this desire and worked towards the career path up until my junior secondary school 3. It came the time I was to pick my department and suddenly I felt all my life had been a lie. I didn't know which to pick. My decision alternated between science and commercial, I had hoped the aptitude tests for departments would have brought light to my plight but all my teachers and counsellors could say was " you can pick any department of your choice, you did so well in the exams". Now this would normally be classified as good news but it only compounded my problems further as I had judgement disparities.

It was so bad that when the time came to get textbooks. At the bookshop I was unsure, I held the list of books for the two departments in my hand and stared at my dad, then at the book-keeper. I couldn't decide. My Dad was utterly surprised he expected to just get the list of books for the commercial department and go home but seeing me in such state he was worried. He drove me back to school on a Saturday to see my counsellor. After a thorough session, I found out the problem. My brother had always been in the science department and we've never been apart so I feared my decision to pick a different course would only split us.

However I got over this with help from the counsellor and went ahead with my long desired career path "Accounting". I've been doing so well in this field and to the glory of God I was able to gain admission to the University of Lagos to study accounting at first trial. I'm currently in my first year and so far it's been so good.

Glad I could make my post in time for the contest :)
doppley

#steemitconnection

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66394.28
ETH 3309.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70