Contest || Day 2: Five days writing challenge==How I was Scammed and how I narrowly escaped been scammed presented by @beautybb 1-2-22

in SteemAlive2 years ago

IMG_20220201_165958_774.jpg

10%payout to @steemalive

Good evening everyone, hope we all are doing well. Today is day 2 of this wonderful writing challenge contest, and today I will be writing about how I was scammed.

How I was scammed

In this wicked world, some people have just decided to extort money from people using different methods, some engage in some illegal or deceptive form of getting money which is known as "scam" while the people practicing those methods of making money are called scammers.

Read how I was scammed.

In the year 2017, on the month of October, on a faithful Monday afternoon by 1:30pm, a young looking responsible guy walked into our office, then I was still single and was still working with a hospital called Egon Clinic in Aba.

This young guy sat down, and was looking so humble, I asked him who and what he was looking for, he started telling me a story that looks so real but unfortunately it was a thick lie.

This guy told not just me, but with my co-workers, he told us that a company called"eliganza company" is coming to the market close to our office which is called "Ahia-Udele or Ahia waterside"what3wordthe next day to do some promotional sales home appliances like freezer, generator, frigde and many other things.

He gave us printed form where we were underlined the items we will like to buy, which we did.
He now said that because too many crowd that will want to buy the sales, as the sales manager he will bring out all the things we have marked in the form, then it will be easy for us to get them since we might be busy during their time of arrival.
He now told us to deposit some cash, that will give him the access to bring out those goods for us.
In my life I never knew that someone looking responsible can be a scammer, we believed the man, and we even took him to our medical director who was also convinced by those cock and bull story of the man

We deposited 12,000 naira(91steem) each, and that was a huge money in comparison to our monthly salary, our director deposited 24,000 naira because he wanted more things than we the workers.

This man dropped the form, and a packet of what we didn't know, he told us that the packaged stuff is what we will present once we come to the promotional stage, and he left.

After an hour he left, I decided to open that packaged stuff, low and behold it was salt that was inside mine, I started screaming and everyone opened theirs, some were salt while some where sand and sugar, immediately our eyes opened and it was obvious to us that we have been scammed of our hard earned money.

Honestly I was deeply affected financially because of that incident, but I learned a great lesson.

How I narrowly escaped been scammed

The 2017 event is always in my memory, so I don't easily believe stories, and after that day by day I keep hearing different methods of scam so I became more cautious.

On year 2020, on the month of December, I escaped been scammed.

How did it happen.

This is so funny, but its a true life story that might have sent me to jail.

My neighbors dog gave birth, and the dog as one of those expensive breeds of dog, I have a page on Jiji where I sell some things, so she asked me to help her advertise the puppies which I did.

I guy charted me up in reference to the advert I posted, so we agreed on him buying the puppies at the rate of 45,000 (342steems) for each and the puppies where four in number.

We agreed on him coming down to my end to pick the puppies, and I told the rightful owner of the puppies, she took her time and bathed them.

It was time and the young man came, in his mind he came to scam me and pick the dogs for free, but unfortunately he failed.

When I came, I gave him my account number to transfer the money, after some minutes he said he has transfered the money, and I didn't get any credit alert, he presented to me a fake debt message on his phone, I told him to wait let me be credited before he can go with the puppies.

Would you imagine that after two good hours, I wasn't credit and it became clear to him that I can't let him go with the dogs without me confirming the payment.

He now said they have reversed the money, that he will like to use any ATM machine around, so our security guy offered himself to take him to the nearest bank.

You can't believe what this guy did, he discharged the security guard and ran away, till today I didn't set my eyes on him again, I called him, he never picked my calls again.
When he left, I thank God so much, because I didn't know what my lot could have been, me and another person oyibo dog, my husband was asking me who send me message, and I was speechless.

This was how I narrowly escaped been scammed of 180,000 naira (1,300steem) and the worse is that the money wasn't mine.

Here ends my story and thank you all.

Sort:  

Thank God for not letting the scammer succeed in his second attempt , we just have to really open our self and check very closely before we make any decisions .

 2 years ago 

Jesus Christ of Nazareth!!! Scammers with different strategies. you mean after depositing your vhard-earned money the guy run away. Hahahaha, seing sand, salt and sugar sounds funny o, but hard braking. sorry about that my dear sister thank Jehovah that you have moved on with life. I'm glad that you escape the second one.

Sorry about your scamming experience and I'm glad over your smartness in escaping the next one.

Stay vigilant.

 2 years ago 

Scammers with different styles with a smiling face as if they are with you especially those we think we can trust, am happy that you were smart, I have learned greatly from this your story

 2 years ago 

Scammer are blessed with sugar coated mouth and innocent faces which makes some people fall prey and I'm sorry about your Experiences.
But for that puppy thieve, he is stupid to have even came with his koikois legs to someone's compound to scam.
God helped him sha

Thank God for the escape. Experience they say is the best teacher. The first one happened so that you'll have an idea of how they operate and I'm happy you were wiser than him

All this scammers with their strategies en it's only God that will help us but thank God you didn't fall for it

What a wicked world, scammers everywhere. We need to be more careful than before especially in regards to financial issues. Worst of it all, they came with charms so that you dont easily detect. Thank God, you do not fall the second time.

2.jpg
We have supported this post. Keep on making great content in our community. Always check @steemalive for community updates. Thank you being an active member.

 2 years ago 

Thank you @steemalive for the support, I really appreciate

Gee…the world is a real scary place, I’m thankful to God that you didn’t fall for the second scam. Thank you for sharing this I have learnt from it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70190.79
ETH 3740.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69