MY OUTREACH EXPERIENCE: PRISON VISITATION

in SteemAlive3 years ago

INTRODUCTION


Experience they say, is the best teacher. But must we always have to learn from our own experiences? The best thing to happen in my life stems from the fact that I had to learn from others' experience and I wouldn't have had it any other way. It opened my eyes to the possibilities in the real world and the impact never departed from me up until date.

IMG-20211010-WA0041.jpg

PRISON VISITATION: FECAMDS WEEK, DAY 3


Actively participating in the prison visitation organized by FECAMDS (Federation of Catholic Medical and Dental Students) in 2019 is the best thing I've ever experienced. I remember vividly the Saturday morning when we all prepared and set out to visit the prison as part of our social week called FECAMDS week. The participants were Medical and Dental students from 2nd to final yr (first yr students were at Nsukka so they couldn't participate). We all assembled at Old UNTH, Enugu and with our FECAMDS bus, we departed for the prison. We carried along with us a cooler of cooked jollof rice, cartons of indomie, cartons of soap and detergent, few clothes etc. It was a corporal work of mercy

When we arrived, we headed for the gates on foot and the security men searched us one by one and also told us to drop our phones outside with them. Thereafter, we were granted access through the first gate and we entered the reception room. Next, we presented the letter stating our purpose and after the due processes, the Warden came down from his office to lead us into the main compound. However, the officers gave us tags which will serve as a gatepass when we will leave the compound and warned us sternly that anyone who loses his or her tag will be inevitably retained within the four walls of the prison yard. It gave everyone the chills so we all held unto our dear tags like our lives depended on it. Meanwhile, I noticed on the records they hanged on the walls that there were just 2 females in the prison, the remaining thousands were males.

After we got the rules straight, we were lined up in two rows with the warden and our then FECAMDS general president as the pace setters; the second gate was opened and we slowly moved into the yard. Some, especially the ladies among us held hands out of fear as we proceeded. I first noticed that the fences were quite high as I battled with the stench emanating from the environment. I looked around and saw men, youth and boys who were onto their various activities. Some were washing, working, sewing, carpentry while the rest were hanging around.
The warden took us up through wooden stairs into a room meant for visitors and groups alike. There, he explained to us the terrain and structure of the prison yard and how some things work in there. Meanwhile, through the window in the room, we could see another set of people who looked like they were set apart from the rest. He noticed our attention was there and immediately told us that those ones were convincted. It was certain that they were going to die but until a set date which is unknown to them yet. This was when I realised a different dimension of life; being a living dead! How do you live knowing that you are certainly going to die by the hands of another man in no distant time? However, they were going about their various businesses like normal people but then, no one can tell what's going through their minds. The warden explained to us that they were heavily isolated to prevent them from hurting anyone. "I mean, what does a dead man stand to lose anyway?", he said. He added that only a higher government authority like the Governor can save the convicted from their fate by law.

The warden went ahead to explain the things that could lead one into the prison. Funny enough, someone was there because he slapped another person. He went ahead to tell us to mind what we say. He gave an instance using certain common remarks people make eg: "I'll deal with you". If anything eventually happens to the person, it can be easily traced back to you and you'd become a prime suspect. He added that he had handled such issues time without number and crying or pleading doesn't solve the issue. We also learnt that a pregnant lady was locked up as well and she gave birth in the prison. He then admonished us as medical students to steer clear of trouble even if it means compromising our ego or admitting we're wrong for peace to reign. "Trouble and certain arguments profit a man nothing. If care is not taken, it will either land you here or in 6ft", he said. He also added that should anyone of us enter the prison that day, the person's dream of being a doctor is over. At that point, I couldn't help but shed tears, although no one saw me. After his speech, the room went silent. Only God knew what was going through our minds then. The shock of reality paralysed us all, some of us couldn't stop the tears from trickling down our cheeks, some were just short of words, others were trying to live in denial by changing the topic. Nevertheless, it was a life-changing moment for most of us.

Afterwards, the warden led us into the chapel where they pray. We prayed and sang with the inmates who came to join us. Our spiritual coordinator gave them the word of encouragement we prepared. Their spokesman then admonished us to never let anything bring us into such a place no matter what. They received our gifts with thanks and pleaded we should always remember them in our prayers. We bade goodbye and left the room.
On our way out, when it seemed the effect of the Warden's speech was already wearing out, one of the boys shouted on top of his voice saying "For 8yrs, I have been here awaiting trial... 8yrs!". My brain didn't process that quickly until I subtracted 8yrs from my life and imagined how long that was. My legs wobbled as we continued walking out through the yard but I had to stay strong to avoid losing my tag for any reason. Meanwhile, we kept teasing each other to hold our tags very well otherwise, no professional exam for you and your dreams of being a doctor would be shattered.

THE IMPACT OF THE VISIT

Up until today, the effect of that visitation still lives in me. I made resolutions and it had the following effect:

  1. I back out of any argument the moment it gets violent
  2. I learnt to compromise just to let peace reign when necessary
  3. I learnt to always be diplomatic when handling issues
  4. Sharing the experience with my hot-tempered friend miraculously made him want to work on his temperament. The progress has been encouraging, I must say.
  5. I dawned on me that freedom is indeed the grestest gift a man can get.
  6. I learnt that the system had no way of distinguishing the just from the unjuslty convicted. This is more reason one has to stay away from trouble because an unjust sentence can be passed to anyone.
  7. It taught me to take life easy. Sometimes it is the pressure from society that lead people into certain vices that land them in prison afterwards.
  8. I learnt to watch my words. To mean the things I say and say the things I mean.
  9. I learnt to be gratetul for the life I had.
  10. At that moment, I needed no soothsayer to tell me that life was indeed precious and must be guarded jealously.

In light of the above, I would recommend engaging in outreaches to anyone; be it to a prison, a hospital, a community etc. A boatload of knowledge and experience awaits you after participation and you would never return the same as you went.

Personally, the resolutions has helped me build and sustain solid relationships easily and I'm forever grateful for making myself available on that day.

Edited
Link to original post

Sort:  

2.jpg
We have supported this post. Keep on making great content in our community. Always check @steemalive for community updates. Thank you being an active member.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61227.67
ETH 2682.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62