SHOULD THE FIRST BORN CHILD OF A FAMILY BE MALE OR FEMALE?

in SteemAlive2 years ago

baby-933097__480.jpg
source

Good morning steemians. It is a fact that while some people are weeping and nashing their teeth because they have no child, some are busy quarrelling among themselves over their preferences. Wives,. Husbands also quarrel over whether it is a girl or boy that should be the first child of the family. Sometimes it is o

Put to a new wife as demand that the first birth must be a boy. This type of demand has strained many marriages. As for me if asked my preference out of the two I will not be able to answer. Let me tell you a story about my self .
When my wife conceived for the first time after our marriage , it never occurred to me that such choices could be made as if the woman is in control of the sex of the child. Also, when you come to look at it deeply neither of the two does. It is nature which controls the way our body works It controls what comes out of the man and the one that comes out the woman, their combination and the result. When my first child came she was a girl; a beautiful girl and I loved her.
When it was time to dedicate her to God I did so as it is done in our church. What surprised me is that the evangelist who stood in for the Rev. Minister , after the event called me aside to counsel me. He advised me to accept and be happy with the sex that God gave me. In response I told him that the gender God gave me does not matter. I asked him whether Bill Clinton who has only a girl child, Chelsea is not happy. I asked him whether Obama is not happy because he has only girls. I told him I want to have three children only and even if they all are at the end girls that I will praise God for that Why would families worry about the sex of their first born?

Reasons Families Have Preferences

There are two reasons people prefer either sex as first child.

  1. In Igbo land having a male as first child is regarded as a blessing. It is said that the family has gotten a person that will perpetuate his name, yet noone knows what he will become in life.
  2. It is also believed that the family is lucky to have gotten someone that will take over the family after his father has gone. So the earlier he assumes his responsibility the better.
    On the part of female children those who support that they should be first born claim that the family has gotten someone who will help the mother to keep the house and look after her siblings.
    In my view it does not matter which one is the first or the last.
    #
    Advantages and Disadvantages

    To me there is no need to draw advantages. What is important is to empower your children with good upbringing. Give all of them good education. If you train a girl she will do well as the boys and in some cases surpass them. Under Yoruba customary law women can be family heads if they are strong from their places of marriage.

Our First Born

By the grace of God I am my father's first born. I live in Aba and since his death I am the one running the extended family from my station.it is a difficult task but a well trained female can also do it.

Conclusion

There is no merit in the argument of which sex should be the family's first child. Pray to God and whichever he gives, raise the person properly you will not regret it.

Sort:  

What matters is not about being male or female in the first attempt. Its all about being responsible when you grow older.

Being the firstborn can be very tasking and comes with responsibility..😩..
I'm the last born tho.. the only responsibility I have is to wash plates 😂😂😂🤲

Not easy o. Watch the first born o. You will one day step in when they are gone. It is the way life is

Better watch your elders now. If they die before you you will become first born. If you want to remain plate washer pray that they last longer

 2 years ago 

Being a first born can be tasking but as the second born in the family I know I still have responsibility. Most times I act responsible than even our first born. It just depends on the training given to a child and parents best preference which used to cause issues sometimes.

Exactly. People just worry over nothing.

 2 years ago 

There is no merit in the argument of which sex should be the family's first child.

We should always be grateful to God the giver of children for any gender he gives us. Women's place is no more in the kitchen ooo, Infact what a man can do, a woman can do better

I'm sorry for the demise of your brother, taking up that responsibility of his must be very stressful

Thank you.

Gender is a very personal decision that we make for ourselves. It is up to the parents to decide what they want their first born child to be. Parents should make the decision based on their personal preference.

 2 years ago 

Even the decisions they make cannot put the gender into the pregnant woman, God decides which to give

Being the first born is really a huge responsibility especially if you are a male. Am the first born and I know what am saying.

It is. All it requires is training the person for the role

 2 years ago 

@chikaeli. This is a powerful presentation on the above issue. Whether male or female, a properly trained and supported child would grow to become a responsible adult who will perform adequately the duty of a firstborn. I am happy you have filled that role very well in your own family and hopes it will be so in other families.

Note: Please check your markdown. It seems you did not close your heading tag, which is why your entire post is bold with big font.

CriteriaRating
Club5050
Plagiarism-free✔️
SteemExclusive✔️
Bot-free✔️

Checking Post Quality

CriteriaRating
Compliance with Topic2/2.5
Use of Markdown1.8/2.5
Spelling and Grammar2.1/2.5
Content Depth1.9/2.5
Total7.8/10

In some cultures, it is seen as a good omen to have a son and in others, it is not. Many people believe that the first born child should be male because they are seen as the protector of the family.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69942.87
ETH 3793.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73