PROWRITERS HUB WEEK 6: Getting Help from Extended Family Members: My Story

in SteemAlive2 years ago

family-4799466__480.jpg
source

Introduction

In my village there are two kinds of family; the nuclear family and the extended family. The nuclear family is a smaller social unit made up of the husband, his wife and children while the extended family is broader comprising the nuclear family, the grandfather, grandmother, grandchildren, aunt, uncle, niece who are related by blood. In Igbo traditional society it also comprises groups of families that have common descent. It is a system that brings together every one of the such families. Extended family in my village is a very close unit. During festivals our fathers hold meetings. In the meetings they discuss family issues including pressing problems of individual members such as wedding, birth, death, education, etc. I am from a fairly large extended family. The name of my extended family is Dike family of Ezere Village in Isiala Ezere Autonomous Community, Isuikwuato Local Government Area, Abia State, Nigeria. As the story was told , my great grandfather was rich by the standard of his time. He trained his children in various arts and trades. His son's and daughters followed his footsteps. I am the first child of my father. He died when I was eighteen years of age. Before his death hisvwish was to give me good education. I had written my General Certificate of Education and the matriculation examination and was awaiting the results when it happened. He suddenly became sick and died. It was like my world had fallen apart. It was a brief illness. My results came out in quick succession after his burial. There was no money with which my mother will send me to school. One day as resumption of my new school was drawing near my mother approached the eldest surviving member,the head of our family, and he promised that I will be sent to school. I doubted him and continued to pray for God's help. As I waited, praying for miracle to happen, my mother went to the chairperson of the meeting of the women married into our family and told her about the problem facing us and she asked my mother to tell her the amount of money she needed and the condition for repayment. Infact before going my mother already knew that the money the women will give her was repayable.With the terms of repayment settled she,on behalf other women ,advanced her the initial money with which I paid for the acceptance fee . I set out the university of Benin where I was given admission to makes payment. On my way back I worried about what will happen next and what my mother will do if our family head disappointed us not knowing that he had contacted the fairly well to do family members to assist train me. I had not known then that in the village, extended families competed over the welfare of their less privileged children. I did not know that my admission was as an honour and a thing of pride for the entire family and this is why they collectively swore to see me through the University and they did just that. I lacked nothing in school and did not disappoint them either.

How My Extended Family Helped Me

My extended family helped me in the ways I even did not expect. They did as much as my father would have done if he were alife. They took care of my tuition fees, logding , book allowances, dressing and medical allowances. Some members go out of their ways to give money and other items anytime they visit the village.

My Challenge at that Time

My Challenge after my father's death was how to source money for my education. I was no thinking about any other thing at all.

Thinking about their Capability

As a matter of truth I thought so much about whether they can fund my education. I knew that if they have they will give me but I never believe that even though individually they have not much but they were able to task themselves to ensure I went through school. The most amazing thing is that like my father did not go through the four Walls of a school not to talk of the university.

How I See My Extended Family Members

I am lucky to be part of such a unique family who foster children of their deceased family members. Even though our family is large we children see ourselves as one family. They are wonderful people. I will not have survived without them. I wish them well. May God bless and protect each of them and their families.

Conclusion

I am lucky to belong to Dike Extended family. They showed me love and cared for me when it mattered most in my life. Without them I do not know where I will be today and what I would have become. My family gives each one of her members who are in trouble the shoulder to lean on. To me I am indebted to my extended family and I have promised that for as long as there is breath in me I shall raise at least three graduates for my family. Thank you for reading my post.

Sort:  

Family members usually want to be involved in your life and your work, but it is important to make sure that you are not asking them for help with things that you can do yourself. Ask them for advice, but don't ask them to do something for you that you can do yourself.

Sometimes, it's hard to find the right person to ask for help. Sometimes, the right person is right next to you. Sometimes, the right person is your extended family member. Sometimes, the right person is you.

 2 years ago 

Seeking help from extended family members sometimes is a waste of time because all they care about is themselves and their immediate nuclear family members, but there are some who are actually caring and supportive

I agree with you. In my case I was lucky. I thank God for that.

Sometimes, people need to seek out family members for help, but sometimes it is a waste of time because all they care about is themselves.

 2 years ago 

Yes,all we should all do is just try and give it a luck and someday they might remember us.

 2 years ago 

Asin ehhhhnnnnn, so when faced with challenges one doesn't bother to meet them because it's gonna end negatively

 2 years ago 

Yesoooooo,sometimes some of them will just ignore and snob you and that really makes someone feel bad.

 2 years ago 

Even with that, we still have to Accord them the respect and dignity because they're family

May God help us oooo

Such a touching story..
Sorry for the loss of your dad..🥺

Thank you. It wasn't easy @the time. Without God who touched my people's heart, who knows what would have become of me.

Thank you. It wasn't easy @the time. Without God who touched my people's heart, who knows what would have become of me.

 2 years ago 

You are so lucky to have such good experience from extended family. I don't think my extended family know my level of education, nobody even cares.

Problem is that the system is no longer working well in many communities due to urbanization. People are now individualistic. They just care for their immediate family only.

family members don't really want to help you and they just want you to be more like them. Sometimes, extended family members are not the best people to turn to for advice.

Sometimes when you are struggling with a problem, it is best to seek help from extended family members. But sometimes they are more of a hindrance than a help because all they care about is themselves.

 2 years ago 

This is such a positive news. I really thank God that you have an extended family that really took care of you in the absence of your father. this is very rare, given that most people have ugly stories to tell about their extended family. You are really fortunate sir. Extend the goodness your received from them to other members of the family and the world at large.

CriteriaRating
Club5050
Plagiarism-free✔️
SteemExclusive✔️
Bot-free✔️

Checking Post Quality

CriteriaRating
Compliance with Topic2.2/2.5
Use of Markdown2/2.5
Spelling and Grammar2.1/2.5
Content Depth2.2/2.5
Total8.3/10

@focus now thank you. I am just spreading the news through steemalive.

2.jpg
We have supported this post. Keep on making great content in our community. Always check @steemalive for community updates. Thank you being an active member.

1a.jpg

Your post made it to our top 4 selection for today, Congratulations! Could you please support at least one other nominee by commenting meaningfully and voting their post? Thank you in advance for doing that. You can see the other 3 selected posts in the link below:

Curation by: @focusnow20
For: Steemalive

 2 years ago 

Wow,it was really a good story,they saw you through in your education and also provides things for you.

Thank you for reading and commenting on my post. Have read the one on choice of the sex of first born, first child. It is also interesting

 2 years ago 

Okay dear.

Ogwo I think friends might not be able to provide the right kind of help you need, especially if you are dealing with a personal issue

I thank steemalive for recognizing my efforts here by choosing my work. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70013.82
ETH 3766.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80