How I Made Healthy Homemade Drink Recipe// How to make Kunu Dawa(guinea corn drink)

in SteemAlive3 years ago (edited)

Happy Children's Day to every woman reading this post, how are you celebrating yourself, husband, children and everyone around you? I believe you are have a wonderful moment. Do make the best use of every opportunity.

In my blog today, I will be writing on healthy drink.

![IMG_20210514_153831.jpg](UPLOAD FAILED)

I am Sharing on how I make my own kunu dawa(Guinea Corn Drink). My mother in law taught me how to make this drink as that is one of their well known drink in Northern Nigeria. In fact when you go to most families on Sunday's you will be served with the drink, and no matter the drinks present in an occasion and kunu did not arrive that place, the occasion has not started. Most people prefers it to synthetic drinks. I am from the Eastern part of the country. Ever since she taught me I have practiced on my own for more than four times. My son and husband likes it a lot. My boy calls it nunu as he is still learning words. I also enjoy taking Kunu dawa.

Kunu dawa has a lot of health benefits as it is purely natural.
The benefits includes, it helps the digestive system, protects the heart from diseases , helps in muscle relaxant, a good drink for pregnant women and breast feeding mothers, boost sperm count, relieves cold and cough and serves as an anti oxidant properties.

Ingredients

  1. 8cups of Dawa
  2. Ciro(rice that has not been parboiled and milled)
  3. Dried sweet potatoes
    NB. This is my measurement, so you can form yours.

Procedure

  1. Wash your dawa properly and put in a bow or bucket

![IMG_20210514_153831.jpg](UPLOAD FAILED)

IMG_20210514_153751.jpg

  1. Pour water into the dawa and allow it seat in the water for at least 8 hours. This will help it soften on time.
  2. Pound the rice and potatoes together so that it will not be difficult to come out of the engine
  3. After 8 hours wash your dawa again properly and take it to the grinding mill (do not add the rice and potatoes together, let them grind it separately.
  4. Put about 7 litres of water on fire.
  5. Pour a little of the grinded dawa into the ciro and stir.

IMG_20210523_160317.jpg

  1. Mix the dawa properly
  2. Pour the boiled water into the dawa carefully. Keep observing so that it will not be watery(the consistency should be thick as custard when prepared)

IMG_20210523_160134.jpg

  1. Stir a little and allow it to seat for 5 minutes.

  2. Empty the ciro into the dawa and stir in properly.
    (I do add charcoal so that it will not change taste at this stage)

  3. Allow it to get cold. Then sieve with a sieving cloth to remove the chaff.

  4. After you have sieved, pour them into a robber container and refrigerate. Best served chilled.

![IMG_20210524_065108.jpg](UPLOAD FAILED)

NB. For best timing, I prefer to soak the dawa in the morning and grind in the evening, allow it to get cold over the night then sieve in the morning. So the total time of my preparation is 26hours. You can also design your own timing depending on your engagements.
This drink tastes nice, you can give it a try this weekend

I want to invite @patience90 to join this contest
IMG_20210524_065050.jpg

Sort:  

Wow i love this drink...kwunu nzaki

 3 years ago 

Yes, it actually tastes nice. I have some more. Please do come and have a cup

 3 years ago 

Thanks

 3 years ago 

Wow,
Have never seen where kunu is been made. I don't even have an idea on how to do it. Thanks for your recipe @charis20

 3 years ago (edited)

You're Welcome Sir. You can give it a try and get back to me.

 3 years ago 

Ok ma, I will try

@charis20 this is involves long stressful process. fear don catch me o.
You really did well.
Next time, please ensure all the pictures you posted uploaded successfully, it's a good thing to read through your post again and again to ensure your spellings are correct and that your pictures are inserted aright.
#Goodmorning

 3 years ago 

Ok, thank you so much for your observations, I will. Make fear no catch you ooo, me nah learn I learn too. You can do it, as long as you can make pap, why not.

Wow i really love this drink, although making it is very tedious

 3 years ago 

You can try, it worth the stress. My boy likes it a lot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64021.36
ETH 3150.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54