Spotlight on relative- a personal story of how my aunty helped me

in SteemAlive3 years ago (edited)

INTRODUCTION

This is a very interesting contest and am very excited to be a part of this. I like to say a big thank you to @steemalive for such platform to write about my personal experience.

My story

Relationship they say is the root of life. Relationship is a currency. Often times you really might not know who is going to be of help to you. it is a matter of neccesity and our responsibility to invest and build profitable relationships with family , friends, business colleagues neighbor's etc.
I come from a family of 12. My immediate family are not close to my extended family at all. I grew up not having close contact with any of my uncles and auntie's except for one, my mum's step sister.
Being the last child of the house, when I was much younger, my aunt would always give me money for ribena whenever she comes visiting.
Nevertheless my mum would still communicate to my siblings how when she was much younger her step mother gives preferential treatment to her biological children and neglect her. She gives us instances of how she was maltreated but would never forget the experience of how she came to Lagos and my Aunt couldn't accommodate her in her house because of the message and mindset that has been seen, observed and communicated by her mother while growing up. My mum never gave up in the city of Lagos. she strived and did different jobs, she sold food , cleaning jobs, catering, nanny, teaching to ensure she survived before she got married to my dad.
It is often said that don't pay evil for good. There came a time that my aunt was really sick and it affected her sight. My mum had to visit her. There was no one to help her out my aunt has two maids, one of the maids stole her money and had ran away. The other maid got a job and left. My mom took it upon herself to stay with her and it resulted to a four years stay!! My siblings were disturbed and wonder why my mom pay such sacrifices after everything that had happened.
When I was in the higher institution I would visit my auntie's place to see my mum and my aunt. I tried as much as possible to help out in every way I could cause my mum was getting older too.

The difficulty I was facing:

In the year 2017, when I took necessary actions to further my education to obtain my Higher National diploma at Yaba College of Technology. I had completed my registration and resumed lectures. I was in need of an accomodation as school hostels had been occupied by early applicant. Accomodation outside school was very expensive around Yaba and it's environs. I was believing God for an accommodation as School runs was becoming tedious day by day.

Did she help me?

My aunty did helped me. I visited my mum to tell her of the difficulty am facing to operate from home to school. My aunty heard of it and refer me to one of her friend who happened to stay close to in a location close to my school- Mushin. Transportation was 100 to and fro compared to 800 naira I spend everyday from my house, the painful and annoying Lagos
traffic and the early morning hustle for bus. She put a call through and I was given the opportunity to stay with this woman. My feeding was taking cared of as well for two years till I completed my program in school.
My aunty was capable of helping me because of her relationship with people. She was a retired civil servant in the air Force based and has a lot of contacts. I believe she wanted to show her concern, a show of kindness for what my mum has done for her.

My advice to friend shunned or not helped by relative.

My advise is never give up on any relative , no matter what you have heard or seen about them. They may have hurt you in the past , forgive them. God can strategically position them to help you.

FB_IMG_16143833730344173.jpg

@analee

Conclusion

This is my story on how i was helped by my aunt, hope u enjoyed it..thank you for reading my post.

Special thanks to @steemcurator1 @steemcurator2 for continued support.
@stephenkendal for promoting this contest

Sort:  

Wow
Nice post...your aunty seems really nice too
Youre so beautiful😍

Thank you very much....🤩🤩🤩

Very interesting @analee. You are blessed to have a kind Aunt.

You are fortunate o @analee not all aunty are ready to help, some will even make life difficult. Nice story.

Good narrative story.

It's not easy but in reality help usually come an unexpected source. Big Thanks to your aunty that referred you to her friend.

Thank you very much

This post has been rewarded by @focusnow from @steemcurator04 Account with support from the Steem Community Curation Project."

Keep posting good content and follow @steemitblog for more updates. Keep following all the rules in the Diary Game, as well as improving your Diary post content to get more attention. Thank you, Steemit Team!

I am really grateful at @focusnow from @steemcurator04 for the reward.
I will definitely improve on my content ..
Once again thank you very much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60787.40
ETH 2994.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82