2020 and You contest( How the Novel Pandemic affected me positively and Negatively)

in SteemAlive4 years ago
It is worthy to give account of how this year affected my life positively and negatively( using the points for the contest)

Positively


The novel pandemic has given a lot of opportunities both online and offline.

Points

1. Pay back


I'm sure you are wondering why I brought the topic just continue reading.

Back in 2017, I was enrolled on computer diploma training by my church Branch. The training including Desktop Publishing, word, excel, powerPoint, Graphics design and installations. After graduating, I had the desire to teach the entire church members especially the youths, but there was not opportunity for that. Since the pandemic stopped everyone from going to school working, at it's pick, by then it has not affected Nigeria I had to use the free time to teach members of my church. In appreciation for the knowledge I was given years back.
That's the reason for the title "pay back".


2. Advancing on Graphics


At the end of the training, I was employed for a different job which got nothing to do with computer.

I left the graphics to focus more on the business.

I got my first PC in November 2019 by the end of the job, but I was not giving it 100% time because I was looking for other source to get money for feeding and other expenses. But the Pandemic gave me time to concentrate to get advanced on it now I'm fully back.


3. Steemit Involvement

I got to know about steemit from @bright-obias during the knockdown, but I was not ready to give it my time thinking it does not worth it. In July, I enrolled on it now is paying.



4. The pandemic tutorials

This pandemic also has given me time to develop business plans which I don't have much time to do. But currently I can spot businesses around and write on it within 3days containing all the facts for prove that it will work. Thanks to this pandemic for coming around.

The negative side

This I write with tears not because of lost of human but the suffering, lost of job and inhumane treatment melted to individuals.

Points

1. Lock Down


In Port Harcourt Obio/Akpor L. G. A of Rivers State Nigeria. There was a total lock down for weeks when the pandemic has not affected the country. People were beating, hunger ravaging the poor masses without the chance to get what to eat.

How did I survive?

Well, thanks to God I was able to survive.
God made it that my aunt has a farm with vegetables planted. I would get the farm by a track road, plug the quantity I wanted, come back to the house and arrange with smoked fish which is gotten by snicking out.


2. Lost of job

The pandemic stopped me from working in two different places as part time, earning and still have my time to do other things, but the pandemic arrived and destabilized everything.

4. The nose mask

This was very serious issue! There is this man that was owing me some good amount of money from a job I did for him. The job was completed and he paid 75% of the money promising to pay the rest in two weeks, but before the two weeks it was announced that everyone should go on nose mask for covid-19 prevention.

Did you know that I could not recognize this man because of the nose mask until one of the days, he called my attention.


4. Friends

The people I hang out with traveled to their different villages for a retreat. At that point in time, survival was the only thing in mind since there were no job to do around, no food to buy, even when the money was available, buying becomes a problem.

5. The church service

People were restricted from going to church in their different locations. So tuning into online was the case; I was able to follow up through cable network. When there is power failure, I turn to YouTube to get the message of the hour.

Thanks for reading through.

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

Great post @chinonso1, as it is been said that in every disappointment there is an appointment. I noticed it after reading from your story.

The Novel "Pandemic" as it was named by you, has really brought some goodies for you. Its great that you used the opportunity that was given to you by your church branch back then, going for that great skill is indeed a worth achievement. You also came to know about steemit during this period. The year 2020 has yielded you something great.

Although the year because of the so called pandemic and other related issues amounted so many lost of jobs and and also restricted many from their usual church service, but my joy is that you found steemit and then passed some computer knowledge to your church brethren.

Lets hope that 2021 will come with good dividends. Thanks for sharing, it was fantastic.

Steem on!

#twopercent #nigeria #affable

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58140.33
ETH 2348.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44