How I would spend my last 7 days to livesteemCreated with Sketch.

in SteemAlive3 years ago (edited)

download.jfif

Time's Up!
Seven days ago, I was diagnosed with an illness that will leave me bedridden and paralyzed till I die. Doctor offered me
a way out, said I have to come back in a week for euthanasia, I agreed and signed the papers.
Life must come to an end, this was common knowledge to me and I wasn’t afraid of death. The uncertainty of when it
will happen is a question people would break banks to be able to answer. I knew I had just seven days to live, you best
believe it was fun-filled. Personally, I believe that life is about relationships, people around you, how you make them
feel, and how they make you feel because as much as we like to deny it, a lot of things we do are direct results of the
effect of people in our lives. So I made my last days about people I love.

Day 1
I called my family and loved ones and broke the news to them, I watched my mother cry and I saw the searing pain in
my father's eyes, but he had to keep his composure because the family needed him to be strong for them at that
moment, but I knew, with a glance at him that I was staring at a human volcano (Big hard and cold exterior, boiling
on the inside). We were best friends from my childhood. We were so close he solicited my advice even when I was
not old enough to make simple decisions on my own. I had my baby sister on my lap, she was the last born of the
house, and being the firstborn, we had an immense connection no one was more important to me in the whole world. I
was glad she didn't understand what was happening, but I thought of how much she would miss me and a tear tried to
escape my eye, I regained composure before anyone would notice. My other siblings were all crying too, and I had a
word with them all, telling them what they would do to honor my memory. I told my family to be happy for me, I
got to say my goodbyes before death, very few people usually had such a gracious opportunity. I had to console them
too because I knew, my death would weigh more on those I left behind than on me. I called Chizzy, my best friend to
meet me at the bank, told her it was urgent, and when we got to the bank she was dying to know what was wrong. I
assured her that all was fine and we went into the bank, I liquidated all my assets and converted withdrew all my cash
that day, withdrew from all online accounts, sold all my crypto, and made sure I had everything I needed in cash. I
might be 19 years old, and a student, but I had a reasonable net of assets I wasn’t supposed to touch till I was a
graduate, but my father gave me full access to them all, better spent on the living than dead right? Chizzy beside me
remained dumbfounded, still trying to understand what I was doing. I told her that I was getting ready to have fun like
it is my last day on earth because literally, it was. She asked me what I meant, I told her everything, and being my
very understanding best friend, she kept calm, although I could see the pressure building in her and her battle to hold
back the emotions trying to break through, I watched her struggle and I just gave her a deep long hug and we cried on
each other's shoulders. I told her to keep the information a secret till I have passed.

IMG-20200914-WA0040.jpg
My Best Friend

Day 2
There is no one in my life who I love like my baby sister. So early in the morning I woke her, told her we are going on
a date for the day, I relished seeing the smile on her face and heaved a sigh, thanking God that I lived to see her and
know her. I took her shopping and bought everything she pointed at, I made jokes just to see her smile as much as I
could. Her smile was brighter than a thousand bulbs. Next, we went to the polo park, we got on the Ferris wheel, rode
the horses on the merry-go-round, I bought us some Coldstone ice cream and a box of pizza when we were exhausted.
On our way home, I told her that she wouldn’t see me again as I would embark on a journey, and she refused to
believe, thought I was up to one of my pranks. I prayed deep inside my absence would not hurt her. When we got
home, she gave me sugar (our code for a kiss on the cheek) and we both went to sleep happy but exhausted. Day 2
was over.

20190531_165949.jpg
My baby sister

Day 3
7 am
Waking up, I should have been exhausted from the previous day’s activities, but the knowledge I had kept me excited
about what the coming hours would bring. I wore my best clothes, took my car, and drove to Owerri. On my way, the
huge smile I had on my face momentarily turned into a frown when I remembered the difficulty of what I was about
to do. The road instantly seemed longer. In 35 minutes I got into Owerri and I drove to Matilda’s, she screamed so
loudly when she saw me, instantly the weight of my condition doubled. I looked at her pretty smile and hoped she
didn’t notice the sadness dancing in my pupils. She got dressed and we drove out, first we got some shawarma, her
favorite. I wanted the last memory she’d have of me to be perfect. We went to the pool, I taught her how to swim and
she kept laughing all day, her beady eyes and smile lighting up my soul. I prayed silently that she would be okay after
I’m gone. On our way home, we talked about school and the ongoing strike, which hospital we would love to work in, and other futuristic plans. When I dropped her off, I told her about my condition and she refused to believe me. She cried
and beat me for not telling her earlier, 6 pm her mom and I were still consoling her. I left late and got home really late
and sad. I said a little prayer of thanks and asked God to take care of her for me. Went to bed determined to spend the
next 4 days happy as I can be.

IMG-20200801-WA0035.jpg
Matilda

Day 4
Shoot! 10 am already?! I must have been so exhausted from yesterday’s ordeal, I had a date planned for my five
siblings. Normally, I g to market right before school closes for Christmas and buy things for any orphanage I choose
or to share with beggars on the street. This culture I wanted to impart to my siblings before I left. So I took them to the
market. We bought 4 bags, 4times more than I used to buy, but this was my last time, it had to be loud. We bought 3
cartons of noodles, 7 cartons of sachet yogurt, a carton of detergent, 3 dozens of soap, and 5 cartons of biscuit. We
loaded them in the car and set out to the Seventh Day Motherless babies’ home, Aba. They played with the kids and
gave them the gifts, and I really hoped they all understood how fulfilling it was to be the reason someone was smiling.
We left early so I could get ready for the party the next day. Yes ……a party!

{2B62AB58-2B9B-4D15-8D51-144C38BC28D7}.png.jpg
Closest orphanage to our house

Day 5
My name Ojo means party in my tribe, and I’m known for throwing the most elite invite-only parties, best believe I
was going out with a bang. I drew up a list of 9 invitees; 5 girls, 4 boys. I sent on our class group chat, the list of
names, and they all responded to the invite but were oblivious of the reason for the party. When we got to the venue
we had to wait outside for 37 minutes because the owner of the place was running late. We took pictures outside,
made jokes, laughed and had fun and when he arrived the party started. We danced, ate, drank, and played games, I
couldn’t help but notice the sadness on chizzy’s face, even the makeup struggled to hide it. We had so much fun and I
felt really gassed up, I knew for sure that I left them with wonderful memories on that day.
IMG-20200914-WA0074.jpg

IMG-20201014-WA0185.jpg
some of my friends

Day 6
Fear
An emotion that I always denied and fought, seeping in through cracks in my ego, cracks caused by the dawning
realization of my mortality. I woke up afraid and hyper-aware that it was almost time. Good thing I chose to spend my
day with my father, lol. My father and I traveled together a lot, and at that time, we usually had the deepest
conversations of our life, so I chose a trip to the village, with him, as the last thing I’ll do. Busy morning but by 11 am
we were already on the highway, driving to Ohafia, my hometown, Where I chose to die and be buried. Friends and
family rode along with my mother in her car. On the road he told me how hard it was for him to grasp the fact that he
would have to bury me, and not the other way around, We talked about how my siblings would fare in a few months
when it hit them that I was really gone. I decided to confess my darkest secrets to him, It was kind of poetic,
confession to my earthly father so I could be worthy of meeting my heavenly father.

20201124_013639.jpg
my father and I in the village

D-Day
Death
fear, excitement, anxiety, those three emotions spelled out how I felt. On the hospital bed, surrounded by my friends and
family I felt happy, we had prayed that the Lord accepts my soul and I was both excited and afraid, I didn’t know how
I would be judged. Left to right I looked at my father, and nodded, looked at my crying mother and tears fought hard
to escape, but I was a soldier, I fought them back. I looked at my five siblings, and it broke my heart to see my baby
sister crying, although I knew it was because others were crying, I saw my best friend, she looked terrible, I joked about
it and she tried to smile. I looked at my cousins and uncles, then I called the doctor to send them out.
I thought about the days before I died

  1. I gave hope to those who my absence would affect and said my goodbyes
  2. I put a smile on people’s faces
  3. I reconciled with my maker
    Seeing as I had done the three most important things to me, along with the doctor, I said a little prayer for those I left
    behind, and the drug was injected. Darkness enveloped, till there was nothing…..

IMG-20200801-WA0035.jpg
Family

Want to hear what happened when I got to heaven? I just might post it **smiles

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62332.64
ETH 3006.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94